We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location,Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The West Condominiums
Reviewed 19 March 2010

That's the best thing about these condos is the great location.Right across the road from the lifts.The free shuttle is also great,to downtown or the grocery.there is a great restaurant right down the hill at The Grand Hotel called the Cabin.We really liked The West Condos,the only thing they need to do is to modernize the furnishing.The bedding and the TV are from years past. It's time for a 42inch LCD TV..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harleybonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

This place was great to stay especially if you plan on skiing or want to be close to the bottom of the slopes. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the Gondola (or they will drive you).

The room that we stayed in had a fully furnished kitchen (including dishwasher). Storage for wet ski clothes just at the door. The main bed was located in a loft area and the stairs were quite steep. We never used the pull out couch. The gas fireplace was nice touch and put out a lot of heat.

The heated pool and the 2 hottubs were sufficient even though the hottubs were inside.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimandclubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I got a great bargain when I stayed at The West last month. I enjoyed my studio which had a kitchen, gas fireplace and lots of closet space--all of whcih was a good value. Moreover, the building had a coin laundry unit at the bottom.

However, I did have a few gripes,. For one things my bags were heavy and I had to lug them up a flight of stairs, as well as lug them over three steps outside my building (both of my bags had wheels on them). For the benefit of travelers with disabilities, those who are carrying around skis (the ski lockers are in the basement) and those who are carrying heavy bags, an elevator should be installed. Perhaps one was available in my building but no one pointed it out to me.

Second, while I appreciated the stereo system which accomodated CDs, it seemed to be on its last legs. More than once, I had to go through the process of activating the CD player over and over just to make sure the player caught the CD that I was trying to play. It seemed as if my model was an older Yamaha.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed this place and might stay here again should I return to Steamboat. The location was great and I appreciated the walk to the transit hub and the ski area, which had a great selection of restaurants and shops where I could buy postcards, etc. The desk staff was kind enough to get out my postcards in time. Thanks to them for making my stay worthwhile.

With the aforementioned conditions, I would recommend this place. There are other places in the Steamboat area which cost less and are notable (such as the Bristol and Rabbit Ears). One advantage to them was that they were convenient to the Winter Carnival which was taking place while I was here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braniff747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed here for 4 days in January and were very happy with this choice. It was so close to the gondola, literally a 3 or 4 minute walk. They also provide airport shuttle for an additional charge, which we used and it was very easy. A shuttle is provided to take you to the grocery, downtown, anywhere you want to go. It's very convenient and very easy! At check-in, the front desk was extremely friendly and has doughnuts and coffee available. I was pleasantly surprised by the hottubs. There are two hot tubs that are just wonderful after a long day of skiing. Overall we would definately return and would definately recommend this as an easy getaway where all you have to do is show up.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This was a great place to stay, great location. The walk to the gondola was fairly easy and the free ski storage in gondola square made it even easier. The unit was decorated nicely, very up to date, very clean with a lot of closet space. Never felt cramped. Kitchen had everything you could ever need. Pool and two hot tubs were sufficient. All employees that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary bottle of wine waiting in our unit was a nice touch. The dates of our stay were unfortunately during "Ski Jam" which translated into loud bands playing practically outside our unit- advice - stay away from that time slot if that's not your thing. The pullout sofa sleeper could have been a bit more comfortable. Would definitely return to The West Condominiums for another ski trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed at The West for five nights in early March, 2009. We had the same condo as we had the year before. It was fine and quite comfortable, 2 bedrooms, good for our family of 3. The only quibbles were that the condo seemed a tiny bit dated, -- the kitchen and bathrooms were renovated and the rooms were furnished well -- the carpeting was a bit dingy, though, and the sofa upholstery was tired looking, too. It had a well-stocked kitchen.
Also, we had a problem with a running toilet, and while the management got it fixed two days later, we got tired of hearing the flushing sound every 10 minutes and cut off the water whenever we weren't using it. Not a big deal, but prompter repair would have been nice.
The location is great, not ski-in/ski-out, but almost as good. Free ski storage about 150 yards away at the base of the gondola, and a pleasant, pretty short stroll to get to the ski storage and the skiing -- down a hill, across the street at the transportation hub and through the gondola shopping area. Then onto the mountain. It's an unbeatable location.
No underground parking so your car is out in the elements; it hasn't been a problem for us. We haven't been there during a blizzard.
We all agree it was very nice. Also, complimentary doughnuts in the morning, along with coffee--both at the office.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

My family of three, two adults and one 15 year old, rented a one bedroom condo for 4 nights. I had requested an updated unit when making the reservation and I was anxious to see if my request was granted. Much to my delight our unit, 3225, was newly remodeled with granite countertops in the kitchen, slate floors throughout, spacious and updated bathroom, and charming, comfortable furnishings and decor. Also, the unit had a great view with large windows and balcony facing west. My son slept on the foldout sofa and he was very comfortable.The cleaning staff came in each day to replace the towels and do minor straightening. The kitchen was filled with plenty of utinsils for cooking, dish washing liquid, Cascade, dish cloths, wine opener.... The afternoons were lovely and temps reached into the 40's, so we used the large gas grills located near the pool area to cook steaks. The pool was rather small, but well maintained and the two hot tubs were nice at the end of a day of skiing. The location was very, very convenient. Just a 5 minute walk over to Gondola Square where we rented and stored our ski equipment. I am really picky about clean and well-kept accommodations and I was very pleased with The West.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qhlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#3 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#19 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
#11 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Condominiums

Address: 2160 Mount Werner Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £127 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The West Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop its own private hillside, The West Condominiums offer spectacular views of the Steamboat Ski Area and the Yampa Valley, along with a completely convenient location and moderate pricing. A recent addition to Mountain Resorts' extensive inventory of Steamboat vacation rentals, this popular Steamboat lodging complex provides guests with a mountaintop retreat located directly above Steamboat's mountain village. The West resort property offers a clubhouse with onsite check-in and staff, as well as an outdoor heated pool with two covered hot tubs. A gas fireplace in every condo sets the tone for a relaxing evening after an exhilarating day of reveling in Steamboat's legendary powder. The four lodging buildings, as well as the clubhouse, all are easily accessible from the central parking lot and are only some 200 yards from the mountain village and Steamboat Gondola. Whether you're enjoying The West as a winter or summer getaway, a short stroll down the West-to-Village access path leads you directly to the gondola and Christie Express lift, Steamboat Snow School, Kids Vacation Center, and the shops and restaurants at the Steamboat base area. Complimentary on-call shuttle service is provided by Mountain Resorts during the winter months for easy access to the grocery store and downtown Steamboat Springs. During summer, enjoy scenic views from the pool and outdoor grill area, or stroll to the Steamboat Ski Area promenade, where you can cool your feet in the refreshing Rocky Mountain stream that flows through the base area. Summer activities and events such as free concerts and art exhibits further enhance Steamboat's splendid summertime surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The West Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing