We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious Odor Problem”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serious Odor Problem”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

If location is the only thing important to you, this hotel is perfect. Location is the only redeamable quality of this hotel. Upon checking in and getting our keys, walking up the stairs we smelled an awful odor, we went to our room to find it completely in shambles with what appeared to be someone lying in the bed! We got a different room, which took a while to warm up since the heat was off. The room smelled a little better than the hallway, but it is gross.The staff was friendly and helpful, no complaints about them. The room was not small, it was tiny, with barely enough room for an uncomfortable chair and small queen bed. We thought it was a full. The carpet is old and nasty, and the soap they provide won't rinse off. If you brave this hotel, bring your own toilettries. There is a dirty dive bar downstairs as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in this hotel stink really bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DWolney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmins, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Over the weekend in which this guest refers, the Hotel experienced a failure in the roof heat tape that services the gutter on the rear of the building. After over a 100 inch snow month in Steamboat, this key component of the buildings infrastructure failed. The result was a leak into two of our units that caused the carpets to be wet. Once discovered on that following Monday, the rooms were cleared, dried and put back into service. What I find fasinating is that I was actually at the Hotel at the time of the guest check out and nothing was mentioned of their dissatisfaction. The first that any of us knew of the level of thier dissatisfaction was in reading this post. If we had know at the time of check out we could have certainly addressed the issue in a different maner. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused. As one can see by 71 posts to this site, there has never been an issue at the Hotel with any odors. Come see for yourself, our doors are open! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    72
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
42
93
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were looking for a quiet hotel that was in the heart of downtown (which has wonderful restaurants and shopping) as well as very easy access to the slopes. Hotel Bristol was perfect. Our rooms were very comfortable, impeccably clean, fitted with everything we could need, and quiet. We had the family room, which let everyone easily keep their own waking/sleeping hours. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The free city bus stops within a block of the hotel and runs about every 10 or so minutes. Perfect ski vacation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Awesome location, comfy bed, crazy good water pressure- these are the things that matter to me and this hotel had them all. Rooms are on the small size but that's to be expected in a historic hotel. Location cannot be beat- parked the car and walked to every meal. I'd return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The air circulation system in the hotel was so noisy that we could not sleep at night. The accommodations were so bad that we changed hotels after one night. What’s worse is that the front desk said they have had this problem before and still refused to refund our money for the unused night. In addition, be prepared for a small, B&B-type room. The best part about the hotel is the location, which is right downtown. Considering Steamboat Springs is a small town, it’s worth it to stay a little further away and actually get what you pay for — some sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Croenbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmins, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Sometimes when a lodging establishment has a certain amenity on property it can cause unanticiapted adverse consequences. The noise that this guest refers to was a result of a malfunction in a fan of the restaurant that is in the basement of the Hotel. In recognizing the potential advrese affects of a restaurant on property we try very had to ensure that every possible issue has been address and that a plan is in place to mitigate its affect on our guest. This was an unfortunate timing issue where an exhaust fan began malfunctioning a very poor time. Given the opportunity we would certainly work with any guest to try and move them to a more desireable location in the Hotel or offer to find them accomodations elsewhere. If one looks back at our record they will see that this was an isolated instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had a family room (2rooms) after reading about the smallness of the single rooms (true!), and that was fine. Was also quiet facing the back. Overall nice experience and we liked the downtown vs the slopes. Bus to ski area is just one block away. Would certainly go back.
Friendly and helpful staff.
No breakfast but thats an opportunity to go to the Creekside or Winona, both VG.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZYX032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is not located close to the slopes but downtown. There is a free local bus service to the base station (about 15 minutes away) and that works well. Lincoln is a street with loads of stores and restaurants and has the name of being ‘western’ but we found no real western saloons with country music because the last one had unfortunately just closed (went out of business). There is a nice big western store right opposite the hotel.
The bus stop is 2 buildings away from the hotel and is not at all far even on ski boots and carrying ski’s.

The hotel itself was bigger than we expected, it is deep and not very wide so from the pictures you may think it is a lot smaller. There are no rooms with a view over Lincoln.

In the lobby there is a sort of library, fire place and sitting area. It is close to the front door so we didn’t find it very inviting to use it.

The ski room was heated but the lockers were quite small. The ski boots didn’t fit in there and there was not really space for everybody to leave their boots. We took them up to our room.

We booked two 2 adjacent rooms and they were connected by the bathroom although both rooms had their own wash hand basin and toilet. This was really strange but the way the doors could be locked made it work o.k.
The rooms were maybe a little small considering we had skiing stuff with us and lots of luggage because we were going to be travelling around for 2 weeks. They were cosy but the view at the back of the hotel was not very impressive. We looked out over the parking, a garage, a sort of fitness hall and two not very pretty rubbish dumpsters and in the distance some ski slopes. The good thing was that we had a room on the corner so we had 2 windows so the room was nice and bright.
It seemed that the heating in the rooms was turned off in the night so it was very cold waking up in the morning even though the heating was on full blast.

The jets in the hot tub didn’t seem to work properly but the view out into the street was great and made up for the lack of bubbles.
There was a pile of games and a sitting table in the adjacent room.

Coffee and tea was available throughout the whole day and was complimentary although one morning there was no hot water and we were not informed where to get some from.

The staff was correct.

Downstairs is a fine Italian restaurant. Good thing is that you don’t have to go outside to get there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very clean place with character. it was great being downtown and the rates were quite affordable!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.5 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
659 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
414 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#19 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 917 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bristol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing