We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but very touristy”
Review of F.M. Light & Sons

F.M. Light & Sons
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: F.M. Light & Sons is Steamboat Springs’ historic clothing store and special place where customers enjoy a step back into the old west while browsing among many original fixtures from one hundred years ago. Founded in 1905 by Francis Marion Light (who preferred to be called Frank), the store is still family owned and operated by the fifth generation.The year 2005 marked the 100th anniversary of the F.M. Light & Sons store. A store still in the family after five generations and built on a philosophy of providing quality merchandise and fair prices. Stepping into F.M. Light and Sons provides you with a true western experience. We carry authentic western wear such as cowboy boots, hats, shirts and jeans. Brands:Old Gringo, Dan Post, Corral, Lucchese, Ariat, Justin, Tony Lama, Stetson, O'Farrell, Bailey, Resistol, Pendleton, Royal Robbins, Ryan Michael, Outback Trading Company, Scully, Wahmaker, Cinch, Cruel Girl, Levi, Wrangler, Woolrich, Rockmount, Southern Thread, Barnfly, George Strait, Carhartt, and much more.Stop by and say hello to the fifth generation owners, Chris and Lindsay!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun but very touristy”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After seeing the signs for miles we were excited to go but it was pretty expensive and too glitzy for what we were looking for so went to Sheplers in Denver instead which really is cowboy heaven!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chxzanadue, Guest Relations Manager at F.M. Light & Sons, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate hearing from our visitors. We're sorry you found our store to be too glitzy and expensive. We strive to provide a good shopping experienced with varied products for all of our customers. We have a lot of local cowboys who shop at our store and find it perfect for their needs. We're sorry you didn't find what you were looking for, but we hope you enjoyed your time in Steamboat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outfitting”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This historic store was a one stop shopping excursion for boots, hats and Western wear - the variety of boots is just outstanding

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scozul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chxzanadue, Webmaster at F.M. Light & Sons, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed visiting our store. We hope you get to visit again soon! It's visitors like you that make Steamboat what it is. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun shop.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

You know as you're driving to Steamboat Springs that you'll probably have to stop at this store, since you pass seemingly endless yellow signs telling you how good they are! It's a fun western-style shop with great customer service. Items are certainly not cheap, but I was excited to have my new cowgirl belt...until I got home and it said "Made in China" on the leather.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blasia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chxzanadue, Webmaster at F.M. Light & Sons, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate hearing feedback from customers. We're sorry you're disappointed that your new belt was made in China. We work hard to provide products that are made in the USA (we believe strongly in keeping industry here), but unfortunately, finding such items is difficult. Especially if we want to keep our prices low for our customers. Regardless, we have been able to carry a few brands that make items here in the United States. We agree that it is important to find products that are made here - your feedback motivates us to find more and more items made here in the US!

Again, thank you so very much for your review - we're glad you experienced good customer service and enjoyed our store!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great service!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is the place to shop when visiting Steamboat! The service is impeccable !Two of us bought cowboy boots and they will do anything to help them fit you correctly. I would highly recommend going here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chxzanadue, Online Management at F.M. Light & Sons, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed visiting Steamboat and our store. Also, we are very please to hear you received good service - we love cowboy boots and we're glad you found a pair!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience the true West in style”
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Your visit to Steamboat Springs CO isn't over till you shop at FM Light & Sons for real clothes for the real West. I found authentic western labels like Stetson hats, Old Gringo boots, and lots of brands the local ranchers live & workthe in. Prices are a bit higher because of Steamboat's rather distant mountain location, but well worth it for high quality and fabulous styles and selection. The store has been in town for over 100 years & is still 5th generation family owned & operated. Their knowledgeable sales staff help you find just the right fit & style for you. I love my new boots! I never thought western boots were so comfy! Its a step back in time to shop in a truly western store that hasn't changed much since 1905.

Helpful?
Thank Celeb614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chxzanadue, Web Manager at F.M. Light & Sons, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you so very much for your great review! We greatly appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our store. We work very hard to provide our customers with an authentic western experience and great customer service each time they visit, so it is wonderful to hear feedback. We're so happy you enjoyed both Steamboat and F.M. Light and Sons, and we hope you can visit again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed F.M. Light & Sons also viewed

 

Been to F.M. Light & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing