We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home for Music Fest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Phoenix at Steamboat
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home for Music Fest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at Phoenix with five other gal pals when we were in Steamboat for an annual music festival. Garage parking and entry to the basement of the condo with additional covered parking available.The condo was perfect with two bedrooms (1 queen and 2 twin beds) and a sleep sofa upstairs in the living room with a fire place and fantastic kitchen! Each bedroom had a bathroom and another bathroom upstairs making it a perfect set up for six women! The condos are within walking distance of the Gondola at the base. We enjoyed the two hot tubs that were available as well. Staff was excellent in helping us resolve parking situations when people were parked in front of our garage. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at The Phoenix at Steamboat, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Erica,
Thank you for posting such a nice review! We're pleased you had a great stay, and I love that you had enough room for 6 women... we all know how that can be! We're very pleased to host Music Fest year after year, it brings a great crowd to our wonderful mountain town. We love our close proximity to the base area, and of course there is the shuttle whenever anyone doesn't want to walk over. Parking can always be an issue in a small town and thank you for metnioning the staff and their assistance. We can certainly get crowded, but somehow we all pull together ad make sure there is room enough for everyone!
Please let us know when you'd like to come back and we will make sure to take good care of you and your friends!

Take care,
Amy Weeks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    21
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
323 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My 3 friends and I stayed in a 4 bedroom condo during our recent 3 day ski trip to Steamboat. The condo could have accommodated more ski buddies as it had a king, a queen, 2 doubles. and a single with bunk beds. The condo was well kept, clean and contained all the amenities of home. It is located within walking distance of the gondola, the restaurants/bars at the base of the hill and a small grocery store. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Moondoggie317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at The Phoenix at Steamboat, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate the feedback. We're very pleased you had a nice time and that we were able to comfortably accommodate your party. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon! We love to have repeat guests become a part of our Phoenix family!

Take care,
Amy Weeks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Spacious, clean condo with beds for 4 people (two bedrooms ) and private bath!! Pull out couch gives you room for 2 more!! Loved the bi-level design, kitchen was fully equipped for cooking and connected living room was just right with ample seating. Great pool area for kids although pool not very large, including common area for grilling and hot tub. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomfromColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at The Phoenix at Steamboat, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello there! Thank you for the lovely review. We really like the layout of the condos, and I think you're right on about the open feeling between the kitchen and the living room. We're pleased you'll be back, please call anytime and we'll be glad to take care of all your travel needs!

Take care,
Amy Weeks
General Manager
The Phoenix At Steamboat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I coach a U18 boys soccer team and we just visited Steamboat Springs for their annual Summer tournament. We rented 2 - 3 bedroom units for 3 nights for the 14 players and 3 adults. My team had the best time at the pool and the recreation room playing pool and just relaxing after the matches each day. They met many new players from all over the country as there were many soccer teams that were there for the tournament staying in the same complex. The boys were impressed with the condos and the saving we were able to accomplish by cooking large meals for the team each day! All the cooking utensils we needed were there and we were lazy and used paper and plastic to save time for other activities in and around Steamboat. The units are middle of the road in luxury but very nice and comfortable.
We will definitely look this way again as I found it to best suit the size of the team for the price and the location on the mountain.

Room Tip: I had 216 and its a third floor hike for those of you that aren't accustomed to the altitude. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at The Phoenix at Steamboat, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hello!
Thank you for posting a review, we love for our guests to take some time and let us know their impression! It sounds like you had a great time and really got full use of our amenities. There have been many upgrades the past few years, most recently the pool furnishings. And I couldn't agree more, full kitchens make a difference when traveling with a lot of people. So nice to pop in and grab a quick meal while you're taking in all that Steamboat has to offer! We hope you'll be back next again and again and we'll tell the girls' teams to be on the lookout :)

Amy Weeks
General Manager
The Phoenix At Steamboat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I along with 11 other friends stayed here for a 5 day ski trip and I probably couldn't be any happier. I booked two 3 bedroom 3 bath condos for our group through the Steamboat Resort website (along with a bunch of other things in a package so i'm not exactly sure what the price for the rooms were). At checked in I was informed that we had two 4 bedrooms 4 bath condos that each had a garage. So that started out the trip with a bang. (The only negative comment I can make about the place is the woman who checked us in gave us the wrong room number twice and didn't give us a garage code for one of the units) When we walked into the condo i was blow away. I'm only 27 and I've only been on 6 or 7 ski trips and this was by far the nicest place i've ever stayed. The condo had a full kitchen, large den area, a large dining room table that sat 8 and a bar with 4 stools. We could have fit all of our group in the same room for dinner easily. The den had a 42' flatscreen. The unit was two stories with a king and queen upstairs and 2 twin beds in each downstairs room. All the rooms had bathrooms attached except one. There were also 3 balconies in the unit. There are some pictures of the bathrooms that have already been posted and they are accurate. The bathrooms are small. The two upstairs had a shower and toilet in the bathroom and the sink was in the bedroom in it's on area. This actually worked out great for us because it was no issue for my wife or some of the other girls in other rooms to get ready at the sink while you were in the shower. So i thought it worked out great. Water pressure was great and we had tons of hot water. So as far as the unit I couldn't have been happier. (We had units 220 & 224)

The property has two hot tubs and a pool that were located above the front desk area. This is very close to all the units. The hot tubs are just like the pictures show. They are large enough to have 12 people in them easily. Nothing special about the pool. One thing i did really like is the front desk would give you "pool towels" and time you wanted and as many as you wanted. So we would walk over to the pool pickup fresh towels and just either drop them off as we left of the next time we went to the hot tub.

The other thing that really set this place apart was the complementary shuttle. I've stayed at other places with a shuttle but they are usually more hassle than they are worth. This one was amazing. It ran back and forth to the resort every month none stop. We never waited. Most mornings I would walk out first and see the driver. I'd let him know the rest of the group would be ready in a few minutes and he would come right back to pick us up. We took the shuttle to dinner every night. I found the drivers super helpful on directions and advice on where to go. If we didn't stay out after dinner the shuttle would come back and pick us up.

As far as distance to the ski area it is maybe a 8 minute walk. We normally took the shuttle over in the morning just out of convenience (and because we had several girls with us) and walked home in the afternoon. Here is a huge tip we learned the second day. Depending on the amount of snow this place can almost become as "ski-in" location. On your last run down the mountain ski all the way to the left coming down to the base. If there is enough snow as there was on our trip you can ski all the way to the road and the condo is across the street. I know that won't apply to everyone but it was super nice to only have to walk 20 feet to your condo at the end of the day.

Overall i couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at The Phoenix at Steamboat, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi Luke,

What a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this, we really appreciate your feedback. I apologize you were given the wrong room at first, but it sounds like you got squared away and had a great time. Steamboat is such a wonderful town, we hope we'll see you again in the future!

Amy Weeks
General Manager
The Phoenix at Steamboat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our ski club stayed in three 4 bedroom, 4 bath Phoenix condos over Presidents weekend for 5 nights. All condos were nicely decorated, clean and spacious. Kitchen was well equipped. Only a short walk to the gondola,restaurants and stores in the Village area. We were able to ski-in to just across the street and then short walk to our unit. Excellent shuttle service to lifts (if you were too lazy to walk) or to town - almost like having our own chauffeur. Reception was quick to respond to requests. Nice touch was the garage downstairs where we could keep our skis. Two hots tubs were nice for apres ski soaking although too many kids until about 5 p.m. and they are the shallow kind - we like the deeper tubs. Since we were a large group, we were pleased they let us use their reception room for our parties. They even hosted a welcome reception for us. Only annoying thing was being unable to adjust the heats in the units since there was only one thermostat to control the whole condo. When we go back to Steamboat, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiinghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at The Phoenix at Steamboat, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for taking some time to post a review, we're so pleased you had a nice time. The Phoenix is a great place for groups and ski clubs and we are host to many every year. The clubhouse was completely renovated last summer, so it has definitely been a draw for larger groups to be able to gather and spend time together. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Amy Weeks
General Manager
The Phoenix at Steamboat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked room #130, a two bedroom, 3 bathroom unit. Our first impression was that the unit was dated. The blinds were dysfunctional, coffee maker had filters that were the wrong type, kitchen table lost its varnish down to bare wood, the trash can was too big for the trash bag, and the bathrooms in the bedroom were very small. Counter tops were tile (not awful) and of the 2 dvd players I couldn't get either one to work. The thing that caused me to give this rating, is the condtion of the bed and the linens in both bedrooms. Our bed must have been at least 20 years old and sagged in the midddle. My wife and I spent the whole first night tossing and turning until she finally couldnt take it anymore and slept on the couch for the next three nights (not the romantic getaway we were hoping for)! The other couple had the opposite problem, there was a big hump in the middle of their bed. The linens were old and frayed. If the owner of this unit really did anything to update this property from an interior standpoint, I would have given it a very good rating. The proximity to the gondola was fantastic, just accross the street and through a driveway. The exterior of the building was recently refinished and looked great. The clubhouse with a pool and 2 hotubs was very nice as well as the excerise room. One of the best amentities was the shuttle system. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes, and drivers were super friendly. The unit also had a heated garage to leave skis, poles and boots. The room was clean. The Skiing was fantastic, just a little tired from poor sleep.
We did complain about the conditions of the unit and the I guess the general manager offered to give us another unit, but it didn't look that much better and we were already unpacked, and had unloaded groceries, so we decided to stay. There was an ajoining room 130A and asked the condesending general manage to open it for the bed. She finally agreed but would charge us $80 more a night. Finally the last night she let us sleep in it for free.

PROS: Proximity to gondola, shuttle service, heated garage and clubhouse with hot tub and pool!
CONS: Dated kitchen, awful beds and linnens, tiny bathrooms!

Bottom Line: Wait for interior upgrades or another unit that might be better!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomaspiorkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy W, General Manager at The Phoenix at Steamboat, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi Thomas,
I'm so sorry you weren't pleased with your condo during your stay at The Phoenix. I wish we could have done more to accommodate you. I have spoken with the owner of the condo and she will be making necessary upgrades this summer to the bedding, so we're very pleased about that.
Last fall we instituted an online booking system, so guests can see the condo they are booking. So far we've seen an increase in those bookings and it helps to alleviate any concerns about decor upon arrival.
I sure hope you'll give us another chance in the future and if you'd like to call directly I will be happy to personally book your condo next time.

Take care,
Amy Weeks
General Manager
The Phoenix at Steamboat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Terraces at EagleRidge
Terraces at EagleRidge
#57 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
#54 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#20 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranch at Steamboat
The Ranch at Steamboat
#7 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Condominiums
The West Condominiums
#25 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rockies Condominiums
The Rockies Condominiums
#59 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix at Steamboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix at Steamboat

Property: The Phoenix at Steamboat
Address: 2315 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Phoenix at Steamboat 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix at Steamboat is located just a block away from the ski area on Apres Ski Way. These Steamboat Springs condominiums are beautifully furnished and offer floor plans from spacious four bedroom layouts to smaller, elegant two bedroom condominiums. The clubhouse at The Phoenix even features a large screen movie theater. Considered one of Steamboat Colorado´s finest locations for families, ski clubs/groups, reunions or business retreats. The Phoenix is close to all that the Steamboat Ski Area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenix at Steamboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenix At Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing