We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
239 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Truly top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Think Brown Palace and the Broadmoor. The Grand is a mountain version. We attended a wedding there (and stated a night in a suite). Beautifully decorated, attention to detail, friendly staff and good food (the cheese tray was spectacular).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for the amazing review of The Steamboat Grand. We are honored you consider our property commensurate with such fantastic resorts, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    193
    74
    35
    20
See reviews for
259
175
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We checked into this hotel at the last minute after we had a bad experience at another hotel. We stayed for three nights and extended it an extra night and already planning a December ski trip here. What made it extra special was the staff. I was so impressed especially when our TV didn't work. They went out of there way to accommodate us and turned a negative into a double positive!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Muuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Steamboat Grand. We love to hear that our dedicated staff made all the difference, and as a result you will be returning this winter! We look forward to welcoming you back in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for a Convention and skiing. The location is great to get to the chairlifts and bars and restaurants by the slopes. And, the hotel ski check next to the slopes was handy. Although our room was first class, it was small (1 bed, 1 chair). We realized how small, after we visited other rooms that our friends were staying in. Even so, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the fireplace and the balcony.

The staff were very friendly and took the time to answer questions, even when they were obviously busy with a full hotel.

The valet for the car was quick. And, the restaurant and breakfast place had a good selection of options. Loved the outdoor hot tub. Poolside beverage service was much appreciated too. But, of the two hot tubs available, one was broken, so the functioning one became very crowded.

Although not inexpensive, I felt we received the value and services for the cost. Can't wait to return. Will definitely stay here again, but will ask for a different (larger) room.

Room Tip: Larger rooms have more amenities such as a kitchen or living areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaorskisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful and thorough review of The Grand! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Steamboat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynette, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was nice however there was a children's LaCrosse tournament in town and several were staying at this hotel. We were not informed of this when we booked Friday or we would not have chosen to stay. After children running and screaming in the hall until late Friday night we tried to leave on Saturday instead of Sunday. We could leave but we would not be given a refund. Being business owners this was supposed to be a weekend to relax. If we have been warned we would not have stayed here. Our trip was ruined and the hotel did not care.

Room Tip: Ask what is going on at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SunnyB7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at The Steamboat Grand. We apologize that your visit was not what you expected. As one of the top family resorts in the country, it’s common for families and groups to choose to stay at the Steamboat Grand. Contacting our front desk directly is always the best way to find out what's going on in town, or what large groups may be staying in the hotel for any given dates. We hope that you will return to Steamboat for another visit to see what makes The Steamboat Grand such a great location to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The place was outstanding, large heated pool and two large hot tubs. Rooms were large enough (you just sleep in them anyway), kitchen has everything needed to cook, (look in stove for pots and pans) use valet so your car is protected, basically across the street from gondola lift. Restaurant was very good. if military, last two weekends of April, the ski lift is free!!

Room Tip: A tad noisy from the pool in the back, so if you have a problem with kids in the pool get the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review of our property. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again next ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great location right by the ski village at the bottom of the mountain. They took great care of us as we stored our skis across the street. Very conveniently located to downtown as well. I enjoyed being able to book ski rental, lessons, xc skiing, horseback riding, and a sleigh ride dinner all through their reservation line. The room was wonderful and the hot tub was welcome relief for some aching muscles.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marc1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of The Steamboat Grand. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Years ago, my husband and I started coming to Steamboat, a short trip from Colorado Springs for us. However, when we moved to Miami, Fl we decided to invest in Steamboat and we actually bought interval ownership in the Steamboat Grand. Over the years, we have come here in the winter and the summer and we have brought our families here as well.
The Grand provides the best experience you can have in Steamboat whether you are a skier, a hiker, biker or just a traveler wanting a luxurious experience.
The rooms and service are first class and every year there have been subtle improvments to the Grand Facility. The rooms are first class, luxury linens and amenities which are upgraded when need be. The pool, the two huge hot tubs, the first rate gym, the wonderful spa and the excellent restaurants make this the place to stay. Of course you can walk over to the ski area and village and the Grand also provides shuttle service to the town, no need to drive while you are here!
The staff is always helpful, every need is attended to quickly and with a friendly attitude that is constant.
This is our second home and we bring our children and grandchildren here in the winter and the summer. We would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the building mean less walking, the place is huge. All the rooms are great bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on The Grand. We couldn't agree more with your assessment of the property, and we look forward to welcoming you home on your next trip to Steamboat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboat Springs Suites
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboa...
#9 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Property: The Steamboat Grand
Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing