We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The West Condominiums
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great value for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in unit 3304, a ground floor unit with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths looking out over the valley. It was a split level design with bedrooms upstairs. There was a patio outside as well. Overall I was very impressed with the value, location, and service. The front desk workers were very helpful with answering our questions and calling the shuttle service. They even called us after we arrived at the unit, to be sure it was to our satisfaction. They also offered free movie and board game "rentals." You definitely do not need a car here, given the free shuttles and buses everywhere in town. We walked to and from the gondola area with 4 and 6 year olds every day (about 5-10 minutes). The pool area is great for kids- 4-5 feet depth max and the water is warm enough in the winter. There are two warm whirlpools as well. There are excellent free donuts in the lobby every day. The unit itself has been recently remodeled, and I had no complaints there. Fully stocked granite kitchen, flat screen TV and DVD player in living area, gas fireplace, and completely remodeled baths with Aveda toiletries. There was a free bottle of wine on arrival, and they offered robes for all four of us (kids' sizes included) to wear to the pool. Wi Fi was a bit weak at times though. There was a ski locker there but we kept our skis at the base to make the walk easier. This resort has a great location- it is next to the Grand, and the hillside walkway is across the street from 1 steamboat place and the gondola village. The price was much less than what we would have paid at those other resorts, and we still had such a great location and unit. The other people staying here were mostly families with children- a friendly crowd. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Wow, we greatly appreciate your fabulous review of The West Condominiums. Your enthusiasm for all that this lodging property has to offer is very exciting and should be very helpful to others who are considering their options. You really can’t go wrong with our great location, pricing and all of the extras like the bottle of wine, bathrobes, shuttle service and the delicious donuts in the morning that many of our guests look forward to visit after visit. Thank you for pointing out the concern with the Wi Fi. I will definitely bring it to the attention of our IT personnel. We look forward to your return visit and invite you to contact us to assist with the arrangements for your next visit to Steamboat Springs. Have a wonderful summer ahead!
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    31
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We are in the middle day of a 3 day stay at The West Condos. We arrived very late on Fri night. We had to call an offsite security company to check in but it only took 5 minutes. We're in a loft condo, which has a large foldout couch downstairs and a queen in the loft. Perfect sized condo for my son and me. My only small complaint is that there are no dresser drawers or other place downstairs to unpack my bag. There is room upstairs but would have been more convenient downstairs. The kitchen has everything we need, including coffee from a local roaster. The location is great, just a 5 minute walk to the gondola. They offer free shuttle service anywhere you need to go. Internet is free and works great. All in all, we have nothing to complain about. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike81122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the West Condominiums. It is always nice to hear that our late arriving guests have been properly and timely accommodated. I can understand needing some storage near the sofa sleeper downstairs and thank you for suggesting this. It sounds like the rest of your visit was fabulous and we look forward to your return visit. Thank you again for taking the time let us know how we might improve our accommodations and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Carla Von Thaden--General Manager--generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Falls, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We've stayed here 6 times for our ski trip. The condos are wonderful, and we enjoy the hot tubs afterwards. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Very convenient to the slopes, and the free shuttle bus takes us anywhere we want to go!

Room Tip: We got a 2 bedroom, and the 2nd bedroom had two twins. If you're renting a 2 bedroom, you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the West. The first thing I am inclined to say is that we must be doing something right that you would return so many times, but more than that it seems that Steamboat Springs has become your home away from home! We are grateful that the West Condominiums is part of something so important to you. Additionally, six trips to ski Steamboat’s mountains really attests to the great skiing terrain and community that many of us call home. Thank you very much for your continued patronage, and we greatly appreciate all of your positive comments. The entire staff looks forward to your next visit.
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our party of five arrived late and the office was open to retrieve our keys. We found our condo very clean and tidy, and there was a bottle of wine and fluffy white robes waiting for us. The condo was within walking distance of the slopes, shops and restaurants - very convenient. The staff was so nice, letting us leave our car after checkout so we could ski on our last day. They let us change in the restrooms before we left. The coffee and hot cider in the office was a nice touch. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveMyBicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thanks for pointing out the complementary “bottle of wine and fluffy white robes”, set out to greet each of our visiting winter guests. We know what it takes to pull together all of the details for a ski vacation, and we appreciate the fact that you have chosen our lodging property to complete your plans and time at our ski resort. Many guests come to the front desk to make sure that the wine is free of charge. It is fun to put a smile on their face when they realize that it is our gift to them. While there is always room for improvement, we hear often about our clean and well-maintained condos---thank you for your comment about “very clean and tidy”. We put a maintenance card in every unit, in the event we have overlooked any details, and invite our guests to inform us during their stay should anything be short of expectations. I will pass along to The West front desk staff about your satisfaction with being able to extend your day of skiing beyond your check-out time. This is a very easy service to offer our guests since we have showering facilities in our Clubhouse. We hope to see you again soon! The coffee, tea, hot cider and our famous donuts will be waiting for you in our lobby!
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in a 2BR condo at the West this year. It was so great to be close to Gondola area yet the price seemed reasonable. We checked our equipment at Christie's for free so only had to carry stuff once.

Don't bother renting a car in Steamboat -- the shuttle is great and reliable. They'll take you almost anywhere. The city bus is also free.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the West Condos. Many times we receive the comment about being “so close to the Gondola” for such reasonable rates. We are glad that you had a firsthand opportunity to see just how close we are to the Ski Area. When we say we are just across the street, we really mean it, which means close proximity to the ski shops too. While a rental car might be great for many reasons, our shuttles are fabulous for taking you to just about anywhere you need to go while visiting Steamboat Springs such as the ski base area, the grocery store, downtown---which is only 3 miles away, the movie theaters, restaurants, shops, specialty boutiques, etc. As I am writing this response it has been snowing for the past 2 days. I hope you have a chance to come back soon and dip into some more fun on our slopes and the great community of Steamboat Springs. Thanks again for your wonderful review!
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

4 bedroom condo great for 2 families. Clean - not fancy but everything you need. Front desk employees are very nice. 2 hot tubs and a heated swimming pool.

2 bedrooms + bathrooms on each of the lower levels. There are quite a few stairs but good conditioning for skiing. Good sized living room area with gorgeous views. Laundry facilities are right next door to unit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimscowdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your experience here at The West Condominiums. Vacationing with another family can be so much fun and is how so many memories are made. Our 4-bedroom condominium which sleep 10 people comfortably is quite spacious. I hope you had a chance to use the in-unit sauna located on the lower level. Guests have a chance to view the gorgeous view you speak of from both the upper balcony off of the living room as well as the patio from the lower level of the condo. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon!
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Steamboat Springs and we have stayed at Timber Run the previous two times. We wanted to stay closer to The Gondola so we chose The West. Timber Run has much better facilities - better pool and spa area. The pool at the West is tiny (by comparison with what is at Timber Run). The staff are so much friendlier and much more helpful at Timber Run as well. Walking distance to the Gondola takes the hassle out of waiting for the shuttle. Two bedroom condo we stayed in was tired and old but adequate. Would stay at Timber Run next time in preference to The West as long as there are no college kids staying there.

Room Tip: Insist on getting a room with a view of the mountain (we asked and were told they were all booked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at The West Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to critique your stay with us at the West condominiums during January. It is important for us to hear your perspective and to gain insight about how we can better serve our guests. Although our pool amenities are well maintained, unfortunately they are dated. I am happy to inform you, however, that our Homeowners’ Association is currently reviewing plans for updating the Clubhouse facility, including the pool and hot tubs. Check back before you return and I will let you know the status of the renovation. I apologize that you did not find our staff as friendly as another property. We strive to build great relations with our guests and will use your comments constructively. As you point out, The West has a great location in close proximity to the ski area. During early January, it is popular because it is adjacent to the music tent for Music Fest. This is a very popular event that attracts music lovers from all over the country. I can see how it may have been a little loud at the property during that week. Next year, give us a call and we will be glad to assist you in finding a property in a convenient location with excellent amenities or a more updated condominium at The West. Thank you again for taking the time to offer us your insights, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Carla Von Thaden
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
Cross Timbers at Steamboat
#55 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#19 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#13 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#15 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timber Run Condominiums
Timber Run Condominiums
#20 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Inn Condominiums
Ski Inn Condominiums
#26 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Condominiums

Property: The West Condominiums
Address: 2160 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The West Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop its own private hillside, The West Condominiums offer spectacular views of the Steamboat Ski Area and the Yampa Valley, along with a completely convenient location and moderate pricing. A recent addition to Mountain Resorts' extensive inventory of Steamboat vacation rentals, this popular Steamboat lodging complex provides guests with a mountaintop retreat located directly above Steamboat's mountain village. The West resort property offers a clubhouse with onsite check-in and staff, as well as an outdoor heated pool with two covered hot tubs. A gas fireplace in every condo sets the tone for a relaxing evening after an exhilarating day of reveling in Steamboat's legendary powder. The four lodging buildings, as well as the clubhouse, all are easily accessible from the central parking lot and are only some 200 yards from the mountain village and Steamboat Gondola. Whether you're enjoying The West as a winter or summer getaway, a short stroll down the West-to-Village access path leads you directly to the gondola and Christie Express lift, Steamboat Snow School, Kids Vacation Center, and the shops and restaurants at the Steamboat base area. Complimentary on-call shuttle service is provided by Mountain Resorts during the winter months for easy access to the grocery store and downtown Steamboat Springs. During summer, enjoy scenic views from the pool and outdoor grill area, or stroll to the Steamboat Ski Area promenade, where you can cool your feet in the refreshing Rocky Mountain stream that flows through the base area. Summer activities and events such as free concerts and art exhibits further enhance Steamboat's splendid summertime surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The West Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing