We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sterling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Santa Maria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

It looks just like an old motel from the outside but on the inside it shows that the owner has put considerable thought to make it modern including sinks and furniture and a nice bed with big fancy pillows and blankets and a modern faucet.

Big screen TV and wireless internet and the guy who owns it is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were staying in one of the lodges for a two night stay. The room smelled a little musty but we thought it might have been from being closed up for a couple of days. The first night was very nice, but during the second night stay it was raining and our roof started leaking. It leaked on our shoes and one of our suit cases. We complained about our night when checking out and they ignored our issues, said no manager was available and took our e-mail and phone number but no one ever contacted us. The price we paid for the rooms I thought some compensation was warranted. Still have heard nothing from the Inn -- poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmgmjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed two nights at the Oakwood Inn. Had to go to Flemming for a funeral. They do have free wireless internet, but it was having some issues when we got there. He did get it fixed and was very friendly the whole time about it. One of the cheapest in town and closest to downtown. The other chain ones are off the highway near the prison. It's old and outdated, but if you want a basic room with a bed and a TV (ours had a fridge and microwave too), you can't beat it for the price. Definitely call them up and get a reservation because they stay booked it seems. It's definitely nothing fancy, but it's what you'd expect for the money. We had no problem with it.

Room Tip: Call ahead - as far as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on our first night of a three day trip home. After researching other hotels in Sterling and finding them to be over $100, we called mid-afternoon to get a room for the night. The nice man who answered the phone, C.J., was very polite and helpful. He gave us a ground floor room so we didn't have to haul our suitcase, etc. up the stairs. Wireless internet was free. The room was very basic, but included a (non-stocked) kitchenette. Did not include: kleenex, shampoo, dishsoap, breakfast. A rail line goes through town and we could hear the train whistle. I heard it during the night but it was not enough to be annoying. My husband slept through the night no problem. One definite plus: this motel is in town and not right on the interstate and near the prison, like the chain hotels. Summary: no frills basic motel, but clean safe and friendly place to sleep for the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3tucsontravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oakwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Inn

Property: Oakwood Inn
Address: 810 S Division Ave, Sterling, CO 80751-4111
Region: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Inn is a family owned and operated motel offering clean, comfortable rooms with unbeatable rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing