We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay-Awesome Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were on a driving vacation and wished we had planned more time at the Steamboat Grand. Staff was very helpful, room was very comfortable with large double sink vanity in bath, but my favorite was the food in The Cabin. We had a fabulous dinner with my favorites being the Sweet Corn Bisque (had great 'zing') and the Lobster Mac and Cheese which was heavenly. I thought the combo a little unusual but when the staff recommends, I will normally give it a try and were they right! it was some of the best food I have had.

The hotel was very close to the gondola and was worth the summer ride to the top. The area near the hotel is beautiful and there are lots of places to walk at the top. Didn't have an opportunity to use the pool or spa, but walked the area. Looked very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrades or the amenities you want e.g. large bath, good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We took our 3 kids (7, 6 and 3) to Steamboat, CO over spring break so they could learn to ski. We were a little nervous and wanted to make the experience as easy and convenient for us as possible. It turned out to be one of the best vacations we have had a a family so far and The Steamboat Grand was a huge part in the success. The rooms are huge!!! We had a 1 bedroom and the space far exceeded our expectations. We had a full kitchen, huge dining table, fireplace, sofa bed, two day beds and plenty of room for all of our stuff. The hotel was close to the mountain, offered ski rental on the property and ski storage across the street at the base of the mountain. The pool area was also a plus for us. Once again it was large and the kids loved to swim outside after a day of skiing. We will absolutely return again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetpeasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is huge. The pool and gym area were large and well maintained. The valet guys are great! Some rooms looked huge and well appointed. Not Mine!

They gave me the worst room in the hotel (confirmed by housekeeping). It looked just like a Comfort Inn- stark, barren, just enough- two beds, some TV channels, sparse furniture. We saw rooms with kitchens, living room areas, suites... Our room made the hotel seem like a dump. Too bad.

The hotel's location is great for skiing, maybe not for downtown (but there are no good hotels downtown- why?). I may have left a better review, but our room sucked! The hotel wasn't full, so why make an impressionable customer feel unvalued. Dopes!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We went for a quick trip away to celebrate our anniversary, We were planning on going camping the next night, but after enjoying the pool and restaurants, we decided to stay another night. It was the slow season so we asked for an upgrade. The room was spacious and nice. We would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in. Not a bad room in the entire property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpt1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Thought the hotel was very nice, rooms were clean and well maintained. I would definatley stay there again, it was our second stay there. The restaurant has MUCH to be desired. The breakfast buffett was TERRIBLE and to order off the menu we were informed would have taken 45 minutes. Stay, but don't eat there. Although, the bar was nice enough to sit for a drink but that is the best I will give the restaurant area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonlindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just returned from the Grand. Have to say upon walking in I was immediately let down when you consider what we paid. We checked in and ended up with a horrible room with the smallest bathroom I have ver seen ( larger ones in NYC). We asked to change rooms and they did accomodate us which was nice and we ended up on the 6th floor with a much nicer bathroom. Staff was not out of their way friendly, but housekeeping did a great job. * My biggest complaint is that my friend and I were both suffering from a major allergy as soon as we checked in.. eyes watering..stuffy noses.. not a cold at all..definately allergies. Not sure what was brought it on but when we were in the room it was bad. Might return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Grand is overpriced. The rooms are very plain for the price we paid. The service is good and the location is good if you do not want to be near downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
844 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
441 reviews
1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £116 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing