We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Steamboat Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We moved to The Steamboat Hotel after a terrible time at a different hotel. I won't mention the name but it starts with a "Q". Upon our arrival, the girl at the front desk was a real people person. She was very welcoming. They accepted our dogs with only a $15.00 pet fee. The room was good sized with a refridgerator and microwave. It was very clean and comfortable. Much nicer then the hotel we checked out of and the staff was much friendlier and the rate was the same. We requested an extra blanket and it was promptly delivered to our room. The remote was missing and again a new one was promptly given to us. The next morning they had coffee in the lobby. No free breakfast but for the price that was ok. They did sell breakfast burritos for only $1.00. We went to Johnny B's for breakfast, it was so good. The morning desk clerk was just as friendly as the lady that checked us in. I recomend this hotel over any other budget hotel in Steamboat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnutt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

This doesn't look like your typical hotel. Instead it resembles a ski lodge which it probably is in the winter. The interesting architecture certainly lends a somewhat unusual flavor to the hotel. The room was spacious and clean and the one I had came with a nice view of the surrounding area. There is also a small swimming pool in the front and about 1/2 mile behind the hotel is a creek.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank brev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was a fairly nice place. The only downsides were: no breakfast and it was 2 1/2 miles out of town. The price was good--I booked it through hotels.com for $79/night, which is what it advertised anyway. Other motels in town were more expensive but more centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duaneoftheozarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked at this hotel (through Travelocity) for a marathon, but got injured and could not compete. Be aware that there is a 2 day concellation policy and they will not budge. I had only called the hotel to inquire if there was a chance that I could cancel but I DID not cancel. However, they went ahead and cancelled my reservation. When I went to check in, they informed me that the reservation had been cancelled (by them). The staff was adamant that I had cancelled and showed no inclination to remediate the situation. After a 25 minute call to Travelocity (my call) I was finally allowed to check in to the hotel. There is no breakfast of any sort and for $109 a night, I thought this was rather ridiculous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you looking for a "no-frills" hotel this is it. Rooms are clean, but fairly basic.
It is a little ways out of the town, but not far if you have a car. It's closer to the ski resort if that's why you are there!
Quiet room, friendly staff and it was well-maintained.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced towards back parking lot rather than the highway and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penelopewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is the kind of place that gets the job done, when that's all you need. Rooms are basic, but clean. No closet, and amenities are few (toiletries, etc.). Didn't bother with breakfast, so can't comment on that. But it's a great deal pretty much all the time compared to other options in the area- several of the branded competitors are a good bit more, for essentially the same room and service. Especially when considering it's pet-friendly, hard to beat the price. You get what you pay for, but that's just fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skidud313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights so I could be close to the mountain to get some awesome snowboarding in this season. You're allowed to bring your dogs for $15/pet/night. I had 2 dogs with me so that was super convenient. The lobby is always stocked with coffee, tea, and energy bars which was great, and all the people working at the desk were really nice and helpful. There's a nice hot tub which is so relaxing after a day of skiing. Although the amenities are pretty basic, it's a great rate for a one star hotel and they really do take care of this place. I will definitely stay here again if I make it up to Steamboat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#19 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
#11 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Hotel

Address: 3195 S Lincoln St, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1768
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £62 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Steamboat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Steamboat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Steamboat Springs
Super Eight Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Super Eight
Steamboat Springs Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing