We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a great resort, skiing and town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wow - what a great resort, skiing and town”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

First time ever to Steamboat Springs and boy was I pleased by this resort and the town. The resort staff were wonderful, the unit we rented spectacular and fortunately the foot+ of champagne powder that feel during our stay made the skiing epic. We rented a three bedroom unit in the Bear building and it was spectacular. Well furnished, roomy, light and the Resort had all the amenities. The free van service into town and the shuttle service to the ski area (only three blocks away!!!) were very helpful. The Resort is in the city but about two miles from central business district - but with van and city bus you really don't need a rental car. The room was well maintained with everything you'd want - full kitchens and great electronics - tv's in every bedroom and underground parking too. We are already panning next years trip and we will return to this Resort.

Room Tip: We did not go into any other unit or building other than ours - but the Bear lodge building was supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVRSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Steamboat Springs is a special part of Colorado and we appreciate your comments related to your recent visit. We will pass on your kind words to our staff. Thank you for mentioning the convenience of the resort shuttle service and the amenities on property. Having a foot of fresh champagne powder is always a great thing and I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy it – sometimes we recommend skiing with a snorkel! We look forward to hosting you again at Trappeur’s Crossing Resort and Spa and being if service during your next vacation to Steamboat Springs.
Alan Koermer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    41
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
162
63
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit in Timberline Lodge. The staff was extremely courteous, making sure we had everything we needed. It was quiet in the building, the first weekend in November, before ski season. The condo was clean, well-appointed, and a very restful place to relax. A beautiful weather weekend, Steamboat was a wonderful place to be. There was a little more road noise than we expected to be able to hear.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Relaxation is a wonderful component of any getaway. Our staff enjoys providing great service and ensuring that your requests are met in a timely and courteous manner. We will provide our housekeeping team with your valuable feedback on the condition of the residence and we will let the owner know you found the condo well stocked and decorated. Thank you for choosing Trappeur’s Crossing Resort as your destination for a relaxing vacation. We hope you come back to Steamboat and enjoy another stay at the property. We appreciate you submitting the response.

Alan Koermer
General Manager
steamboatinfo@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a lovely complex this is. Well furnished and very well equipped. The only down side was traffic noise. Our condo was within walking distance of the mountain and close to the bus stop, providing free transport to the shops and town. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We appreciate your recent review and comments about Trappeur’s Crossing. Traveling from the UK to Colorado is a long trip and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. As you stated, the property is conveniently located which provides great access to the mountain and the town. Thank you for choosing Trappeur’s Crossing for your lodging in Steamboat.

Alan Koermer
General Manager
steamboatinfo@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Nebraska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Wow! Excellent choice, wonderful lodging, motivated and friendly staff! We chose a 3BR, 3BA unit in Aspen Lodge for a recent family vacation in August 2013. We lucked out on absolutely wonderful weather for Steamboat in August and absolutely fell in love with Steamboat in general. What a wonderful area with so many choices and things to do. OK - back to the lodging. I traveled with 3 generations of family (Mom, hubby and young adult (20's) kids. The accomodations could not have been more perfect. Privacy and space for all, handicap-ready for Mom with walk in showers, one-level living, elevators to all levels and wheelchair available so she could particpate in many of the outdoor activiites with the rest of us. Underground parking for me and the kids (important based on weather conditions in Steamboat!), nice pool and hot tub options, great front desk and concierge service, fun family activiites (ice cream socials and wine and cheese with entertainment on Friday night). The condo was nicely and comfortably furnished. Kitchen nicely stocked with essentials and pots/pans, dinner and glassware, soaps and clean-up needs. Bathrooms generously supplied with towels/linens and soaps/shampoos available as needed. Wifi, cable TV made late night relaxing enjoyable too. Overall - family was very pleased and a great choice for our family vacation!

Room Tip: We booked through Wyndham Vacation Rentals. Nice internet site and online lodging pictures were tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for submitting such a kind response. Traveling with three generations of family members may sometimes pose challenges and we are happy to hear that Trappeur’s Crossing Resort and Steamboat Springs provided a variety of activities and amenities to accommodate everyone in your party. August in Steamboat is a great time of the year. It sounds like you were able to explore our community and get a feel for why we believe Steamboat is the gem of the Colorado Rocky Mountains. Our staff at Trappeur’s Crossing takes pride in the events and activities provided to our owners and guests. We appreciate your comments about our amenities and thank you for mentioning the access component of your stay as related to Mom. Our residences are wholly owned by individuals who keep in tune with the needs of our visitors – thank you for mentioning the condition of the condo you stayed in. We will pass that information on to the owner. We hope you try Steamboat in the winter and experience the world class skiing, western hospitality, and service excellence that is offered at Trappeur’s Crossing. We appreciate the comments on the ease of the interface with the Wyndham Vacation Rentals website. We look forward to seeing you and being of service again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have had the privilege of enjoying Steamboat Springs while staying at Trappeur's Crossing yearly since 2009. Our first stay was in a warm, tastefully decorated 2BR 2BA unit in Champagne Lodge. We fell in love with our unit while falling in love with Steamboat. Our next two stays were in 2BR + den units in Trappeurs Lodge (1106 and ?). Both units were recently remodeled (Trappeurs is the oldest of the lodges). Only downside to those units is that the laundry is shared in the basement as opposed to inside the units. It didn't negatively impact our stay, however. Our next stay was in Timberline Lodge, which is very similar to Champagne Lodge. This year, we purchased our 2BR 2 BA unit in Timberline Lodge. While we were guests, I was impressed each time by the cleanliness of all of the units, the helpfulness of the staff and the attention to detail in every aspect of the resort. As owners, we continue to enjoy the same. This resort is top notch and second to none for families and couples alike.

Room Tip: Always pick your rental online. Pictures of each unit are available and they vary from lodge to lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mblbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We are so happy to know the facilities at Trappeur’s and the staff contributed to your purchase at the property. We aim to meet and exceed expectations and truly enjoy every addition to our “family” at Trappeur’s Crossing Resort and Spa. Our housekeeping staff strives to uphold high standards of cleanliness and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for submitting this review and we look forward to seeing you soon at your “home away from home”!

Alan Koermer
General Manager
steamboatinfo@wynvr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshwane, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

nice family lodging, hot tub and pools offered welcome respite after skiing. free shuttle and nice staff. only complaint was too soft beds and noise from traffic...get room pool side not one that opens to walton creek rd. otherwise great choice

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Being family friendly is the name of our game – and it is a big part of what Steamboat Springs is known for. Thank you for submitting your review of Trappeur’s Crossing Resort and Spa. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and shuttle service. It is our goal to provide exceptional service to you while meeting and exceeding your expectations. Please accept our apologies regarding the condition of the beds and the noise from the Walton Creek Road traffic. We look forward to hosting you again and hope that the western charm of Steamboat Springs complimented by the legendary snow will prompt you to book your next Steamboat ski vacation.
Alan Koermer
General Manager
steamboatinfo@resortquest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This review is for a 2br 2 bath unit at Champagne Lodge at Trappeurs Crossing.

We were very pleased with our experience staying at CL. Trappeurs consists of several different buildings spread out over block or so. Champagne is in the cluster around the main office, called Trappeurs Lair. Our shuttle dropped us off at the office where we checked in. It's a little bit of an uphill walk to our building, and we had quite a bit of luggage and a 3 yr old. This was no problem, as one of the employees, Freddy was able to help us with our luggage.

The unit was larger than I even expected. Also had nice, high ceilings which lend even more to the roomy feel. The unit was well appointed by the owners. We were in unit 3303. This particular unit was equipped with flat screen tvs in each room with cable access and a blueray player in the den. A small supply of DVDs were on hand, including some kid movies, which was nice for our child. The TV in the den was 3d which I was kind of excited about, but couldn't find the glasses..rats! But really no big deal, as I imagine the owners didn't want them to go missing, or someone had already walked off with them. A previous review read by my wife suggested requesting a unit that faced inside and not on the road. We made this request, but as it turns out, all the 2br units face this street. There is a but of traffic noise, but it really didn't bother us, as we live in the city near a busy road and near a railroad track. So we are already a bit desensitized. The only thing that bothered my wife was on the nights it was snowing the plows would come by making the noises that they do. A small price to pay for fresh pow in the mornings.

CL is conveniently located within walking distance of a small market which was handy. They have a deli, and although small, they have a decent amount of supplies you might need. Including a liquor store on the opposite side of the store. I walked to this market several times. You are also much more close to the gondola base than you think. Just across the street from the market, you come to One Steamboat Place, which you can walk thru a breezeway and you are right at the gondola base. I made that walk once, from the base to the unit.

All that being said, there is a shuttle from the base about every 10 minutes from 7:30am to 5pm. There is also an on call shuttle you can use to take you anywhere in town up until. 10:45 pm. Very convenient and all the drivers are great.

We did not use any of the amenities, such as the pool and hot tubs, but they are very convenient. If there was one thing that would have been nice to have, it would have been bathrobes to wear to the pools, but, we didn't use them anyway, so it wasn't an issue. Just a thought.

All in all, we would stay there again. The staff were nice and staff were very accommodating and the unit we stayed in was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortQuestSteamboat, General Manager at Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for the detailed and informative review regarding Champagne Lodge at Trappeur’s Crossing Resort and Spa. We will inform Freddy that his services were appreciated – our associates look forward to servicing our guests and assisting in any way possible. We appreciate the comments related to the aspect of the unit and we apologize that we were not able to accommodate the location request. Fresh powder is a wonderful thing and we are glad to hear that you were able to indulge in Steamboat’s coldest commodity. On behalf of our staff and owners, thank you for complimenting the amenities of the resort, the shuttle service, and the proximity to the ski area base. We look forward to being of service during your next trip to Steamboat Springs. We will inform our associates of your kind words as they are appreciated.
Alan Koermer
General Manager
steamboatinfo@resortquest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#7 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#3 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#8 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#13 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows at Eagleridge
Meadows at Eagleridge
#48 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa

Property: Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Address: 1795 Medicine Springs Dr, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-2068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation luxuriously and affordably at Steamboat's finest resort, Trappeurs Crossing Resort & Spa by Wyndham Vacation Rentals. The Steamboat gondola is just 2 blocks away and our winter shuttles chauffeur guests to-and-from the ski resort and around Steamboat. Choose from 6 lodges with 1-5 bedroom units (some with private hot tubs). Enjoy four pools (one indoor/outdoor pool), multiple hot tubs, Day Spa, fitness center, concierge and free wireless Internet access. Fully-equipped kitchens, gas fireplace, private balcony and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trappeur`s Crossing Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing