We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow Tubing at Howelson is a Blast!”

Howelsen Hill Ski Area
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Howelsen Hill, Steamboat's best city park, has alpine, snowboarding, nordic skiing and ski jumping in the winter, and an alpine slide, hiking, biking, summer ski jumping, ball fields, tennis, and horseback riding in the summer. The Steamboat Pro Rodeo is at Howelsen Hill June through August on Friday and Saturday nights. Howelsen Hill is Colorado’s oldest continuously operated ski area, since 1915, and has the largest and most complete natural ski jumping complex in North America. Howelsen has been the training ground for more than 89 Olympians making over 151 Winter Olympic appearances, 15 members of the Colorado Ski Hall of Fame, and 6 members of the National Ski Hall of Fame. Howelsen Hill was recently acknowledged as a "Pioneer Ski Resort" by the International Skiing History Association and the Colorado Ski and Snowboard Museum and Hall of Fame.
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We didn't want to go tubing at first because we thought it would be a waste of money & time. Why go tubing, when you could go skiing, right? It wasn't. We had so much fun the first time we went, that we have made it a part of every trip we take to Steamboat. It only lasts an hour, but I have never laughed so hard in my life. We have taken friends and other family members ( even Meme and Baw Paw), and had the times of our lives. It is the only activity that everyone from toddler to grand parent can do together! It's worth the money and the time. But get there early and by your tickets in advance. I have been late before and only gotten to tube for 20 minutes, and I have had to wait until the following day in order to tube because I didn't reserve my tix in advance.

Thank mommydanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Hill Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

That's so nice to hear. We're happy to know that our facility was a place you could bring the whole family together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"alpine slide"
in 14 reviews
"magic carpet"
in 8 reviews
"winter carnival"
in 5 reviews
"ski area"
in 8 reviews
"teach kids"
in 2 reviews
"great town"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"lift tickets"
in 2 reviews
"core trail"
in 2 reviews
"howelson"
in 11 reviews
"jumping"
in 11 reviews
"runs"
in 17 reviews
"blast"
in 11 reviews
"poma"
in 2 reviews
"ride"
in 16 reviews
"fun"
in 29 reviews
"practicing"
in 4 reviews
Filter

60 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've never used the area for skiing, but I've been to the Steamboat Free Concert Series at the base and have seen Rusted Root, G Love, And many other amazing bands! I just rode a bunch of the trails up there this summer. Beautiful riding, great views, inter-twining trails made for 2 wonderful days of mountain biking!

Thank msharpe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Hill Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Our trails are quite extensive and we try to add new ones whenever we can. Definitely enough to make 2 days of riding a pure thrill. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Took the free local walking tour of the ski area/history. The regular person wasn't there but the sub seemed to know her stuff. It really wasn't a walking tour as described in the brochure. We walked from the lodge to the slope and back. Mostly standing.

1  Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Hill Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hard to believe that nordic ski jumping has become a year-round sport, but it has. Thank you for coming out to our facility and viewing the summer jumping hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Okay, our group is mostly 50+ adults - with one at 75+. Three of the 50+ still enjoy a thrill every now and then (the 75+ a little less so), and the slide looked like fun. It was. (The others took the chair lift to the top and enjoyed the views from the ride as well as at the top.) The slide was fast and just seemingly dangerous enough for us riders to get a thrill out of it. For $12 to ride the slide, or $6 to ride the lift up and back...couldn't beat the value. We enjoyed it, and the small kids (~10) we saw seemed to love it too. (Although, to be totally honest, one man's wife - neither in our group - was NOT happy that her husband had talked her into riding. But she could control her speed and took her time getting down.)

Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Hill Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

That's so great to hear. We love knowing that our alpine slide really is fun for ALL ages!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We went here to see what it was like. We have two teenage boys and they enjoyed it. It is kind of expensive for a slide ride. We had a coupon from the visitors center that cut $2 off of the price.

Most of the children there were around 8 to 12 years old and they all seemed to have a great time.

1  Thank Aquariuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Hill Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hearing that your teens enjoyed the alpine slide speaks volumes! Thank you for posting your feedback. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howelsen Hill Ski Area also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Howelsen Hill Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing