We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and clean”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Overall and excellent place to stay. Close walk to many restaurants and shops. The staff was helpful with recommendations.

The perfect summer stay- all activities at your fingertips.

Quaint & adorable. Small rooms but very clean.

We will most certainly be back

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank poolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review and comments. The main attributes of Hotel Bristol are its staff, its quaintness and its location. With being centrally located in the heart of Downtown Steamboat Springs, that does come with some of the inner worrkings of the City. The carpets in all of the guest rooms, as well as the carpet behind the front desk, were replaced in 2012-2013. The lobby and common areas are next. As to an elevator, this 1948 Hotel never had one and we never installed one due to size constraints of the building, but our staff will gladly carry your bags upstairs for you. I apologize for the A/C unit not keeping up, but each of them are on a regular maintenance schedule. We are always willing to move a guest if need be, should the room they occupy not be working satisfactorily. Please stop by again when you are in town. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bristol for two nights while visiting Steamboat Springs. The positives are that it is conveniently located right in the heart of downtown and has a restaurant that is highly rated in Trip Advisor. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant and there was coffee and tea every morning. The negatives are that there are no ramps, elevators or bell hop and you must lug your luggage up the stairs on your own. Although the hotel was very clean, it is in need of updating. The carpets are "clean" but look pretty grungy. The air conditioning is not the best and you are better off opening the window. Unfortunately, when you open the window you will hear the 3:00 a.m. train, the garbage truck and other loud vehicles in the wee hours of the morning. The rooms are small, but large enough for a couple of night stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Bristol and your comments. We are very pleased that you found our quaint Hotel convenient, clean and a desireable location. We feel our staff is second to none! Thanks again and we'll see you next time your travels bring you to Steamboat Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There's parking a few feet from the door, a big hot tub over looking Lincoln Ave., ( the main street), it's downtown so all the restaurants and bars are close, the rooms are just right size for one or two riders and their gear and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is small and old style but very nicely appointed and decorated. My two sons and I got a 'suite' that had two separate rooms with a bath that linked them. Each bath had a toilet and sink for the room that was completely separate from the adjoining room and there was a shower in between that is shared by both rooms. Nice if your father snores or your sons come in late from some bar hopping. Since each room in the hotel is unique you probably have to ask for this one. When we go back to Steamboat we'll stay here again. The only negative was the trash trucks early on Friday morning. Have margaritas on the roof top at the Rio,( yes it's the same as the one in Ft. Collins), and breakfast at the Creekside Inn, where you should get the thick bacon slices.

Room Tip: See my comments above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmins, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Bristol and the review. Sorry about the Friday trash pick up, but it has to go sometime. : ) I am very pleased that you enjoyed the "Family Room" suite, as it is perfect for your situation and is offerred at a great value. Your two restaurant recommendations are spot on...they are two of our favorites. We look forward to seeing you back for another stay. Be well and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Small hotel in the heart of Steamboat springs. We were there in summer around July 4th. Walk outside the hotel and view the holiday parade. Rooms are somewhat small as it's an older property, but they're decorated nicely. Our room was darker than it needed to be due to double black-out window coverings - they could lose one set and have some nice thinner shades to let some light in. Staff is friendly and helpful - their recommendation for restaurants were solid. Better pillows would help too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PPSSSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmins, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Bristol, we greatly appreciate your time. As to the shades, we purposely selected this shade arrangement, as some guest like to sleep in and prefer the option of darkening the room. The "top down/bottom up black out blinds provides the option to have as much or as little light as one would like. I will follow up with my manager on the pillows to ensure we have the very best in comfortable pillows. Stop in again sometime, we would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beds have those terrible soft, shapeless, grandma mattresses that I thought hotels everywhere discarded long time ago. Otherwise it's a small no frills hotel, centrally located in the old town, clean, and with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carpatifara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmins, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review for Hotel Bristol as we greatly appreciate all comments. While pillow & matress firmness is a matter of personal preference, I apologize that you found our bedding to be uncomfortable, but the mattresses are barely one (1) year old. We use a Serta Platinum Pillowtop mattress that many guest find very comfortable, but again, it is presonal preference. Additionally, thank you for the comment about our staff, as we strive to offer the very best in customer service. I do hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Steamboat Springs. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed overnight at the Bristol.Downtown location is great, People were very helpful, Good free coffee/tea in the AM. Rooms are small but clean and bed was very comfortable. Checked in and printed boarding passes for flight home. Late May in Colorado everything is so green! Simply Amazing! Going back to Steamboat, Great place for road Cycling and or Skiing., hiking. Wish I had stayed longer

Room Tip: Coal train comes through at night and is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pslbethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmins, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review and comments. We stive to offer the very best in service and accomodations. As to the train, its schedule is extremely unpredictible. When my daughter got married at the Botanical Gardens (next to the tracks) we called to see when the train ran to avoid any issues. The representative said "there is no schedule"! Sorry for the train noise. : )
......and yes, our valley is beautiful in May AND June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Bristol with a friend for a ski trip. The location is perfect, walking distance to anything downtown. Great restaurants and shops all around, off street parking too. My plans changed and I needed to change the type of room I wanted, they fixed me up in minutes by email, never a complaint.

The room we had was clean, warm and nice. But small. You don't spend much time in the room anyway on a ski vacation. The hot tub was in perfect working order and a welcome luxury. The TV isn't exactly the best, some channels didn't work, but again, you're not in Steamboat to watch the tube (although the local access channel is worth a look, some funny stuff) ... in all, a great, no hassle experience with nice folks in a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChaseSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.5 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
672 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
661 reviews
3 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
830 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
439 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
#11 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 917 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £75 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bristol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing