We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picked it for no reason but sure glad we did - excellent!”
Review of The Shack Cafe

The Shack Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Johnstown, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Picked it for no reason but sure glad we did - excellent!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stopped off downtown for a bite to eat as we were passing through Steamboat springs on our motorcycles and were pleasantly surprised to find this place was just the kind of place we enjoy eating in. There were obviously locals there who have been there many times! We had a very nice server with a wonderful sense of humor who seemed to enjoy working there - the food was served in a very reasonable timeframe HOT - and it really tasted good. The bathroom was very clean as was the whole place actually. I've already recommended it to some folks I overheard going to Steamboat and plan on stopping in there again next time I'm in town... You'll be glad you did too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BQmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    68
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The breakfast menu has all the favorites. If you're on the spicy side try the Spicy Huevos. A nice balance of all the ingredients - not a bunch of beans. The corned beef hash was nicely browned, not burnt. We watched to the French toast with fruit go by. The fruit was fresh, not the over sweet syrup with som fruit. It was a yummy way to start the day.

Helpful?
Thank Gayle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great breakfast right on the main street.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This cafe is only open for breakfast and lunch. We have had breakfast there three times in the ten days we have been in Steamboat. It is right in the middle of town with outside seating area. Great breakfasts and fast service. Lots of homemade items including great pies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillRodman711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice quick meal!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch. We had the grilled cheese and onion rings (thinner as opposed to thick ones) and then the grilled chicken sandwich with coleslaw. It's a nice little atmosphere. Food came out quick and hot. We like this kind of place so we were very happy.
Breakfast is served all day and lunch from 11am-2pm.

They have a good menu with variety, soup, chili, salads, sandwiches, chicken fingers etc.

Good American fare.
Casual and kid friendly. They have a kids menu and serve beer.

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Went in on a Sunday for a late breakfast. I ordered eggs benedict. The ham was lunch meat out of a package from the grocery store. Other than that it was pretty good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulsadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shack Cafe also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to The Shack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing