We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The West is one of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The West Condominiums
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The West is one of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

There are lots of winter reviews, but this is a wonderful summer accommodation too. Our one bedroom condo was one of the nicest we've ever stayed in; beautifully decorated, quiet, every amenity you could want. Staff was so friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Nice pool and two spas; lounge upstairs over office with internet access. We're a senior couple, but were with grandson's baseball team for tourney; the kids had a ball there, and the families were able to have a barbecue party around the pool. But it was always very quiet at night....loved it and didn't want to leave!!!

  • Liked — Room, decor and amenities, quiet, location, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything...there were stairs, occasional tight parking...this is minor
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    31
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

We used the steamboat resorts travel agency - they booked our airfare, car and condo, and saved us a lot over booking it ourselves. We are cross-country (nordic) skiiers, so the staff was a litte befuddled as to where we should ski, be we had no problem finding that through their extensive literature. The condo was clean, pretty and cozy. We always do all of our own cooking, and even in the studio we had an ample kitchen. Everyone was very friendly, and the price and location were great. I would definitely recommend this property to other skiiers.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Fl.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

My husband and I took our first ski vacation and had no idea what to expect and we were absolutely delighted with the West. Short walk to the ski area and free storage of your equipment.
Staff was friendly, all needs were met, unit was clean and comfortable.
We rented a car and had parking directly outside the unit.
I reccomend the third floor corner unit, even if you have to walk up the stairs. The windows and balcony really make a difference and what a wonderful view!

  • Liked — location, view, hot tubs, friendly staff
  • Disliked — walking up three flights of stairs
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaureenDeLand_Fl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

We have skiied in Steamboat at least four other times. This was a great value, a short walk to the slopes, and not at the ski-in/ski-out prices. The service was great, the condo was clean, roomy and a beautiful view of the mountain. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — furnishings need to be updated
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lucindaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2008

My wife and I travelled to Steamboat for the first time to ski. We were looking for a ski in/out but the prices were too high. We stumbled upon this on a website and then saw the high rating on TripAdvisor.

Well, we love it. Our one bedroom condo has a great view of the mountain. Living area is spacious with completely equipped kitchen and gas log fireplace. Floor to ceiling windows provide lots of light and beautiful view.

Bedroom and bath are small but very nice. The office has coffee and donuts in the morning. Two great hot tubs and outdoor pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

This is our first ski trip that we did not rent a car based upon recommnedation of friends. It has been great, they have free shuttles that go everywhere (be sure to tip the drivers)

Furnishings are comfortable, appliances in our condo were new looking, daily service brings fresh towels and bathroom supplies.

Trail to gondola is a short walk or they have shuttles. We rented storage at gondola for skis, but there are lockers outside each room.

Many restaurants and shops at Gondola Square and Ski Time Square all within easy walking distance. Shuttle to downtown has more shops and restaurants.

We liked dinner at Steamboat Smokehouse (inexpensive BBQ) and Tugboat (great NY Strip Steak and huge steak salad). Yesterday was sunny and I hung out at base of mountain at Bear River Bar & Grill (slopeside tables).

Top of mountain can be foggy but the lift lines were short on the whole mountain.

Great trip. I have attached photos

  • Liked — View, hot tub, convenience, fireplace, free shuttles
  • Disliked — loved it all
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MVOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

I've traveled to many ski desitnations and stayed at many ski condos. If you're going to ski Steamboat and you're willing to consider properties that are not ski-in/ski-out, The West provides a great value. Clean, comfortable, well-appointed, great service, The West delivers all the above. The walk to the gondola is no more than 250 - 300 yards, or you can opt to ride the free shuttle that comes through about every 20-minutes (it's a 2-minute ride to the gondola drop-off and then you'll still walk about 50 yards).

I traveled with my fiance and another couple. We stayed 3 nights and dined in for all our meals. The kitchen had everything we needed and the grocery store (City Market) is just a 5-minute drive away. I think you can take the free shuttle to the grocery store too but we rented a car (The West has ample parking). Huge bonus -- two nice new bbq grills located by the pool area. I grilled out each night, but if you're planning to do this be prepared to dig the grill out of the snow (but then that's a good thing, right?). The front desk clerk told me he'd never seen anyone grill out in mid-winter, but I do it all the time in Chicago!!

There's a heated pool and two nice hot tubs with men's and women's changing rooms just steps away, all very clean and convenient.

Our condo unit was a 2-BR/2-Bath split-level with bedrooms downstairs and the kitchen/dining/living area upstairs. The only drawback we noted was that both bathrooms were downstairs rather than one up/one down.

This was my 4th trip to ski Steamboat and the first time I've stayed at The West. I am sure I'll return to ski Steamboat again and when I do from now on I'll be staying at The West.

Enjoy the skiing and enjoy The West.

  • Liked — Great views of the mountain
  • Disliked — Denied our request for a late check out
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SkiLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

I stayed here while attending a business meeting that was held at the Sheraton. The location was perfect, just across the street from the Sheraton (also next door to the Grand), and the price was much less, especially considering that I had a full kitchen and living room in addition to private sleeping room and bathroom. I shared a 2-BR, 2-BA unit with another colleague for about the same as one room in the hotel for both of us would have cost.

Units are individually owned vacation condos so interior decor and freshness may vary, but the unit I had was fresh, immaculate and tastefully decorated. All furnishings were first rate and exceeded any wishes or expectations I had.

Office staff was friendly and very helpful.

While I am myself not a skier, and it was August during my stay, the location was ideal for skiing, with a short access path directly to the ski area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing - I was entirely satisfied in all aspects.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlanLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#17 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#10 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timber Run Condominiums
Timber Run Condominiums
#22 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terraces at EagleRidge
Terraces at EagleRidge
#57 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bronze Tree Condominiums
Bronze Tree Condominiums
#16 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#3 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Condominiums

Property: The West Condominiums
Address: 2160 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The West Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop its own private hillside, The West Condominiums offer spectacular views of the Steamboat Ski Area and the Yampa Valley, along with a completely convenient location and moderate pricing. A recent addition to Mountain Resorts' extensive inventory of Steamboat vacation rentals, this popular Steamboat lodging complex provides guests with a mountaintop retreat located directly above Steamboat's mountain village. The West resort property offers a clubhouse with onsite check-in and staff, as well as an outdoor heated pool with two covered hot tubs. A gas fireplace in every condo sets the tone for a relaxing evening after an exhilarating day of reveling in Steamboat's legendary powder. The four lodging buildings, as well as the clubhouse, all are easily accessible from the central parking lot and are only some 200 yards from the mountain village and Steamboat Gondola. Whether you're enjoying The West as a winter or summer getaway, a short stroll down the West-to-Village access path leads you directly to the gondola and Christie Express lift, Steamboat Snow School, Kids Vacation Center, and the shops and restaurants at the Steamboat base area. Complimentary on-call shuttle service is provided by Mountain Resorts during the winter months for easy access to the grocery store and downtown Steamboat Springs. During summer, enjoy scenic views from the pool and outdoor grill area, or stroll to the Steamboat Ski Area promenade, where you can cool your feet in the refreshing Rocky Mountain stream that flows through the base area. Summer activities and events such as free concerts and art exhibits further enhance Steamboat's splendid summertime surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The West Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing