We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Relaxing, beautiful, and refreshing. The Devils Thumb Ranch is one of the most relaxing getaways I've ever been to. Surrounded by thousands of acres and amazing views, you really feel like you've gotten away from it all.
The architecture, decoration, and construction of the lodge and all facilities is simply stunning and inspiring.
The lodge has tons of little nooks to lose your self to read a book or enjoy the views.
The Spa is beautiful and services were great.
We ate at both Heck's and The Ranch House. Food was very good.
Concierge and service in the lodge was excellent.
Our room was beautiful with a balcony and a gas fire place. The bathrooms were beautiful too.
The entire resort has a great western feel to it and is fully decorated that way.

First part of my trip was business retreat. The conference rooms and facilities were excellent.
Second part of my trip was personal with my wife. We loved it and can't wait to come back.
A very romantic resort.
But I can also see it being fun for the family, especially in the Summer. We're looking forward to bringing our kids back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomKboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    85
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
215
207
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

There is nothing like the Ranch! I always have a superb time and everyone at the ranch makes me feel like a Queen. Its such a beautiful place with excellent accomodations and the staff is awesome. Especially that Igor. Thanks for always making my stay an awesome experience. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fetta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Our family took a long weekend and stayed here. We were greeted by Mike at the door every time we approached. He was so friendly and nice to the entire family. Thanks MIKE! The rooms were fantastic as was the service. I took my wife to a wonderful meal at Heck's. It did not disappoint!!

So good....we took took my Mother-in-law and my wife's sister's family back to spend Easter weekend. I can't begin to tell you how much they enjoyed it. The pool, the Easter Bunny, decorating cookies, and sipping wine by the fire pit. HEAVEN!!!!!!!


GO GO GO GO!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We take our kids to the DT Ranch a couple of times a year, but recently had the chance to leave them with grandma and sneak off with just my wife. Man, if you're looking for a quiet and romantic place to go, this is it. Everywhere you turn is a quiet corner for a glass of wine, a beer, and to just talk without interruption. (Parents, you know what I'm talking about.) We happened to go on a Tuesday night and who knew that out in the middle of the woods we'd find a rocking happy hour with live music and DOLLAR BEERS? After dinner, we took a moonlit walk to the hot tub and then back to a quiet room with a fireplace. It felt like we were dating. In the morning, we woke up to a moose crossing the meadow like it was scripted or something. I can't say enough good stuff about this place. Selfishly though, I hope it stays a secret.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a fireplace, it's worth it. Other great options are those with porche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graefenburg , Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Reflecting on the superb time we had at Devils Thumb Ranch in August we decided to go back for a winter experence. We were not dissapointed. Trail system is varied and traverses amazing terrain with views that take your breath away. Archticture and ambience are well suited to the setting in Ranch Creek Valley. Aside from the attributes that are obvious when you pull onto the property. We were greeted in a warm and professional way. Staff was very attentive to the needs of our family. Everything you would want is on property. We liked the fact we didnt need to load up the car to go in search of meals. The sport and gift shop surprised us with the amount and quality of merchandise. My favorite part is the fact Devils Thumb has the best Bourbon Bar in the West.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I went to Devils Thumb Ranch to scout it for a potential corporate event in 2014. The property is absolutely amazing. From the staff to the grounds everything was perfect. They have multiple restaurant outlets that all do a great job. Huge spa and wonderful stables operation. I was shocked at the amount of activities you can do even in the off season. I was a little disappointed that the trail system was closing but I guess that is out of their control. I bet this place is beautiful in the summer as well which is when we’d be coming out.

A couple of staff members made it even more memorable. Cassidy in Heck’s for breakfast and lunch as well as Igor in the activities shop.

Devil’s Thumb is luxury in the wild west. Great job!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeM408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We attended a wedding at Devil's Thumb Ranch and stayed in one of the cabins for two nights. We had made our reservations months in advance, and were assured, in a written confirmation, of a specific cabin which had two bathrooms and adequate space for two couples. Upon arrival, they said that cabin was no longer available and we were put in one of the smaller one-bath cabins which was so small and poorly designed that we could barely move about. In addition, while the architectural design and build quality of the cabins is exquisite, they have made a major mistake in placing the boiler/pump for the radiant heat under the bedrooms. Even though we turned the thermostat off, opened up bedroom windows to try and get it cool, the boiler cycled on all night long, very loud and actually vibrating the floor. None of us could sleep, despite the comfortable beds and quality linens. Even with a "wedding rate", the charge was $480 per night, and we felt ripped off. Heck's food was mediocre. The dinner service at the wedding reception took far too long. BUT--the staff (other than reservations which were unprofessional and unresponsive) was very friendly. The yoga was wonderful. The spa is gorgeous. The architecture is stunning and the setting is great. They have significant issues to resolve before they can move into the big leagues to which they aspire.

Room Tip: Watch out for the boiler/pump under bedrooms in the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdbauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabernash
5.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 15 in Winter Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
5.8 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Property: Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing