We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”
Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rabbit Ears Motel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pros
- Our room was clean and everything was in good condition.
- Great location on the edge of downtown across from the Old Town Hot Springs pool.
- Rooms on the back building have balconies/decks that face the Yampa River.
- The hotel sells pool passes that are significantly cheaper than even using a coupon across the street at the pool.
Cons
- Front desk staff was somewhat indifferent.
- Non-smoking in and around non-smoking rooms isn't enforced. We were in a non-smoking room and people near us smoked on their balconies and right outside their front doors, stinking up our room. Towels smelled like smoke, too, so I assume the cleaning people smoke.
Pro/Con
- The continental breakfast was very limited, but it's free.

I would've given the hotel a higher rating if the hotel staff was friendlier (to be fair, one lady at the front desk was really nice) and there hadn't been so many issues with cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, ask for a room in one of the two buildings along the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tally4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, General Manager at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We obviously weren't at our best in this situation. Our front desk staff is always helpful and friendly just maybe you caught us in an off moment. I am sorry we didn't do better for you. I wish we would have been informed of people smoking on the balcony as we could of mediated the situation for you. Towels and linen are done in a smoke free area.
Greg Koehler GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    139
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
75
118
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I loved this place! Thank you so much for the upgrade at no cost. Really made our stay that much better. Our California King was so comfy I couldn't keep my eyes open. Thank you for free samples at the front desk and all the information. We enjoyed our stay for the night.
One thing I do wish if we were able to have another hour to check out. Steamboat has a great nightlife and when you go out for a birthday celebration, you need to sleep it off so your energized for all the daytime activities. We asked if we could have an extra hour (noon) and we were rudely denied.
Love the location and were able to walk wherever we wanted in town. Having the trail and river put in right out the door was also pretty sweet!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, General Manager at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our property and in Steamboat. We try to make sure your stay is enjoyable and relaxing. I'm sorry we didn't do a later check out as we sometimes can do a later check out depending on the next day advance reservations. My front desk person sometimes gets several requests for late check outs and it is frustrating when we can't do a request.
Thanks for your business and comments.
Greg Koehler
GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Friendly small motel convenient to downtown Steamboat and right on the bike path. Free town bus right outside the front door. Large, clean rooms with patios. Free breakfast is adequate but not great. Overall a good value and location for Steamboat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtngirlie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was the most affordable place we could find the night before our triathlon, and for $144/night we definitely expected more than we got. The room was small and old. The bed was uncomfortable as well as the pillows. We weren't on the river, but the building attached to the lobby. The front desk lady was not friendly or helpful. We did have a microwave and mini-fridge, and close to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtngirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel is located on the Yampa River just on the south side of town. Our room was right on the river with a balcony facing the river. FANTASTIC!. Two king size beds, two sleeping couches. Large flat screen TV, mico wave, fridge, coffee pot. Nice A/C and cool breez off the river. Easy acess to town, just a couple of blocks to all the toursit areas downtown. Super for a bigger family, but we enjoyed it just the two of us. I would definetly stay there again. There is no pool, but the hot springs are just across the road and the hotel offers discounts. I just loved sitting out on the deck watching the tubbers float by and watching the people ride by in the park on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Rabbit Ears last weekend. It was a little overpriced for a motel, however, it has a very good location in a resort town. I would stay here again. Our room was clean - and - unlike another reviewier - we did have a fridge and a microwave - but no river view. We were on the top floor (the 2nd level) and had a balcony. You can purchase discounted tickets to the hot springs across the street at the front desk of the hotel. Adults save $5/pp. Overall, a good experience in a great little town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltLakeCitySlicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg,Fl
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We felt it was way overpriced but once again it's downtown in a tourist town so it's what the market will bear. They wee almost empty when we pulled in at 5pm and they were no vacancy in just a few hours.
clean rooms. No fridge or micro. Coffee maker. We had a stream behind us that was nice but we didn't spend enough time for it to really matter. Breakfast room available in the morning with the usual stuff.
We didn't think it was a good value.

Room Tip: overlook the streaam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We appreciate your review. Its obvious you didn't have time to enjoy our property. Our pricing is at or below most comparable properties in the valley that don't have the ambiance of the river or across from the Hot Springs Pool on the bike path etc. ALL rooms do have microwave and refrigerator. It is concealed in the cabinet below the TV. Please try us again in the future when you have more time to enjoy this location and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#15 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#5 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
409 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#20 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Property: Rabbit Ears Motel
Address: 201 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price. The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing