We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Ski Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The West Condominiums
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Ideal Ski Condo”
Reviewed 16 February 2008

I've traveled to many ski desitnations and stayed at many ski condos. If you're going to ski Steamboat and you're willing to consider properties that are not ski-in/ski-out, The West provides a great value. Clean, comfortable, well-appointed, great service, The West delivers all the above. The walk to the gondola is no more than 250 - 300 yards, or you can opt to ride the free shuttle that comes through about every 20-minutes (it's a 2-minute ride to the gondola drop-off and then you'll still walk about 50 yards).

I traveled with my fiance and another couple. We stayed 3 nights and dined in for all our meals. The kitchen had everything we needed and the grocery store (City Market) is just a 5-minute drive away. I think you can take the free shuttle to the grocery store too but we rented a car (The West has ample parking). Huge bonus -- two nice new bbq grills located by the pool area. I grilled out each night, but if you're planning to do this be prepared to dig the grill out of the snow (but then that's a good thing, right?). The front desk clerk told me he'd never seen anyone grill out in mid-winter, but I do it all the time in Chicago!!

There's a heated pool and two nice hot tubs with men's and women's changing rooms just steps away, all very clean and convenient.

Our condo unit was a 2-BR/2-Bath split-level with bedrooms downstairs and the kitchen/dining/living area upstairs. The only drawback we noted was that both bathrooms were downstairs rather than one up/one down.

This was my 4th trip to ski Steamboat and the first time I've stayed at The West. I am sure I'll return to ski Steamboat again and when I do from now on I'll be staying at The West.

Enjoy the skiing and enjoy The West.

  • Liked — Great views of the mountain
  • Disliked — Denied our request for a late check out
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SkiLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    31
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

I stayed here while attending a business meeting that was held at the Sheraton. The location was perfect, just across the street from the Sheraton (also next door to the Grand), and the price was much less, especially considering that I had a full kitchen and living room in addition to private sleeping room and bathroom. I shared a 2-BR, 2-BA unit with another colleague for about the same as one room in the hotel for both of us would have cost.

Units are individually owned vacation condos so interior decor and freshness may vary, but the unit I had was fresh, immaculate and tastefully decorated. All furnishings were first rate and exceeded any wishes or expectations I had.

Office staff was friendly and very helpful.

While I am myself not a skier, and it was August during my stay, the location was ideal for skiing, with a short access path directly to the ski area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing - I was entirely satisfied in all aspects.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlanLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

Three friends and I stayed in a 2-bedroom condo at The West, for one week. The staff is EXCELLENT - Carla, Aaron, Bud, Lloyd, all went out of their way to make us comfortable, answer questions, provide suggestions and generally make our stay wonderful. It's an older property, and not particulary beautiful, and units may be owned by individuals, which is why your unit may not look like the ones pictured on the website. It is located next to the Steamboat Grande Hotel and across the street from the condo transportation center - where you can catch a shuttle or the (free) bus, and the Gondola plaza, so there are shops and restaurants available if you don't want to cook.

The Office houses a nice great room where guests and visitors can gather and watch TV, movies or play games; use the computer (there is only one but, it's free to use); or sit in the 2 hot tubs (there is also a heated pool outside). They also offer a list of movies to borrow, and as stated have coffee, tea, cocoa and cider available all day, as well as doughnuts and fruit. There is also a free shuttle, leaving every half-hour, that will take guests from any of the Steamboat Resorts properties to the grocery stores, in town or several stops in between. Taxis are not plentiful so plan your trips accordingly.

The condo itself was okay. It was clean and maintained daily by the cleaning crew, who brought new towels, took out garbage, replenished toiletries, made beds, etc. There was also a bottle of wine to welcome us. Having the bedrooms upstairs was great for entertaining guests without disturbing the mates. The condos have VCR/DVD/CD stereos and each bedroom had a TV. Also, all that we needed in terms of equipment, cookware, plates, utencils, etc. was there, If you plan on cooking, remember to bring your spices and enjoy!

  • Liked — The fireplace, view and location.
  • Disliked — The creaky floors.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank platynum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2007

We stayed at the West Jan 13-17, 2007 and loved it.
2 of us and our 4 yr old had a 1 bedroom, with sofa sleeper.
The people at the West were above and beyond our expectations.
Condo was very clean and walking distance to the slopes and great amenities. Will stay at the West on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank txtvldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

We stayed in a studio at the West 3/06 and liked it so much we were back 7/06 and stayed in a one bedroom. Although the studio unit is on the small side (400 sq ft) it was plenty of room for two. The one bedroom we were in was spacious and wonderful. The entire condo #3225 had slate floors, granite slab counters, a beautiful fireplace and view and a large balcony. The condo was immaculate, and the location great. In the winter there are free coffee and donuts and USA today in the lobby, and in the summer they offered bottled water and a snack upon check in. The bath was stocked with Aveda products and there were robes in the room to use for the pool and hot tub. We would definitely stay at the West again.

  • Liked — location, the interior was so clean and looked brand new
  • Disliked — business services
  • Tips/Secrets — all condos are different, some are larger than others and some are newer
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nicholasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
#54 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#17 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#13 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#18 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timber Run Condominiums
Timber Run Condominiums
#21 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Inn Condominiums
Ski Inn Condominiums
#29 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Condominiums

Property: The West Condominiums
Address: 2160 Mount Werner Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The West Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop its own private hillside, The West Condominiums offer spectacular views of the Steamboat Ski Area and the Yampa Valley, along with a completely convenient location and moderate pricing. A recent addition to Mountain Resorts' extensive inventory of Steamboat vacation rentals, this popular Steamboat lodging complex provides guests with a mountaintop retreat located directly above Steamboat's mountain village. The West resort property offers a clubhouse with onsite check-in and staff, as well as an outdoor heated pool with two covered hot tubs. A gas fireplace in every condo sets the tone for a relaxing evening after an exhilarating day of reveling in Steamboat's legendary powder. The four lodging buildings, as well as the clubhouse, all are easily accessible from the central parking lot and are only some 200 yards from the mountain village and Steamboat Gondola. Whether you're enjoying The West as a winter or summer getaway, a short stroll down the West-to-Village access path leads you directly to the gondola and Christie Express lift, Steamboat Snow School, Kids Vacation Center, and the shops and restaurants at the Steamboat base area. Complimentary on-call shuttle service is provided by Mountain Resorts during the winter months for easy access to the grocery store and downtown Steamboat Springs. During summer, enjoy scenic views from the pool and outdoor grill area, or stroll to the Steamboat Ski Area promenade, where you can cool your feet in the refreshing Rocky Mountain stream that flows through the base area. Summer activities and events such as free concerts and art exhibits further enhance Steamboat's splendid summertime surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The West Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing