We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge At Steamboat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

There was a foul, dirty smell in our condo the entire stay. Maybe it was mold? My fiancé was wheezing and had asthma attacks and I was really congested when in the room. We felt great when outside. We couldn't take it and went home early.
We spoke with the front desk staff and were told they "would make a note of it".
Also the decor was old and outdated.
Don't stay in room d-202!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The Lodge At Steamboat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for returning to try the Lodge again in late March after this stay that you described. It was nice to meet you and your fiancé. I am glad you enjoyed your second visit and I was happy to hear that your first stay was not indicative of the Lodge or our service. Please come see us again very soon. Best wishes, Andy Weynand General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We are a family of six, and rented a three-bedroom condo. It was perfect. Lots of hooks for jackets, etc., well-appointed kitchen and close to store and mountain. We walked to the mountain each day - a 5-7 minute walk. We left our skis in the Ski Corral for $5 a night - would be nice if Wyndham worked out a deal for free ski storage at the base of the Gondola. The unit was clean and spacious. We have traveled a lot as a family and stayed in lots of ski towns. This was one of the best experiences. Buford at the front desk drove us to our restaurant when we missed the shuttle and everyone was very friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. Would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank MollyW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The Lodge At Steamboat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Lodge. I am glad you had such a great family vacation. Thank you for mentioning Buford! He is a superstar and loves helping our guests. I will commend him on his guest service. Please come back to the Lodge and stay with us again. Cordially Andy Weynand – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This place hits the sweet spot - very close to the base of the mountain, but less than half the price of the ski-in-ski-out condos. We have been to this property three times- we evaluate alternatives every time, but nothing beats it. We have had two and three bedroom condos, all spacious with a large living area and well-appointed kitchens. There is a small store a block away, so families who don't want to eat every meal out can get simple groceries and prepare meals in the condo. The condos have always been clean, and other than having to call for hot tub towels, we had no issues with housekeeping. The office staff were very friendly and the bus service to the town of Steamboat Springs is great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The Lodge At Steamboat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of The Lodge. Thank you for mentioning our great location. The Lodge really is just across the street from the slopes. Your repeat business is very important to us and I hope you will return again very soon. Please let me know if there is anything special I can do for you. Best Wishes Andy Weynand – General Manager-970-879-6000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The Lodge At Steamboat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Lodge has a lot going for it. We booked a one bedroom suite, and we're given a lovely apartment in C building. It was actually a two bedroom unit, but with the second bedroom and bathroom locked off. It was spacious, well appointed, very comfortable, and had everything we needed. There was no view to speak of, but that didn't really matter.

The location is excellent, just a short walk from the ski lifts - but there's also a free shuttle service to Gondola Square. There are also shuttles to downtown Steamboat, which were excellent. The drivers were without exception fantastic - they'd drop you off wherever you wanted to go, and were all friendly and helpful. Staff at the Lodge's front desk were similarly great.

There was just one area which let down The Lodge, and that was housekeeping. Rooms are serviced every other day, which is ota problem when it's done properly. But it really was hit and miss - towels were sometimes changed and sometimes not, the bed was very rarely made (even though we made sure that, as per instructions, there were no 'personal items' on the bed), and replenishment of soap etc was erratic. You can get supplies from reception, but you really shouldn't have to. Cleaning seems minimal - which is fine if you're staying for just a few days, but we were there for mealy a fortnight, so bedside tables, the tv cabinet etc were pretty dusty by the end.

Over all, though, the positives outweigh the negatives, and we'd be happy to return to the Lodge. And if they can get the housekeeping right, there's no doubt it would get a rating of five out of five.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank adam1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The Lodge At Steamboat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your candid review of our property and housekeeping services. I apologize that we failed to provide the best housekeeping service for your family. I have shared your comments with our team and we are using them to learn and improve the consistency of our service. We will redouble our efforts to provide outstanding housekeeping to our guests coming for the great spring skiing. I hope you will give us a second chance and return soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of service for your next visit. Andy Weynand – General Manager- 970-879-6000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I traveled with a ski club to The Lodge, building "A." The three bedroom condo was spacious and well appointed. The condo accommodated five adults easily and could have been fine for one or two more. One couple shared the master bedroom, a single in the second room and two in twin beds in the third room. Each room had its own bathroom. The bathroom, kitchen and living areas were clean. The staff who serviced the condo were friendly and fast. The kitchen was well equipped. The staff at the main building were friendly. It was a short walk to the gondola area. The lodge bus was easy to use and the drivers were friendly and accommodating often taking us directly to our buildings at the end of the ski day or night out. Both the main building staff and the bus drivers knew the local area providing accurate reviews of restaurants and bars. The local deli/package store and a good Mexican restaurant were only a short walk away.

The only con was the twin bed was so soft and small it was barely comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The Lodge At Steamboat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Lodge by Wyndham Vacation Rentals. I think the three bedroom condos at the Lodge are some of the nicest on the mountain. I will print your review and share it with our team. -Thank you for mentioning them for their good service.

Our owners are always interested in feedback from guests and if you have time, please call or email me with the specific unit you stayed in. I would like to follow up on the twin bed you mentioned. Thank you again. Andy Weynand – General Manager andy.weynand@wynvr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

by the staff, along with spacious, well-appointed quarters, made my first stay at Steamboat remarkable. The competent and gracious staff didn't hesitate to come walk me through navigating the cable TV, call the shuttle driver who'd just left and ask him to make a quick U-turn for me, or find and send me a treasured ski cap that I'd left in the room when I departed. My room was a comfortable one-bedroom apartment, not a hotel room. When I go back to Steamboat -- and I will -- I'll definitely stay at The Lodge again.

Room Tip: Unit D is closest to the short trail to the gondola at the ski area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franklin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at The Lodge At Steamboat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks about our associates, condominiums and shuttles. I am especially happy that we found your hat! I hope to see you again at the Lodge at Steamboat very soon. Andy Weynand – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#11 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort
Trappeur's Crossing Resort
#2 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#5 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge At Steamboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge At Steamboat

Address: 2700 Village Dr, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9003
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £197 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge At Steamboat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Steamboat is a condominium resort property conveniently located just a few blocks from the base of the Steamboat Ski Area. The property offers 2 and 3 bedroom options. Each condo features fully equipped kitchens, living areas with gas fireplaces, balconies or patios for enjoying the fresh mountain air, and free WiFi. The Lodge features an on-site front desk in the clubhouse located at the entrance to the property. The clubhouse is a great place to gather around the fire and tell stories of the adventures of the day, or a place to meet for morning coffee before grabbing a shuttle to the mountain in the winter. There is also a business center and indoor hot tub conveniently located adjacent to the front desk area. The property also boasts an outdoor heated pool, BBQ areas and 4 outdoor hot tubs. Parking is free, so bring your vehicle or leave the driving to us and use our winter shuttle service to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge At Steamboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs
Lodge Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing