We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Overall it’s a nice hotel which could do better given that we paid over $400 a night for a one-bedroom condominium. The fee for our entire stay was immediately taken when we made reservations 3 weeks in advance but our request for a room facing the ski slopes was disregarded. The woman at the front desk was unhelpful and robotic, having us wait over 30 minutes as she “worked” on finding us the type of room we requested (she was unable to do so).

The fabric on the furniture was torn and the sofa sleeper was uncomfortable.

We received 2 complimentary breakfast buffets, but being 4 people, we paid $32 for two breakfast buffets. Quite a steep price for a breakfast buffet just a little bit better than a continental breakfast.

This could be a great place to stay IF they paid attention to some of the details.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Colorado-Trip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2009

This was my family's second year at the Steamboat Grand. We arrived at the airport and were picked up by Alpine Taxi, which were very friendly. On our trip back to the airport, their driver took us to a few notable sites in Steamboat and described the history of the town.

When we arrived at the Grand, the bellstand attendants were very quick to take our bags and deliver them to the room. The hotel decor is very Western/Cowboy themed, which was great since we live in New York. The hotel is immaculate. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which was comprised of one living room, a room with two double beds, and a room with a king sized bed. There was a nice kitchen and a large dining table. We could have easily slept 10 people in our rooms because each couch is a pullout. The beds, pillows, and linens were comfortable. We had three televisions and two fireplaces.

The hotel pool and hot tubs were the highlight of the trip for my three daughters. After a long day of skiing, they were very warm and large. They also sit outside on a platform, so the experience is very special.

The convenience to the mountain cannot be beat. The base of the mountain is across the street. With small children, this was absolutely crucial. We were able to go back and forth from the mountain in 5 minutes. There is free ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. The attendants there are very quick and friendly.

Everyone that we came into contact with at the mountain went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We love skiing Steamboat!

The one downside to the Grand is the food situation. There is a small cafe that serves pre-made sandwiches, bagels and Starbucks coffee. There is also a cafe that opens for lunch and serves pub food. We had a difficult time finding a healthy light lunch. The breakfast is actually very disappointing also. It is a free buffet, but the food is terrible. They serve powdered eggs, heavy breakfast food. There is very little selection for someone looking for a healthy breakfast. The fruit was melon and pineapple every day.

The spa is great. I had two massages, which were amazing. One was the Ashiatsu, where they walk on your back. It felt so good for my sore muscles!

The staff there is very friendly and accomodating. Overall, we loved our stay there, and will probably return for a third time next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My wife and I stayed for the third year in a row for a conference. We have the same problem every year booking rooms. The hotel is set up as multiple 3 - room suites. The center room is a living room/kitchen with fireplace. On one side of that room is a bedroom with two queens and on the other side of that room is a "master bedroom" which contains a king bed and fireplace and master bathroom. The master bedroom essentially fits the bed only, there is no additional room. So, if you are a couple staying there and want a king bed, you will receive a tiny room. Otherwise, the other option is a room with two beds. Of course, you have to pay extra for the living room/kitchen.
The hotel location is conveniently located across from the base of the gondola and the complimentary ski storage is nice. However, service is always poor in this hotel. For example, our first full day there, the room was not cleaned by the time we returned at 5 pm. Also, we did not receive our bath robes. Furthermore, in two visits to the hot tub, no towels were available. They were "being washed". This occured during February when the hotel was not at full capacity. Other issues are that there is nowhere to eat a light lunch inside the hotel. Overall, the hotel is in a good location but for the prices they charge and their claim that they are a 4-star hotel, I would rather stay elsewhere. My wife and I will never return since we are done with the annual conference.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docduoatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Stayed for 6 nights for conference. Location convenient to slopes. (Basically a walk across the street) Hotel has free ski/boot storage near gondola. Room was clean and updated. Bathroom a little small. People were very helpful at hotel. Pool and hot tub nice size so they didn't seem crowded. Good exercise facility. I didn't eat in the hotel's restaurants because free hotel shuttle to town made access easy.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelmore95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We stayed at the Steamboat Grand January this year and look forward to staying here again. I was a litle concerned before arrival that the Hotel was not directly on the slopes but its not a problem at all. They have a great Ski & Heated boot storage facility at the base of the mountain which means its all of a 3 min stroll across the bridge from the Hotel. We arrived at the Hotel at 3am in the morning after a fairly harrowing 5 hr drive in a snow storm so it was wonderful being greeted by friendly and helpful night staff. Our 2 bedroom condominium was fantastic and well appointed with great amenities. The king fireplace bedroom ws on the "cosy" side but had a fabulously huge spa bath, the 2nd bedroom ws extremely spacious with two queen beds and the parlour room with kitchen and lounge and fireplace was huge. All the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful. My only critism would be about breakfast - I would rate it 5 out 10, but there are plenty of other breakfast options around. Go to Gondola Joes for Coffee!
Overall I think the Grand offers great value for money and we wil be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieA2900WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

My husband and I like to try different ski resorts so this was our first trip to Steamboat. Not knowing exactly how conveniently located the various condos were to the gondola (the Steamboat.com map was terrible!), we figured we were safe going with the Grand.

With the exception of our airline tickets, we booked everything through central reservations. We used Alpine Taxi to get us from the airport to the Grand - which was a great ride. I would recommend them to anyone. Check in was a breeze, the bellmen were quite helpful.

We booked a one bedroom condo. The kitchenette was tiny - which was okay because it was just the two of us. However, the stove top was quite dirty, the coffee pot leaked, the ice-maker wouldn't quit making ice, the refrigerator froze everything no matter how much we turned it down. The main room was enormous but sparsely decorated. The "fireplace" did not work. The bedroom was very spacious as was the bathroom. Don't forget your toiletries because there are less amenities in the room/bathroom than you would normally find at a less expensive chain hotel (Holiday Inn Express, Hampton Inn, etc.). The heating system in the room was a nightmare! Apparently there is a heating system in the floor as well as central heating. The floor system had no way of being turned off or down. It was very uncomfortable. Because they tell you not to leave the balcony door open, we had to turn the air-conditioner on to cold in order to cool down the room. Sleeping was miserable because of the heat. The only thing maintenance did was to turn the air-conditioning colder.

On the plus side, the Grand is conveniently located to the gondola and slopes. The storage facility near the gondola was very nice. We used a ski delivery service which actually came to our room to fit our boots to skis. With the exception of a tip to the guys who brought our skis, the price was the same as with any other ski rental shop. It was very convenient. The shuttle service at the hotel was also very nice. The drivers were very accomodating and personable, they did everything they could to make you comfortable. That was, quite possibly, the best part of this resort.

This is a lovely facility, but certainly, in my opinion, not worth the price of a full-service hotel/condo. Next time we will look for a simple condo without all the bells & whistles of a luxury resort that actually lives up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We just got back from our first trip to Steamboat and loved it! Staying at the Grand was just awesome. All of the employees were very friendly. The hotel is beautiful and incredibly convenient to the slopes. I was very pleased with our room and would definitely stay here again. I found the shower to be small (and I am very petite) but the jacuzzi tub makes up for it! Also we were there over Christmas and actually had to turn the A/C on for most of our stay...the room stayed quite warm, not sure why.

The pool/hot tub area was great and next time, I'd love to try the gym and spa.

The free breakfast is convenient but pretty typical...you get sick of it after a few days. But as far as hotel breakfasts go, it'll do.

The concierge wasn't all that helpful. It seems like he kept sending everyone to the same awful steakhouse. We started getting recommendations from other people after that.

The shuttle to downtown is so convenient, as well as the ski storage area by the gondola. All in all, I would definitely return to the Grand and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank msw0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
830 reviews
1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £106 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing