We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurum Food & Wine

Aurum Food & Wine
Reserve with OpenTable
Aurum Food & Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A New Element in Dining Featuring seasonal new American cuisine, this refined yet relaxed, space features bar, dining room and spacious deck seating. Nestled along the Yampa River, this watershed has historically provided the lifeline for farming and ranching in the Yampa Valley. We are proud to build upon this rich heritage. Coming May 2014
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Brunch with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Quality service paired perfectly with a lovely brunch in the outdoor dining space. I appreciated the attentive service from all staff I encountered. What a treat to experiment with the bartender's skills on a delicious muddled mock-tail. Thanks for honoring my special request, and to owner Phil for making the rounds and personally meeting and greeting all guests. I look forward to recommending to others.

Helpful?
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your support of Aurum Food & Wine, we greatly appreciate you! We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. Anytime you allow our bartenders to "create" it's an exciting opportunity for both of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    61
    30
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A group of 11 had made a reservation recently for dinner so we could enjoy their great outdoor patio and dining area and just chill for a few hours. Unfortunately our experience was not very good. Our server was either new to the business or to this restaurant because he had no idea what was on the menu and had no idea on how to properly serve a table of 11 diners, so our service was terrible. Two appetizers and two entree's were entirely forgotten from the order. We were never asked if we would like another drink and bread was only brought to the table after asking.

As for the food the gazpacho was a very odd mixture with nuts and some cheese and I don't think anyone that ordered it finished it. They offer a great sounding lamb, sausage burger that three of us had. It ends at " great sounding" it was the oddest tasting burger I have ever had and the three of us did not eat them.

One diner had the Filet and indicated it was very good and there were some good reviews on the Mussels as well but overall the food was a Big Disappointment!! The waiter did comp one burger and the late arriving items but the manager never came to the table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Good Morning Tim,

Let me begin by thanking you for your honest feedback as we sincerely appreciate hearing both positive and negative feedback as we strive to better ourselves every day we open the doors.

In response to your review, I would like to apologize as it is never our goal to disappoint, and I feel we rarely do. In this circumstance we were slightly understaffed for the day due to a last minute sick employee. I had to make a quick adjustment and had our lead bartender wait on your table, and admittedly he was a bit rusty with that role. However, I do distinctly remember personally checking on your table on various occasions including proving you with wine service, taking drink orders, and I myself apologized for the missed crab cakes and told you that I would be taking care of those items as there was no excuse for the delay.

Further, "odd" does not help us to understand what exactly we can improve about our menu items as you described both the soup and the burger as "odd".

In conclusion, we did not require you to pay for any of the items you did not enjoy, or that were late arriving to your guests. I, the owner, checked on your table on various occasions and never got the impression you were dissatisfied with your experience. In the future, please make your feelings known in person so that I may remedy the situation in person rather than having to respond to your online review.

We thank you again for your feedback and would be happy to provide you with a gift card to try our restaurant again as I assure you we would like to give you the experience that we aim for each day, with each table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have eaten at Aurum about 3 times since opening and went 1 more time just for cocktails. Each experience was great with delicious food and great service! Their deck overlooks the river and has nice umbrella feature should it get nice and sunny. Keep it up!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnKColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and support of Aurum Food & Wine, we greatly appreciate you! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Illinois
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Aurum is over the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Formerly Sweetwater Grill. My daughter booked Sweetwater for her wedding dinner last year and they changed ownership a few months back. Aurum honored the reservation and the pricing.
Great bar with a great choice of whiskeys, scotches and wine. Meal for 19 people was great. Probably not a better view of the river on Yampa Street. the upstairs deck is very nice and the lower patio/deck with fireplaces were great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clareinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed our private dining room and honored that you chose to let us be a part of your special occasion. Can't thank you enough and congratulations again! Hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Our Table had Chicken and Waffles. So Good! One had the burger and fries, again very good . Our First time. We will definently be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reginaintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I wanted to take a moment to personally thank you for the kind words and support of Aurum Food & Wine. We are trying to take each day to become the best restaurant that we can be and we are sincerely glad you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Oh, and we will be sure to pass along the compliments to our staff as they make the business who we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurum Food & Wine also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Aurum Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing