We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My sister and I spent two nights in late July - just a diversion - leaving work and family behind for a sisterly jaunt. While I have to agree with a friend who describes Steamboat Springs in general as a "soul-less, touristy ski town," being summer, take the ski out of my opinion! There are some decent restaurants and shops though we didn't go there for the shopping. The hotel was just fine. It's big. It was clean. It had a low occupancy when we were there and don't know how much I would have enjoyed it if it were full. I had opted for a plain double room when I made my reservation but upon arrival was offered the adjoining "studio " room as well for an additional $50. each night and we took it. This saved me a lot over what I would have paid if I had opted for that when I initially made the reservation. Having two bathrooms was a real bonus. The rooms were comfortable, good beds, bathrooms super clean, irons and ironing board, decor that I wouldn't want to live with (decorator rustic/western) but fine. Huge, long hallways but we quickly discovered the additional doors that allowed us to enter closer to our rooms. That brings to mind one source of discomfort that is probably a result of my New York perspective - safety. The aforementioned doors from the street and parking garage had no security features and no supervision. Anybody at all could enter the property and go to any floor without even a key as long as it was earlier than 10 PM. I didn't like that much. But anyway - the pool was OK - service was good, didn't eat in the restaurants (in part because on Sunday mornings they only serve the expensive breakfast buffet and not being a big eater I don't want to drop that much money on 1 piece of toast, one egg and coffee. We had cocktails at the bar that were great. Bartender Haley was very personable. Front desk folks were fine, no surprises on the bill. Don't bother with valet parking - you can easily take an elevator down to the garage and move your car yourself. Just so you know, the hotel is located up in the ski-village part of town. We had dinner both nights in restaurants that were walking distance but otherwise had to drive the 10 minutes to do other things in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to main elevators - save yourself a two block interior hike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Great resort hotel and combination of condos. Ours was two bed three bath which suited our small group well. Nice balcony in the sun good view up to the Rockies. Pool area lovely and bar and staff around it most helpful and friendly. Wonder if we could afford the Christmas season since it would be a completely different experience in he snow, but the local hot springs would keep you warm, and great fun too. High standard accommodation, very comfortable and as said good summer value. Reception service a bit clinical but efficient and accurate - try smiling more and identifying with the customer not the work!

Room Tip: Select your combination of condo - bedrooms and bathrooms - to meet your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Oh dear. This was one scary night. Huge, vacant, dated and creepy resort - the whole atmosphere was like the movie 'The Shining'. Vast suite - half empty with tired '80s furnishings. Tasteless and tacky fibreglass fountains in the lobby with plastic Christmas trees in September. Miles of empty corridors. Clearly all the owners of the individual suites want out as so many (70+) are for sale in the sales suite in the lobby. Stale smell in the room - mothballs or something. Couldn't open the windows. Had the air of some kind of post-communist abandoned development in Eastern Europe. Sure, it's cheap. But pack some antidepressants if you plan on staying there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PF2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We spent 5 days at The Grand in Steamboat. It is the only hotel in the area large enough to support up to medium size conferences. We had a studio room, and being off season, prices were quite reasonable. The following are the pros and cons:

Pros:
The amenities were nice. The studio room had more of a regular sized refrigerator with a usable freezer. It also had a full size stove and ¾ full size dish washer. The kitchen had nice stoneware and nice stainless pots and pans. There was a nice coffee pot, amply supplied with Seattle’s best coffee. The filter packs were actually round so they fit snuggly in the basket. The bath had twin sinks with room to spread out. The shower head provided good water flow. Nice flat screen TV and a DVD player. There was a small safe in the room, located in an ample sized closet. The mattress was very comfortable. Not hard as a sheet of plywood as with some places. The pool and spa looked nice, but we did not go in.

Cons:
While the decor was nice, it was a little dated. The throw rug in front of the love seat was getting frayed. There were only two of us staying in the room and we generally had ample space, but it was not as spacious as say a Marriott Springhill Suite. You felt a little bit like you were either sleeping in the kitchen or cooking in the bedroom. There was only about a 42 inch pathway between the queen bed and the kitchen counters.

The smoke detector was dangling by its wires above the bed, however it appeared to be working. The stoneware was only a place setting of 4. Even though you would never have more than 4 people staying the room, it meant you generally had to run the dishwasher after each meal. Speaking of the dishwasher, it was very noisy. You would not want to start it until you were ready to leave the room.

By far the most annoying thing was the toilet. It was one of the “exploding” toilets with the pressurized tank. I am sure these were some of the early models before manufacturers figured out how to comply with the federal water restrictions and still provide an adequate flush. If I were the owner and wanting to remodel the place, that is where I would start.

While we would probably stay there again if the opportunity arose, but would probably not pay high season rates.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurplePica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband, daughter and myself stayed I'm a single room hotel room during our recent trip for a family wedding. The hotel itself is very large and well kept. We had breakfast at "the Cabin" restaurant near the front desk and it was delicious, although a bit expensive, but most of Steamboat is spendy. Our room was very nice and clean with a beautiful view over the pool. The room was a bit small but had a huge bathroom and a full kitchen including oven and dishwasher. This is a great property and I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We usually choose a condo for our Labor Day Weekend stay in Steamboat. We decided on a full service hotel this time and stayed at the Steamboat Grand. The staff seemed tired and had no enthusiasm. It almost seemed like they were done for the summer! Our room was dirty and the sheets would not even stay on the bed! We let them know and even though they sent in someone else to clean it still wasn't right. The outside of the refrigerator, stove and dishwasher looked liked they were never wiped down. We felt so uncomfortable we placed towels on the couch before sitting down. The drink service at the pool was non-existent. We had a great server in the restaurant and the gym attendant was very nice. The location was good for hikes up Mt. Werner. Needless to say we won't be going back!

Room Tip: Make sure its clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkeene55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Wow were we surprised at how great this lodge was!
We had a beautiful room with a view and full kitchen.
There was enough room to sleep a family and feed one as well
but we went as a couple for a long weekend this time.
Nice people, beautiful place and great things to do around Steamboat Springs!
Will definitely be planning a return trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a separate bedroom and full kitchen. You get 2 full baths, one with a whirlpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriannasgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
695 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
851 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
427 reviews
1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £97 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing