We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trailhead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is our second stay at the Trailhead Lodge. I can't rave enough about the staff who were immediately responsive, friendly, courteous, attentive and so kind to our 8 year old daughter. Prior to our stay, the concierge made sure we had dinner reservations every evening at all the top rated restaurants in town. The accommodations are clean and thoroughly updated with new and modern amenities. The shuttle drivers were on time and friendly. The beauty of the location is that from the front door you can hop on the gondola which takes you right to the base of the mountain. So incredibly easy. They have a designated boot room and ski racks for your equipment. The kids love it because fresh doughnuts are delivered every morning. Fresh coffee, hot tea and hot chocolate are also provided gratis. The hot tubs and heated pool were clean and encircled by beautiful landscape and great views. We watched a fox run across the snow one evening while sitting in the hot tub. The rooms are equipped with humidifiers which made our acclimatization to the dry Colorado air much easier. My only negative about our whole stay was that our sheets were not very comfortable. I'm told some of the condos are individually owned and perhaps this is why we were supplied with low quality, extremely pilled sheets? Who knows. In any event, we plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room. Rooms facing the other condos afford less privacy and of course, an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us earlier this month and for taking the time to provide your thoughts on your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I was pleased to read that the staff was responsive to your needs, friendly, courteous, attentive and kind to your daughter. I also pleased to see that you found our property clean, our drivers were on time and friendly, the Wildhorse Gondola was incredibly easy and that our outdoor amenities were clean with great views. I am sincerely sorry to see that your sheets were not comfortable. We provide 300 thread count sheets but if they were pilled, they might as well have been inexpensive sheets with a much lesser thread count. We are constantly removing our linen inventory due to reasons such as this and I will make sure that we pay closer attention in the future. Please call me directly at 970.879.9000 when you make your plans for next year and I look forward to seeing you again!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    39
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
143
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful, well equipped, meticulously staffed, perfectly appointed. We had everything we needed. Corinne & Jessica, made our reservations for us, suggested restaurants that were spot on. They catered to our kids. Anytime I called the front desk, I got results. The coffee is always hot, the hot tub hotter. The private gondola drops you right in gondola square. The private shuttle takes you anywhere else in a matter of minutes. In a 1b/1b unit 2 adults in the br & 2 children on opposite ends of the huge sectional sofa was perfect! The only cons: the gondola only runs from 8-6 m-th. Personally I would like to see 6a to 10p so that if you're eating slope side, there's no need for the shuttle. And 2, there needs to be more hooks in the bathroom. They ask to reuse towels but there's no way to keep them separate. Finally.. I wish there was a small convenience store or gift shop in the lobby, for incidentals on the fly, (ie tums, Motrin, pepper sauce ect) On a huge note..... This was spring break, lots of competitions and concerts.... Trailhead?... quiet as a church!!! Thanks so much!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us earlier this month and for taking the time to provide your thoughts on your recent visit to Trailhead Lodge. I was pleased to read that you had everything you needed for your visit and that you felt our property was beautiful, well equipped, and perfectly appointed. I especially appreciated your comment about “meticulously staffed” as we continue to strive for delivering a great experience and it sounds like we accomplished our goal with your visit. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the gondola hours, additional hooks in the bathroom, and having a small convenient store. I appreciate them. Please come back and see us again real soon.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Another perfect vacation at Trailhead Lodge! This was our 3rd straight year staying here and its always just perfect. Comfortable condos, great views, awesome staff. The whole set- up for skiing is a breeze-from the boot room to the ski racks to the private gondola and you are there! We are already looking forward to our visit year. Many thanks to everyone at Trailhead for taking care of every little detail. We'll see you in 2015!

Room Tip: We always like the top floor but I don't think you can go wrong with anything here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtocameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us earlier this month and for taking the time to provide your thoughts of your recent visit to Trailhead Lodge. I cannot thank you enough for your continued patronage and for staying with us for the 3rd straight year! We are extremely pleased to welcome you back! It means a lot to me to see that we have consistently provided a memorable vacation to you and your family. Many “thanks” to you for coming back each year and I look forward to your visit in 2015. Please call me directly when you decide on your dates and I will personally make sure a condominium on the 5th floor is available!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
970-879-9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our stay at the Trailhead Lodge in Steamboat Springs was perfect. The staff was always pleasant and eager to help however they could. The front desk, housekeeping and the shuttle drivers all went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The lodge itself was very well maintained and we enjoyed having the private gondola to get us back and forth to Gondola Square - so nice not having to wait for a shuttle and one way was just a short (less than 5-10 minutes) and never a wait. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was the perfect size for 4 adults and 2 kids (kids got the couch and loved sleeping by the fireplace) for our Mar. 1-8th stay. Both bathrooms were spacious and the kitchen was well equipped with lots of counter space for prep, cooking and serving. 6 seat dining table was just the right size and when we were lazy pulling up to the kitchen island for a quick bite was great. Especially loved sitting in one of 4 hot tubs while the snow fell on our ski, snowmobile, dogsled, tubing and snowshoe weary bodies. We look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: our ground room floor faced the gondola and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 530Kendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us earlier this month and for taking the time to post your thoughts from your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I was pleased to see that your visit with us was perfect and that the staff was always eager to help and that they were pleasant to work with. I am also pleased to see you found our property to be well maintained, the Wildhorse Gondola made it easy for you to get back and forth from the ski area, your unit was well equipped and a perfect size, and that you especially loved relaxing in our hot tubs after your day filled with activities! Please come back and see us again soon.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Staying at the Trailhead Lodge was the highlight of a great vacation in Steamboat. As many recent reviewers have pointed out, the rooms were well appointed and clean, kitchen well equipped, staff so friendly and helpful and the location with the gondola was as convenient as anything I have had before. There were many small things that make this place great: a ready supply of donuts and beverages in the lobby, free shuttles to any destination in the town, the ability to watch Netflix, the provision of highchairs and Pack N Plays for the kids and outdoor BBQ facilities. Unlike some recent reviewers we found the housekeeping was of a high standard throughout our 7 day stay. It was a pleasure coming back each night to such comfortable surroundings ... when we got back to Manhattan our apartment felt like a step down.
When we return to Steamboat we will definitely be staying at Trailhead again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with this last month and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you found our property to be a highlight of your great vacation and that you found your unit well-appointed and clean, the kitchen well equipped, the staff friendly and helpful, and the Wildhorse Gondola convenient. I am also glad to see that you enjoyed a few donuts, our complimentary shuttle, and that you did a little barbequing while in town. I bet that your apartment in Manhattan is quite nice but I hope that you will come back and see us again real soon!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Love this lodge! Great location, friendly/helpful staff, clean rooms, great pool/spa/fitness center, convenient boot/ski storage and a gondola up the ski area just outside the front door. What more do you need!? We were in town for a conference at the Sheraton so initially had a room there for convenience. After two nights we all agreed we wanted to move to the Trailhead which is where we've stayed in the past. (nothing against the Sheraton, we just prefer TL by far!)Cannot recommend highly enough. As always our stay was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us this month and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you decided to stay with us again due to our location, the staff, the unit cleanliness, our amenities, the ski/boot storage options, and our gondola. Certainly nothing against the Sheraton but we are very pleased you came back to stay with us. Please call me directly at the property the next time you are visiting Steamboat Springs and we would love to have you back!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
970-879-9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My family and I had never been to Steamboat and were somewhat concerned about accomodations, as we have 2 little ones so service and convenience are key.  On both these fronts, Trailhead delivered. Front desk staff was very courteous, as was most everyone we met, always willing to lend a helping hand and genuinely friendly.  Hot chocolate and donuts in the lobby turned out to be huge highlight for the kids, usually a good incentive to wake up early. Convenience to Gondola Square via Wildhorse Gondola was extremely easy, as was storage of skis and gear.  The one aspect that fell surprisingly short was housekeeping. We stayed 5 nights but had our condo only serviced once (expected at least 2x), there was no vacuuming done and only bare minimums in terms of tidying up the place - this was a very noticeable deficiency.  Nevertheless, overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erthtrekkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us this month and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased that you and your family decided to stay with us and that your concerns about convenience and service were eliminated. I am glad the Wildhorse Gondola provided easy access to the ski area and that everyone you met was very courteous and genuinely friendly. The housekeeping services that you should have expected during your visit are towels being changed, beds being made, and trash being taken out, every-other-day. Since you only had one service, I would agree that we were deficient in this area. I am glad you had an enjoyable visit despite the lack of housekeeping services you received and hope you will give us another try for a future visit to Steamboat Springs.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
970-879-9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#8 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#10 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ski Inn Condominiums
Ski Inn Condominiums
#26 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Condominiums
The West Condominiums
#43 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Property: Trailhead Lodge
Address: 1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes(winter season), Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area, and shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing