We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old-fashioned feel”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in the Heritage Suite which was perfectly large enough for us and our two children. The hotel is very well-located for the town's shops, restaurants and hot springs, and had plenty of parking at the back. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed using the hot tub. Overall we felt that the hotel had lots of charm and was a nice change from the usual chains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Je142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

The staff is friendly, accomodating, and keeps the charm of the hotel intact. 24/7 coffee (actually pretty good), tea, and ice water are good touches. The staff know the town well and give great suggestions for activities and dining.

We stayed in the Heritage Suite, which manages to be clean, rustic, and modern. Very comfortable beds and awesome shower.

Our friends stayed in a regular room, which was comfortable. Of course a downtown hotel will have smaller rooms, but when you go to a place like Steamboat, who wants to be in their room more than an hour a day, summer or winter?!

We had a great experience, and comparatively, this hotel is very affordable for being in literally a perfect location in downtown Steamboat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We just stayed overnight at the Bristol, but enjoyed the hotel. The rooms, as indicated by other travelers are not that big, but they are compact and clean with a walk-in shower. This is because they haven't changed in the last 100 years or so. Some of the floors also seem to slope but this also adds to the charm of the building. The bed was very comfortable and the room did have A/C. Many hotels in the mountains do not seem to have it, so it was a welcome surprise. The Bristol has an adjoining restaurant which you can also enter from the hotel. It seemed fine but we decided to eat elsewhere. There is a hot tub on the second floor overlooking Main Street. It was very clean and well-maintained, and we enjoyed relaxing in it later in the evening. The staff are very friendly and Patrona was a font of information to help us.
Be sure to check rates on line!!! We did and were able to secure a special rate for mid-week days in August.

Room Tip: Check for special rates!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our second stay at Hotel Bristol and just like the first visit, we greatly enjoy the location of the hotel in the heart of downtown. The hotel is clean and charming. Rooms can be a little small but still comfortable. This time we had a room on the end which was a bit roomier. Very conveniently located so you are able to meander downtown to restaurants and shops. The river is only a block away. Parking on property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dla1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Yup, the reviews are correct. The rooms are European-sized and you wouldn't want to spend the whole day here. However, this location can't be beat and the staff are helpful, friendly and informative. It's the only hotel right in the middle of Steamboat's shopping district. There's no outdoor pool or gym but the Steamboat Springs hot springs (multiple hot pools, cold lap pools and gym) are a couple blocks away. I came to Steamboat for a wedding and it was nice for all the guests (who were staying in hotels within driving distance) to take a breather close by at the Bristol. If I was here during the ski season, it would still be a decent option because of its proximity to great restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustav1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Bristol hotel is a convenient, small and personal European style hotel in the mist of historcal downtown Steamboat. The staff is extremely helpful. I appreciate the beautiful white linens and convenient free parking. There are many nearby resturants, an old style downtown movie theatre and shopping galore all within a short walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Partiamo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a decent property in a great location, with reasonable rates.

It is right on the main drag in Steamboat (a great alternative to the more luxe properties up in the soulless ski "village"). As far as we can tell, it is the ONLY downtown option which is not a motel - though some of those look interesting.

The big drawback is the rooms are very small - almost European-small. Also our room overlooked an alley which also serves a couple restaurants - and was very noisy with the windows open (rowdy employees late, clangy garbage trucks early).

Our "queen" bed was not particularly comfortable, and seemed more like a double. Staff was nice enough, if rather businesslike. The small public areas are appealing if nothing special. Rooms are indeed clean, which is a little like saying a restaurant "has edible food". Housekeeping, however, was perfunctory at best.

It would be great if Steamboat had a well-run boutique hotel downtown. Until that time, the Bristol is an acceptable option for a couple nights if you don't need a lot of space.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.5 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
672 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
661 reviews
3 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
830 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
439 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
#11 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 917 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £75 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bristol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing