We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Steamboat icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rabbit Ears Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Steamboat icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I stayed at the Rabbit Ears Motel years ago and stayed there again in March. It's locally owned and efficiently run. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. We stayed in the back building where they allow dogs in the rooms and each room has a lovely balcony overlooking the walking path and creek. It's an easy walk to downtown and right across the street from the hot springs (you get a big discount at the pool if you're staying at the motel). The price was reasonable too!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsthejourney101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    134
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
112
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Us
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

You're skiing. Who needs a fancy hotel.The Rabbit Ears is funky, real
and fun with a huge huge free breakfast. Right across the street from
the legendary Steamboat Hot Springs. Ski hard, come back to the Pink
Ears, then hop across the street to the heart shaped pool. Night time is a quick walk down the Yampa River trail to food and booze. What's not to like.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandyKUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

Just returned from the boat after spending 1 week at the Rabbit Ears Motel over Christmas. I wanted a different vacation over the holidays this year and decided to give skiing a try again in CO. My last skiing trip in CO was at Vail in 1989 and my criteria was to find a friendly low key ski town in CO with affordable lodging. I chose Rabbit Ears after very good reviews on TA and was not disappointed; in fact the Rabbit Ears exceeded my expectations.

My trip started 1 day early due to bad weather in CO; I was able to change my plane reservation with Delta with no charge and then called Rabbit Ears. Deb, the front office clerk that evening,quickly changed my reservation honoring the same rate for the extra evening, and was just so friendly on the phone. When we arrived the next day, Deb was the front office clerk on duty. She gave us a great room over looking the river and park and gave us hints on skiing Steamboat since she is also a ski instructor.

The room is exactly what is described and pictured on their website. We had a nice room with king bed, sofa bed, and balcony with a beautiful view. Some reviews mentioned the rooms as "tired." Our room was very comfortable, with great heating, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, TV with good cable, and free WIFI. Just what we needed for 6 nights skiing.

Continental breakfast is served daily from 6:30am - 9:30am. Very basic but did the trick. Assortment of hot/cold cereals, toaster with bagels and frozen waffles, yogurt, juice, coffee tea, and some mornings had fresh fruit.

We did the Hot Springs across the street on 2 afternoons and you can buy discounted passes for $10.00 each at the Rabbit Ears front desk. Great fun, relaxing, and highly recommended.

The Rabbit Ears is right on the free bus line to the ski slopes and into Downtown. It is within walking distance of great shops, restaurants, and bars. After a couple of nights we took the bus to Safeway to get provisions so we didn't have to spend a fortune on eating out every night.

Our return flight back to ATL on Christmas day was canceled; so our 5 night vacation went into a 7 night. I talked to Beverly at the front desk, as she too was so friendly, and again honored our extra nights lodging at the same rate as the rest of the week. She gave us tips on what to do on Christmas Day and we enjoyed our holiday in Steamboat Springs.

Overall it was a great trip; skiing was a blast even at my age and the people at Steamboat were all very friendly. Rabbit Ears is a family owned business since the 1950's and I wish them continued success. It's wonderful to have such comfortable affordable lodging when planning a ski vacation and I would highly recommend the Rabbit Ears Motel when visiting Steamboat Springs. Thanks much for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max&Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, General Manager at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments and the acknowledgement of our front desk staff. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Greg Koehler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

I have stayed here before and while it is nothing fancy the stay was always ok until this last time. There was an overcrowded horse trailer parked in the lot overnight. The horses wanted out and were kicking the sides of the trailer pretty hard. You can imagine the noise that made. When I called the front desk I was told not to get "hawkey?" with the desk clerk before he hung up on me. He claimed not to be the "horse whisperer " and there was nothing he could do about the noise. He did state mine was not the only complaint. When I went to the office in the morning and explained the circumstances of the night before I didn't even get any sympathy for the night of sleep I lost. I checked out, spent the following night else where and will not go back even though I am in Steamboat regularly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueHayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, General Manager at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
We tried to do all possible to have guests who owned the horses settle them down. Finally at 11:45 pm they seemed to settle down. We did offer this guest a free room upgrade away from the parking area but she refused to move.
General Manager Greg Koehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Nicely situated at one end of the Main Street, but to be frank its location is the major asset. Otherwise just another motel- fine if you want or need to be in the middle of Steamboat Springs. The location was sadly spoiled on this visit because the entire main street was being dug up for roadworks and in entirety the town centre was a mess- must be crippling for the businesses.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, General Manager at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
We're sorry you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. The road construction was a challenge for the whole community of Steamboat but thankfully has been completed and we are better than ever for our tourists. Rooms were renovated in May of 2010 so please try us again.
General Manager
Greg Koehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We targeted Steamboat Springs as a perfect overnight stop on our way from Jackson, WY to Estes Park, CO. It did not disappoint!

Steamboat Springs is a bit of a geographical anomaly. This high elevation mountain resort town with its winter "champagne powder", protrudes between two long desert plains especially from the west and a bit to the east. The town showcases its brick quarry heritage with a tasteful presentation of shops and restaurants along the main thoroughfare.

After spending a mini-fortune on our trek from Cody, through Yellowstone, Grand Teton and Jackson, we decided to regroup at the Rabbit Ears (name of summit pass near Steamboat) Motel. We opted for the smaller $99 room in the main building. It was more than okay for one night. The continental breakfast was marginal. But we knew in advance and we had plans to dine at the Creekside Cafe & Grill. (absolutely one of the best breakfasts, Eggs Benedict New Yorker, that I have ever had!)

Deb, our enthusiastic ski instructor check-in greeter, suggested we try Mahogany Ridge for our requested "light" dinner. It is walking distance from the Rabbit Ears Motel. We thought the wooden decor was very tasteful and the fresh bread plate with dipping sauce and the very generous/delicious Spicy Tuna Cerviche really satisfied our needs. The ales were a little on the "floral" side but still good. You may want to give this place a try!

We in essence traded a larger more desirable balcony room overlooking the river for a nice dinner. Overall we left quite pleased!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrandsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at the Rabbit Ears Motel for 2 nights in August. We would have preferred an upscale hotel, but we wanted a place close to town.. Steamboat resort (at the mountain) is dead during summer. The town is hopping.

Given the retro name, the sign, and Motel category, we assumed it would old, noisy and um, not very clean. We were pleasantly surprised on all fronts. While not the Ritz, or the Sheraton, the rooms were spacious, very clean, wireless internet and most important, beds were comfortable.

Bathroom was pretty small, tub and toilet in room with door, outside a small sink and counter was a bit crowded, but manageable.

Book a room in the back building overlooking the river, you may see fly fisherman and rafters taking advantage of the cool water on a hot day. Or take a plunge yourself.

This is a stopover hotel, and the guests tend to get up early to head on, so if you are a light sleeper, plan of earplugs, or an early wake up (8AM-ish)

Very affordable. Free breakfast, but pretty sparse. Grab a full plate of hot breakfaast at a local coffee shop which are abundant withing a 4 minute walk.

Staff was very nice and accomodating. Buy a Rabbit Ears tee shirt to remember your stay in Steamboat.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank feeshmonCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Property: Rabbit Ears Motel
Address: 201 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price. The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing