We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the hill”
Review of Chalet Val d'Isere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Val d'Isere
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at Chalet Val D'Isere several times this summer. The home isn't very old but it's been completely renovated with top of the line features. Both rooms have private baths, are well furnished and very comfy. Cheri is a great host and cook, serving breakfasts such as stuffed pancakes, eggs Benedict and creamy omelet's with apple wood smoked bacon (yum). The meals are nicely presented and garnished with fresh fruit and toast. Cheri has all the books, maps and other resources you need to help you get the most out of your stay in Steamboat. The pool table is a nice feature if you have some down time. Relaxing in the hot tub after a long day of play is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chalet Val d'Isere for our anniversary. It was the perfect location, quiet, secluded and beautiful. Cheri is a wonderful innkeeper, she keeps to herself and gives you freedom to roam, but is quick with help when you can't figure out the TV or when your looking for a good place to eat in town. The moment I stepped in I felt welcome. All weekend long I had to continuously remind myself that I was not at home. It is a great testament to the overall experience. We are sure to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheri4744, Owner at Chalet Val d'Isere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you so much Emily! I'm glad you enjoyed your special weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a wonderful mini-vacation at this B&B. We were welcomed with fresh ice water and a basket full of fruit and goodies. Cheri was very welcoming and gave us a tour of her beautifully remodeled and renovated home. This place is spotless and very warm and welcoming. She had many books and ideas of things for us to do in town and shared the newspaper showing all the events happening. Breakfast was presented so lovely and tasted very good! If we go back to Steamboat, we will definitely be looking up this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRSP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheri4744, Owner at Chalet Val d'Isere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you all for including Chalet Val d'Isere in your travel plans, and for your kind words! Cheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in the Alpenglow room in early August.

Cheri was very accommodating, and understanding when we told her we wouldn't be able to have a 'real' breakfast the first morning-- we had to be at a trailhead at 8:00, meaning we had to leave at 6:30. Without missing a beat, she said she could make some 'hiker' food, which was good for taking in the car. very cool.

The next day, we had one of the best breakfasts I've had in a while, with some good coffee.

The place is extremely well kept, very organized and intuitively layed out.

I planned this trip to engage my (now) fiancee, and the chalet put no hamper on my plans-- it was a really great stay!

some cons: the shower is VERY small front-to back, and could easily be fixed with some smart plumbing and a door. Also, because the shower doesn't have a door, it doesn't hold heat well. Also, the DISH box has an obnoxious bright blue light that glares right at you as you try to sleep. when you turn it off, it turns right back on after 10 minutes. That problem was easily fixed with a strategically placed shirt, though. Finally, the house itself is very reverb-y. sound travels through very well, which made us wary to play pool at any time of day (we were there from 4:00PM-8:00-AM generally), and kept us using our "inside voices" much of the time.
In all, if I'm nitpicking the TV and the acoustics... you should be able to deduce this is a great place.

Room Tip: Alpenglow has a small shower for large people,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was here for a weekend several weeks ago, and enjoyed the wonderful environment. A beautiful home on the mountain, great views and company to go with it. It was great to leave all the stress of the city behind. Lovely accommodations, breakfast out on the patio in the sunshine, a very relaxing weekend. Enjoyed a tour going on in Steamboat Springs, had a gondola ride and cocktail hour watching the sunset from up top of the mtn. A lovely dinner in town, it was a great weekend. Very nice to have a quite, comfy room to come back to, relaxed in the hot tub to unwind and watch the stars before a peaceful nights rest away from everything. Plus I didn't have to wait in line for breakfast-bonus! Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COL-possibilities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Apres Ski Room and it was a wonderful experience. Cheri has built a warm environment with a cozy and classy feel. We took this opportunity to get engaged and Cheri even recommended a romantic dinner on the mountain. We will always remember the experience and look forward to more escapes to Steamboat. Ask her about the puff pancakes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
689 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victorian
The Victorian
#1 of 8 in Steamboat Springs
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Val d'Isere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Val d'Isere

Address: 2415 Val Disere Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-2059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £170 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Val d'Isere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Val d'Isere is the Inn on the Mountain. Built specifically for your comfort and enjoyment, this traditional mountain home is beautiful, as is the surrounding area. This will be your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chalet Val d'Isere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing