We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day of golf”

Haymaker Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 233 acre, city-owned public golf course features at least four sets of tees per hole, playing from 5,059 to 7,308 yards. It has been described as a core golf course built for golfers. There are no surrounding developments, no distractions except for the broad vistas of the Yampa Valley and Mount Werner. The course offers good green sizes with 5 different cupping positions. It also has a substantial practice area - driving range, sand trap, chipping and putting green. Haymaker accommodates and challenges golfers of all ability levels from novice to professional. Club fitting, TrackMan swing analysis, lessons, clinics for all ages are available all summer long. Popular junior programs, men's and ladies play days.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great day of golf”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great course! We arrived a bit early and got a couple of complimentary baskets of balls. The staff was very friendly, the course and greens were great, lots of water supplied along the way and everything was exceptionally well kept. We will definitely look towards coming back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It is delightful to read your nice review. We are very proud of our staff and the course. It is our mission to be the best golf course we can be and love reading about your good experience. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Cross country ski? Lovely and easy place for beginners”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This is the first year Haymaker has opened for cross country skiing and they have a free shuttle from gondola square at 9:15 a.m and 12:15 p.m with a return shuttle about 3 hours later (but make sure to confirm your shuttle ride by calling 970-846-1055 because the shuttle does not run automatically but rather on a need be basis). The same family who runs the Steamboat Nordic Ski touring center also operates the course at Haymaker and the cost is the same: $18/day. The course at Haymaker is perfect for beginners. Nice tracks, flat and open terrain on the valley floor with beautiful views in every direction (whereas the Nordic Ski touring center is located on the side of the mountain and has lots of gentle hills). You can buy your $18 daily trail pass in advance through the main Steamboat Reservation system or buy a trail pass/lunch combo for $25. I bought the pass/lunch combo and I was allowed to choose anything off of the lunch menu and also a soft drink or tea or coffee. The family that operates the facility and everybody involved with the operation is great. Very friendly and helpful. So if you are just learning to cross country ski or if you want to get away from the crowds, head out to Haymaker. Lessons and rental equipment available.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelmutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What a perfect review, just what we are hoping for. Great experience with skiing, food and service. We are very proud of our staff and are happy to hear about it from our guests. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fun course”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

this course is a lot of fun and can as challenging as you want with the different tees. Played it once from the tips and that was enough. It's a link style course with a lot of interesting fairway undulations and tough greens. Friendly staff and great 19th hole.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishtheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are happy to hear from you. Haymaker offers six sets of tee positions for all levels of players, great you experienced the tips, an accomplishment for sure! We love to welcome you again in the near future, May is just around the corner for us golf-a-holics. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We loved the quaint sleight ride! Dinner was very good and we enjoyed ourselves very much. Everyone was super nice and helpful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond, we love hearing from our visitors. Indeed the sleigh rides are unique, quaint and followed by outstanding dinners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience all around!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked a stay and play golf vacation in Steamboat Springs through the Holiday Inn there. It was perfect! The Haymaker Golf Course was such an enjoyable experience that we played it twice. It's a beautifully maintained, links style course with mountain views and interesting, challenging holes. It's also a great course if you prefer walking to a cart.

The Steamboat Holiday Inn was exceptional - the accommodations as well as the service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dustyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Haymaker Golf Course, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We thank you for this wonderful review. We offer lodging packages with all hotels and love to hear that your stay with the Holiday Inn, which is the closest to us, was exceptional as well. The course pro Tom Taylor and his staff, as well as Amanda our restaurant manager, will be so pleased to read your review.
We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haymaker Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Haymaker Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing