We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun diversion”
Review of Howelsen Ice Arena

Howelsen Ice Arena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Howelsen Ice Arena has ice skating and is the only Colorado ice arena with Bumper Cars on ice! Regardless of age, interest, or skill level, Howelsen Ice Arena's Olympic size ice arena can accommodate your needs. From figure skating to hockey leagues, broomball to bumper cars, birthday parties to hockey tournaments, private rentals to public skating sessions, Howelsen Ice Arena has something for everyone.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun diversion”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice skates to rent, big rink, and lots of those ski frames for kids learning to skate. Easy to get to and was fun thing to do with child that didn't like skiing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RunnerMomRedmond_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    25
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fun & UNIQUE experience!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a group of 4 adults and 2 kids, aged 5 and 3 and had SO much fun! The 5 year old got a bit frustrated with trying to move the controls in his own bumper car, but that was to be expected. The hours are a little hard to work around but the people who work there were SO nice to stay late because we'd missed our earlier reservation. Definitely worth the money for such a unique experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ice Arena, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
That's great to hear. Thank you for such a kind review. We'll tell the staff to keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for kids, and the full range of skills.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Visited here with several young kids (all of which had never been on skates). We had the arena almost completely to ourselves. They offer sleds to push the youngest of the group as well as walker-like supports to help the beginners.

They offer different activities for the whole range of skills. On the way out we were given the suggestion to get hockey pads (available from the front desk) for the little ones to help them stay dry, warm and come away with less bruises while learning.

Our group consisted of seven total people and there wasn't one of them that didn't enjoy the time we spent at the arena.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ice Arena, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Wonderful! So glad you enjoyed the visit. And yes... the sleds and skate stands make it easy for the little ones and beginners to enjoy some ice time too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but fun”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were able to get reservations at the last minute and did this at the end of one of our days in Steamboat. Not fancy per se, but are given a 20 minute period of "bumper cars on ice" - we really enjoyed. Call ahead for reservations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TWDG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ice Arena, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Yes... reservations are a good idea. Especially with the popularity of the bumper cars. Thank you for coming out to our facility and the good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bumper Cars on Ice????”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lots of Fun and a real value for the money! This was a lot of fun. I recommend booking reservations, as the times do fill up.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ice Arena, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Yep... on ICE! Thank you coming to play at our facility. We're thrilled to read you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howelsen Ice Arena also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Howelsen Ice Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing