We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff, Close to Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Just stayed 3 nights at the Grand. The people really make this place. The service is outstanding and all the staff are so friendly especially Mark who gave me great tips on where to shop, get ski gear, etc.

The property is just a very short walk to the gondola. The ski rental shop will carry your skis over to the mountain for you so good if you have kids.

There are lots of cozy common areas with fireplaces, a fabulous outdoor area with a heated pool and 2 large hot tubs, great bar and breakfast area called the Cabin plus they will shuttle you around town so no car needed.

The rooms are large and clean with fairly basic mountain decor. Nice spa toiletries.

Plan to tay there again. Excellent experience! Recommend for both business and personal travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for the wonderful and thorough review of The Steamboat Grand and our staff! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Steamboat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Spend 4 nights over Presidents Birthday Week and enjoyed a great stay. Friendly and attentive staff, I can't remember the last time a concierge called to ask what he could do for me. Nice layout for the hotel, 2 big outdoor hot tubs, which came in handy after long days on the slopes. "The Cabins" restaurant was nice and convenient. My daughter and I stayed in a standard queen room and had more than enough space for all our gear.
There is the "Grand Storage" across the street on the way to the mountain where you can store your skis and boots. My only suggestion might be to offer a complete ski valet by having skis brought right to the mountain for guests. I know that's easier said than done with how the layout of the base area is but it was a chore to carry the skis from the storage to the mountain, though we got used to it.
Otherwise great stay and I highly recommend the hotel and the mountain for a ski holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for the outstanding review of The Grand and our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our stay at The Steamboat Grand was very poor and the lack of urgency from the team was even more disappointing. Our concerns were disregarded concerning our room, the cafe, and the front desk. Upon our arrival we waited for 30+ minutes for our bags to be brought up to our room even after we offered to come get them from the bellman. Our room lacked a remote, the bathroom lights were flickering, and no bathroom fan. Our sofa bed, which was advertised as a condo to accommodate 4 adult guests, had a paper thin mattress and a rod that poked in our back so much that the second night we chose to sleep on the floor instead. The cafe employees were completely preoccupied and rude whenever we visited, that we eventually brought our business elsewhere. When I brought this up to the Front Desk, we were pushed aside and disregarded. We were told that the mattresses for the sofa bed would be replaced in the summer and if we had tried using the side beds. We travel quite often to Steamboat and normally stay at the Sheraton Steamboat, however due to them being sold out we chose The Steamboat Grand. Moving forward, I know why they are always sold out, because this was embarrassing and the investment for our weekend was ruined.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

On behalf of The Steamboat Grand, I would like to apologize for your experience at our property. We recognize the sofa sleepers need updating, and they will be replaced in the near future. Regardless, we hold ourselves to a higher standard of service than what you received, and we will be contacting you directly to make this right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As soon as you arrive at the hotel the staff comes to take your bags. The check in staff was very friendly and gave us a lot of information about the area restaurants… We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and the bed was comfortable. The wifi worked well and was included.
The restaurant for breakfast was quite good although the service was a little slow. We were there for SuperBowl weekend so we watched the game in the bar. It was very crowded as expected but they tried to accommodate as many people as possible. THey had good Super Bowl food and drinks and food were reasonably priced.
They also provide free storage of your skis at the hill which saves the walk with your skies back and forth which is nice. There is also a free shuttle that takes you in to town and picks you up at night when you are finished which is a very nice touch.
The best part was the hot tub area which was huge with a heated outdoor pool. They also have bar service at the hot tub and the drinks were reasonable priced.
In general this is a good hotel with a very nice staff.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetripplanner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for the amazing review of our property, amenities, and staff! We are delighted to hear your experience was a Grand one, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is our first time to Colorado and the Steamboat Grand. On arrival we were met by bell hops who were helpful. Reception staff were friendly and gave us some useful information. After a very long day all we wanted to do was get to our room and collapse in bed.
We got a free room upgrade on booking to a one bed condo, well it was fantastic. Huge open plan lounge, dining room and kitchen with lovely fire place. Large bedroom and spacious bathroom. The sofa was uncomfortable and lumpy which was a shame.
We tried out the Cabin for an evening meal a couple of times the burgers were great but unfortunately we had to wait 40mins for the ribs to come ! Shame
One night we tried the smaller restaurant as the Cabin had a private function, shame they did not tell us at breakfast that morning. NOT much choice so we had the pizza. Well it was awful, tough as old boots and not much taste either. Yuk.
We had breakfast included which was a great start to the day. Lots to choose from and well presented. Omelettes cooked fresh and hot, lovely.
If you are skiing ask for a room near to the ski slopes we were lucky and got room 557 which is at the end nearest to the slopes. The hotel corridors are very long !
The Grand offers slope side storage of ski and boots which is great not that its far to walk if you get a room close to the slopes. But at least it stops people stomping through the hotel in boots early in the morning waking everyone up !
Another huge great thing they offer is the free shuttle into town each day. Running from early afternoon til 22:15 each evening. You hop on either 15 or 45 mins past the hour and then call the hotel on your cell phone and request a pick up. They usually give you an estimated time of arrival and the most we waited was 15mins. Its too far to walk anywhere so if you do not have a car then this is the only way to get around.
The town offers many bars and good restaurants.
The room was clean and tidy and the staff for the most part friendly part from when asking for help in finding a doctor. The receptionist just handed us a number and no offer of help or assistance and the same went for concierge too.
Would i recommend to others.....yes but void presidents weekend or any holiday periods as it get very busy indeed

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Steamboat Grand. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Steamboat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The impressive facade and classic ski lodge decorating let you know this place is special. You are across the street from the skiing. But there's plenty else to do. We were in the heated outdoor pool and hot tub every day. I used the exercise room, which had multiples treadmills, bikes, and stair masters. This is the second time we stayed, renting a 1bedroom with kitchenette. Very handy with the kids to make breakfast. There was a sleeper sofa, but both girls preferred sleeping on the window seats near the gas fireplace. Room was clean and large. Big tv but limited selection of channels. Wifi worked great, so just ended up using Netflix. Bed was a little on the hard side, but there were plenty of extra pillows and blankets. Nice big bathroom and couldn't hear anyone else in the adjacent rooms or hallway. Actually, the only time I heard anyone else was kids down in the pool outside, which we could see from our room. Parked in the hotel lot across the street, which is $15/day. Had a great time!

Room Tip: Upper floors room got hot in middle of night but turning on a/c cooled it off fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RunnerMomRedmond_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

As with most years, my wife and I spent a couple of months debating which ski resort we would hit in 2014. We tend not to spend time in Europe any more as we find the costs are usually equivalent to a trip to North America but the resorts are usually better and people / facilities usually out strip their European counterparts. Having skied Breckenridge a few years, Vail, Keystone, Beaver Creek, Buttermilk, Snowmass, Aspen and Whistler on two occasions, getting a resort and hotel that compares to past visits is always a bit of a challenge. This year, we decided to opt for Steamboat based upon the advice from someone we skied with last year and the promise that the skiing there was better than Breck. When visiting Breck, we normally can do it door to door (with an overnight in Heathrow) in around 17 hours. Steamboat is a 4 hour transfer from the airport (on a good day) and our end to end journey was more like 19 hours although travelling on a Saturday night seemed to be very quite on the roads - who knows what this would be like on a Friday.
We checked in at the Steamboat Grand, we had a one bedroom condo. The condo was very large, had two queen size beds, two bathrooms, large dinning table and kitchen with a gas fire which was never switched off. We really love the likes of the Beaver Run at Breck but the Steamboat Grand really knocks the socks of anywhere we have stayed in Colorado previously. Although there is no real ski in / out possibility here, you are only a short walk from the Gondola and there is ski store run by the grand for it's guests at no extra charge. The resort has a large outdoor heated pool and two of the biggest hot tubs I have ever seen. The area is serviced by staff after 3pm so you can usually get a beer to help relax after a day on the slopes. Alongside these facilities are a great steam room and sauna and a fully equipped gym.
Now for the skiing. We are actually only two days in of a ten day trip and have had around 6 hours so far on the mountain. First impressions are that this area is much quieter than other places we have skied and that there is a lack of the hustle and bustle that you normally experience in places like Whistler and Breck. Don't get me wrong, there are still plenty of people around but as yet, we haven't had long waits at lifts or the burning feeling in your legs as you try to navigate around slower people on the slopes. It could be just the time of year up here but this week is usually the the week we always ski so I think there is a difference. It has pretty much snowed the full week before we got here and there has been 1 bluebird day and the rest snow, so finding corduroy is proving to be tough but the powder here is definitely different to other resorts. We skied a couple of Blacks on Morningside yesterday and really enjoyed the powder coming over our skis and up to our knees. I really never felt I had issues stopping or turning because the snow was so light, you don't really get this option in skiing this sort of stuff in places like Whistler etc. I have no idea why, but the snow is definitely different, the call it champagne powder and I can see why.
Anyway accommodation - tick, resort - tick, downtown - ah, still to see downtown as we are still recovering from jet lag and over exertion. Might get down town tonight fingers crossed.
I will definitely be back to Steamboat some day as the place does live up to it's name Ski Town USA.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fire :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allan-Glasgow-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for the sensational and thorough review of The Steamboat Grand and the Steamboat Ski Resort. We are honored to hear we rate so highly compared to those other great resorts. Enjoy the rest of your time with us, and all the Champagne Powder ® Snow that will be falling this week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
831 reviews
1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £105 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing