We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right place, right time”
Review of The Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Shellman Bluff
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Right place, right time”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We just spend 2 nights at the Ptarmigan Inn, and it was an enjoyable experience. In between summer crowds and ski season, we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Staff was super helpful with suggesting activities and great restaurants. Room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom was clean, but on the small side. we had a small balcony with apsen and fir trees right outside...what a wonderful treat to open the door to bring in the cool evening air. yes, the inn is a bit dated, but situated at the base of Mt Werner, access was great to the plaza area. sorry we missed the gondola - we were there during the middle of the week. The rates were great and we would DEFINATELY stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluffLife55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    60
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
44
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Other reviewers tagged it - stuck in the 70's, but who cares? Rates are reasonable, the place is clean and it doesn't smell and the staff is super friendly. Our room looked out over the gondola and we had a window that opened for evening cool air in the summer. One complaint - towels could be updated. The central location at the base of the mountain was a real plus for us - you can walk anywhere for good food and summer activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klcveep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

It was a little hard to find since they had the road tore up and it didn't have any signs in where to go or how to get to the hotel. But once we found it. The hotel was ok, staff was nice. It was pretty out dated. My husband and I laughed hard at the guest computers they had in the lobby. They had to be from the 80's, with new towers, tv and VHS in the room was interesting because who even has VHS any more and the tvs are very old. Still we had a nice stay there, and would probably come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megs4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked this hotel for a late Spring skiing vacation. The day we arrived was in the mid 70's and we were already feeling down about our chances of getting any good snow. The initial appearance of the Inn did not lift our spirits. It looks more than a bit dated. After checking in we had trouble with our door lock. While maintenance immediately began trying to fix the door lock, we left to run errands. They were unable to fix the lock and we were told that we would need to change to a different room. We had already unpacked and the staff were very apologetic. They offered us a room upgrade and showed us our options before helping us move our luggage to our new room. We ended up in a King room with a loft containing 2 twin beds. Although the weather did not cooperate, and the snow conditions were atrocious, we had a very enjoyable stay nonetheless. That's due mostly to the fine staff at the Ptarmigan Inn. Once we acclimated to the older decor and the sparse amenities we really came to appreciate the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff and the superb location. Also, the wifi was fast and free. Two features that we really appreciated were the on site equipment rental just steps from the front desk as well as the complimentary equipment storage just inside the door from the slopes. We would absolutely stay here on a future visit.

Room Tip: If you think you'll be spending anytime at all in the hotel spring for an upgrade. The cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Howtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Ptarmigan Inn, or P-tarm in the local vernacular, is in a wonderful location on the slopes of Steamboat. It's a very short ski down to the gondola, and you can ski right back to the door at the end of the day. The hotel itself is fine, but the furnishing are rather dated; tube tvs and vhs videoplayers in the rooms, for example. The free wifi service was reasonably quick at 2 to 4 MB per second, but it seemed like they rebooted the server on a fairly regular basis, briefly interrupting the internet connection every hour or so.
The restaurant in the hotel (sorry, can't remember the name) was nothing special, but not offensive.
The hot tub and swimming pool were more than adequate; unfortunately, they are not on the slope side of the building, so you can't relax in the hot tub at the end of the day and watch all the tired skiers on their last runs.
One downside of the location: The ski school for small children is located just outside the hotel, and when we were there they groomed the snow in that area every morning between 4 and 6 am. If you are a light sleeper in a slope-side room, the noise of the equipment is likely to wake you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seniomsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This inn and hotel has been in business for a long time. Its slopeside, a short slide to the gondola. I dont like big , corporate style hotels in ski areas . Reminds me of Manhattan . The Ptarmigan is small, confortable and very friendly. Buffet breakfast is great, lunch and dinner are also available and good. The bar is a hangout for the " Over the hill gang " and other locals. There is a pool, hot tub and ski shop on premise. Hanging out in the lobby at night was fun but we got a bit loud and were quieted down a few times because there are rooms facing the lobby. Just a bunch of "adults " out of control. There's been talk of tearing it down for a big modern hotel so who knows how long it will exist.

Room Tip: The hotel is built in levels corresponding to the slope of the hill. If you have a room facing the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Amazing value. True ski in, ski out. Walk to fine dining, coffee shops, bars.. On-site restaurant is friendly, convenient, and fast. Great ski valet service. Ski right down to gondola in morning, ski right back to your door in the afternoon and hand your skis off. Decorating is dated. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboat Springs Suites
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboa...
#9 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ptarmigan Inn

Property: The Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9028
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ptarmigan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Steamboat hotel with ski-in, ski-out access. The Ptarmigan Inn is the premier Steamboat lodging option for your Steamboat ski vacation, offering Steamboat’s only affordable ski-in ski-out access to the Steamboat Ski Resort. Start your Steamboat vacation planning now by letting us help you with all your needs while you’re here in Steamboat Springs. Check room availability and book now or contact a Steamboat lodging concierge. You’ll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ptarmigan Hotel Steamboat Springs
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel
Best Western Steamboat Springs
Ptarmigan Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing