We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun to Bike along”

Yampa River Core Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yampa River Core Trail is a seven mile, non-motorized multi-use trail that follows the meandering Yampa River from Dougherty Road through downtown Steamboat Springs to Bear River Park. Groves of cottonwood trees, excellent fishing, scenic overlook benches, and lovely picnic spots make this trail a great place for a leisurely stroll or a commuter route through town. Additionally, there are many parks and playgrounds and more miles of trail that can be accessed off of the Core Trail.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Fun to Bike along”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice access along Yampa river smooth trail wide enough to be safe. Parking areas for off loading bikes. My wife biked while i fly fished. Another time we biked from across Wyndham to lunch downtown at Sweet Pea on the river.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    49
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best biking trail along the Yampa river in Steamboat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

There is at least two bicycle shops in which to rent bicycles and we used the Steamboat Ski and Bike shop on Lincoln. We rode up and down the bike trail until we felt that we'd gotten our money's worth, and it was a great experience. The botanical gardens along the Core Trail is a must see. With an ear wig (Joni Mitchell, Big Yellow Taxi) going on, I toured the gardens. "They put all the trees in a tree museum, and charged all the people a dollar and a half just to see um." This place is free (donations) so things are looking up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank motoguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burrton, Kansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great way to get into town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

for the athletic folks that are staying out on the mountain, this is a great access to get to downtown is you are walking or biking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank melbrnemtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rent bikes and go here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to bike or ride. We knew we wouldn't see as much walking due to our limitations so we biked it and stopped for lunch in between. Beautiful trail. A few washed out areas but still doable. Not too crowded and close to the river.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank allison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a scenic walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Sidewalk the whole way, along the river. Passed by the botanical gardens and walked through, which is beautiful and free. Goes on for miles, really enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yampa River Core Trail also viewed

 

Been to Yampa River Core Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing