We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, but.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rockies Condominiums
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Nice place to stay, spacious condos, but the front desk staff was rude and very unhelpful.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank Alex5829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2008

After looking at several properties in Steamboat, I decided to book at The Rockies because of it's price, location to the slopes and the convenience of booking online (some other properties required me to call back on a weekday). The exterior of the buildings has been recently renovated and looks fairly new. Our one bedroom unit (they're all individually owned and decorated) was outdated in decorating, but was clean and well maintained. The convenience of having a kitchen, separate bedroom and fireplace outweighed any modern decorating that a hotel would have (probably for more money). We were a little disappointed after arriving to discover that the property wasn't quite as slope side as advertised, but the convenience of having the city bus less than 20 steps from our front door made up for that. It is fairly close to the slopes, but the slopes are not easily accessible in the winter with several feet of snow on the ground. I look forward to returning to Steamboat for the unbelievable skiing we had (20" of fresh powder) and would stay at The Rockies again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My partner and I booked this condo through the Steamboat Springs reservation site for the NASTAR National Championships in March. The unit was clean and decent enough upon arrival, though the decor was a bit dated (think '70s shag), but on our second night, we returned from a day of skiing to find the bathtub filled with what looked like sewage. We promptly called the front desk, and in a little while a maintenance person was dispatched. He told us that this often happens with ground-floor units, because when everyone returns from a day of skiing and begins showering, the system simply can't handle it. He snaked it out, and told us it would probably be OK. The very next day, the same thing happened, only this time stuff was bubbling up through the kitchen sink as well. Another maintenance person was sent, only this time it took a little while longer, and we missed an important NASTAR event while waiting. When he finally arrived, he said that perhaps we could be switched to another unit if one was available. Naturally, we were told another unit wasn't available.

We rode out the rest of the week without incident, though by now we were holding our breath every time we returned from a day of skiing, wondering what we would find inside. The front-office manager sympathized, but told us that we would have to direct our complaint to the vice president of the company. We wrote a letter shortly after our return home, and never heard anything. We made a couple of follow-up phone calls, which went unreturned. It's not like we were looking for a reimbursement. A simple apology would have been nice.

So, in summary, while the Rockies is a great location, and some units are reportedly very nice (it varies, greatly, we found out, depending upon the owner), we couldn't really recommend staying here, because of the uncertainty of the experience, and the management's lack of responsiveness to our troubles. Were we to return to Steamboat Springs, we would definitely stay elsewhere. If you decide to stay here, for whatever reason, do yourself a favor and insist that you do not want a ground-floor unit.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank wanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

I loved the Rockies. I had stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the mid 90's when the property was fairly dated. We returned to the Rockies after seeing the exterior renovations last year. I am not sure how all the units are, but the one I we had was a great 2 br w/ loft. Be sure to book early so you can get an "A" condo. You are right on the free bus line and but can actually walk to the gondola / ski times square (or at least home from the Tugboat). I would definately reccomend The Rockies.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank wireking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2006

We just got back from Steamboat and maybe the best part of our stay was the condo. We stayed in #2333. It is completely redone, with HDTV, WI-FI, all new furniture...great beds. The place is beautiful! The bus service was perfect, but we walked to the ski village (5 minutes) at night.

Stayed: December 2006
6  Thank midgeAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2006

We stayed at The Rockies Condo in Steamboat Springs over Springbreak. We were in a 1 bedroom with loft (2 twin beds upstairs) that turned out to be perfect for our family. This condo is older (my husband had stayed here 16 years ago during springbreak,)but they had everything we needed. We had wanted something close to the slopes with a heated outdoor pool, hottubs, and fireplace that had room for our family without the kids having to share a bed. There was also a shuttle to the slopes and grocery store. The accomodations included a full kitchen and free internet access in your condo if you have your laptop. The furnishings were a bit dated, but the condo was clean and large. These units are privately owned so the furnishings do vary.

6  Thank TerriAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2006

We stayed at the Rockies for our first trip to CO for skiing. We stayed there for 4 nights with two of our kids aged 10 and 7.

The condo was a quick, free shuttle ride away from the gondola. The shuttle bus drivers were very cool and friendly to the kids. Our unit was very close to the hot-tub and pool. Both were clean. The kids loved the pool.

We rented a one-bedroom condo with a kitchen and sofa-sleeper. It was small.

For the money (about $100/nt), I can hardly complain. However, we had a few complaints. The fireplace did not work, the carpeting was bargain basement and stained. The dressers were super cheap, the drawers actually fell out when they were pulled.

There was a maid service which replaced the dirty towels and that's about it.

The front desk provides coffee in the morning. The desk workers were not what you would call professional, just college kids.

In summary, we won't stay in the Rockies again due to what I would consider a 2 star rating, however, we will end up paying quite a bit more for our next stay.

-J.H.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JohnnyHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Shadow Run Condominiums
Shadow Run Condominiums
#65 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Storm Meadows Club Condominiums
Storm Meadows Club Condominiums
#23 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Time Square Condominiums
Ski Time Square Condominiums
#24 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The West Condominiums
The West Condominiums
#27 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Terraces at EagleRidge
Terraces at EagleRidge
#58 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranch at Steamboat
The Ranch at Steamboat
#7 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockies Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockies Condominiums

Address: 1945 Cornice Dr, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9041
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £137 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rockies Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These affordable condominiums are only a few blocks from the Steamboat Ski Area and have a reputation not only as a familiar landmark for family vacations, but as the best lodging value in all the Yampa Valley. Featuring studio plus lofts, one bedrooms, two bedrooms and two bedroom plus lofts condos, the Rockies offers a unit style to suit your needs. Our studio rates are comparable to Hotels that are located further away from the slopes with the luxury of a living room, balcony and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockies Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockies Condominiums Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing