We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All The Way Around!”
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trailhead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent All The Way Around!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Amazing time with family and friends at this excellent location!

The private gondola was so convenient it made this place the top of our list for a return visit. The rooms were incredibly spacious and well-appointed. With 5 kids this two bedroom unit was perfect for our family.

The staff and concierge were great to work with and very helpful. We rented equipment from Straight to You and they fitted us directly in the lobby. When we were done, they just picked our equipment up from the lodge lockers. Never been so convenient anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us again last month and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you had an amazing time with your family and friends while you were with us and that you found the Wildhorse Gondola to be convenient, your unit was spacious enough for you family, and that the staff was great to work with and they were helpful. Please come back and see us again!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
139
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We just got back from our 2nd stay at this property. This time we brought the whole family--7 of us. Having a spacious kitchen was wonderful. As my husband said, "they have thought of everything". The staff is terrific, the accommodations lovely and well thought-out, the beds super comfortable. The gondola to the ski-area is amazing. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLeigh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us a second time and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you decided to bring the whole family with you this time and that you found your kitchen to be spacious, the beds in your condominium super comfortable, the staff terrific, and our property to be well thought-out. I am glad you enjoyed the Wildhorse Gondola for getting back and forth to the ski area too. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We just got back from Steamboat Springs and we stayed in Trailhead. We loved this place for several reasons.
1. The location was very convenient to the ski area and the town to grocery stores, stores, restaurants, etc.
2. The 2br/2ba condo we stayed at (3104) was beautiful, well maintained, nicely decorated, spacious, with views of the mountain (even though it was not facing the ski area-- but you can see the pool area :-)). It has a full size washer and dryer too.
3. We loved the amenities it offered -- heated pool, 3 heated jacuzzis (a must after skiing all day!), exercise room, game room. It had BBQ available, but too cold for that.
4. The gondola was super convenient! It left you right at ski base. Plus the kids loved riding in it. Kudos to the gondola operators they we always smiling and friendly. Always there to help us get in and out of the gondola with our equipment.
5. Talking about equipment...the lodge has ski racks that you can leave your skiis right outside the gondolas. Also you can leave the ski boots at their heated room, so the boots are nice and dry and warm the next morning.
6. The front desk and concierge staff were wonderful! They recommended restaurants and made reservations for us. They recommended a babysitting services that we loved (Naomi baby sitting service).
7. The GM, Todd, was super helpful -- we needed a notary and Todd is one...so we didn't have to go to a bank or lawyer to get it done. We also needed to send a fedex package and you guess it Todd took care of it.

Next time we will definitely stay here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank oh2bonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us this past week and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am so pleased to see that you loved our property, your vacation rental and the convenience of the Wildhorse Gondola. Of course, I am very pleased to see that you found the staff and I to be helpful in delivering a great experience to you and your family. Come see us again soon!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
steamboatinfo@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here in august 2013, the common areas were very nice the staff extremely helpful, the condo unit that we stayed in was just perfect. Very clean, would stay there again and recommend to a friend. Very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJCLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us in August and for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found our property to be very clean, the staff extremely helpful, and your condominium perfect. I appreciate you recommending us and hope to see you again for a future visit.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We just got back from staying at Trailhead Lodge for 7 nights in between Christmas and New Years -- one of the busiest times for any ski resort. This was our first time at Trailhead, but our 8th year at Steamboat. We had always stayed on the Mountain, but the owners of those units have, in our opinion, priced themselves out of the market, and we decided to try a different location. From the moment we walked in, we were pleasantly surprised. There was ample staff to help us with whatever we needed, our check-in was flawless, and our 3 bedroom/3 bath condo was perfect. Everything was clean and the unit was decorated tastefully and we felt right at home. We did have housekeeping every other day with our unit and felt that was more than adequate. The pool and three hot tubs were in great condition and the game room was perfect for the kids to play some pool after their ski day. The most surprising thing was that the Gondola over to the main ski area ran without a hitch. Those guys standing out there in the sub-zero temperature always greeted us with a smile on their face and the gondola dropped us right off at One Steamboat Place and all the ski rental areas. It was great not to have all the congestion as you try to hit the slopes.

Room Tip: Our 3 bedroom/3 bath was on the top floor in the corner -- never heard a peep from anyone except tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Trailhead Lodge for your lodging needs over the holiday season, and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience. I was extremely pleased to read that you decided to give us a try and that you were pleasantly surprised. I am also glad to hear that you found your unit to be clean, our every other day service schedule was adequate, the staff helped you with whatever you needed, and that you found all of our amenities in great condition. The Wildhorse Gondola is extremely convenient to whisk you up to the ski area and the gondola staff does a great job. I hope you choose Trailhead Lodge for your ninth visit to Steamboat!
Todd Siefken
General Manager
steamboatinfo@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Trail head lodge. It works great for Skiing as the first Gondola takes you from the Valley floor right outside the Lodge doors to the Steamboat ski base where the Main Gondola starts. the 2 bedroom Condo has huge bathrooms. Great Front desk staff that I recognized from last summers stay too. Great 3 in-ground hottubs and pool. Only complaint is the parking garage is tricky to park a ford Expedition, as its very tight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davettt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us again and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you felt our property worked great for skiing with the convenience of the Wildhorse Gondola, the outdoor amenities were great, and that the front desk staff you remembered from your summer visit took care of you. Our underground parking garage is a little tight if you are parking a large vehicle however, should we have the opportunity to have you with us again for a future visit, please let one of our staff members know if you would like us to valet your vehicle.
Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
241 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Trailhead Lodge for a few nights on our honeymoon. The rooms are very cozy and plush. Our room had a full kitchen and fireplace. The amenities are all high end. The hot tub and pool area are great. The gondola is right on property....easy access to the slopes. Fantastic property.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TribTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit at Trailhead Lodge. I am very pleased you decided to stay with us for your honeymoon and that you found our property to be cozy and plush with high end amenities, and that our property provided easy access to the slopes with our gondola. I hope the opportunity presents itself to have you with us again in the future!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#2 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#7 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#12 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Condominiums
The West Condominiums
#24 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Property: Trailhead Lodge
Address: 1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes(winter season), Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area, and shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing