We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallagher's River City Grill

Gallagher's River City Grill
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stopped in Sterling on our way back to Iowa. I did some searching of Sterling restaurants online and chose Gallaghers because it had an extensive menu and decent prices. When we ordered we found out that nothing came with the entrees and if we wanted something else it could be ordered ala carte. $22 for ribs and that's all. Really! The food was good but certainly not worth the money. The waitress was pleasant and filled our glasses and it's not her fault that the online menu was outdated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granville
Level Contributor
145 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rough start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were promptly seated but after 15 minutes and no waitress we asked a young gal passing by who our waitress was. She apologized for the delay and said she would find out and be right back. She came right back, apologizing profusely, turns out she was supposed to be taking care of us but had not been told so. She gave us free appetizer and took very good care of us! She was excellent and the food was excellent as well!

Highly recommend River City Grille!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewellen, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All around great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came through on a family vacation. Nice clean place. Great food. Penne pasta and chicken fried steak was really good. Kids had chicken strips. Prices great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank connest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great job, Gallagher!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hubby and I stopped in for dinner last night and it was wonderful. We really weren't sure what to expect out here in the NE corner of Colorado, but were pleasantly surprised! Our waitress was prompt and very sweet - would have been nice if she told us her name, though! Then I could have given her direct accolades!
Drinks and food was timely. Hubby had their house salad and it was hearty! Then he opted for the sirloin which was as good as any steak he's ever had! Wow! I had the "dinner" spinach salad without the bacon, but added the grilled chicken. Delicious and perfect for me since I feel while we've been on the road for 12 days already, I just don't seem to ever get enough veggies! We both had a glass of their house wine (sauvignon blanc and merlot) which were acceptable.
No dessert and our bill - with tip - came to $70.00 - but then I'm probably a generous tipper having given our waitress $12.00.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janconover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tower, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We eat here twice a year when we drive across the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

When we arrive here after a day's drive from Richfield, UT going East and from Clear Lake, IA going West, all we can think of is the spinach salad and pork tenderloin sandwich we have each time. Both are always the same and always delicious. The salad is so large that the last time we split it--a very good idea. Service is sometimes too fast so that we are still eating the salad when the sandwiches arrive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallagher's River City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gallagher's River City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing