We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Enjoy the Rocky Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Enjoy the Rocky Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Devil's Thumb Ranch is very close (10 minutes) to the Winter Park ski area and about 1.5 hours from Denver. We have stayed here a couple of times and like the cabins. (there is the main lodge and also individual cabins a short distance from the main lodge) This ranch is incredible. The scenery is breathtaking. The main lodge is rustic and relaxing. Recommend a hike up the trails, or snow shoeing, horse ride, cross country ski, etc. Really a great place to get away. And very family friendly - the main lodge has a movie theater, game room with a small bowling alley, pool tables and other games. My kids really enjoyed the game room. The food and restaurants are excellent and there is good variety - you never have to leave the ranch. For lunch or more casual dining there is Heck's and for dinner the Ranch House Restaurant is perfect. Both have many organic and local items on the menu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    84
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
214
207
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We recently attended a wedding at Devils Thumb Ranch. It is a beautiful venue....perfect Colorado! I have traveled extensively, lived abroad and stayed in many types of lodging around the world. I have never had to spend an entire day trying to reconcile my AmEx bill due to their arcane accounting practices. They create a mess with credits and debits .....which is totally unnecessary. They charge your card for a nights lodging at the time of reservation, then charge your balance a few weeks before your stay. They're reasoning is because someone could get away without paying. They really need to pass that along to the millions of independently owned lodging facilities throughout the world. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariann5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Was attending our nephew's wedding and we got in on Wed night. The place was quite empty as it is between seasons. Although we planned on dinner in the bar restaurant, we ended up at the higher end restaurant. What a great experience... We start at the bar, enjoyed 1/2 price bottle of wine. The dinner including Wagyu beef appetizer was fantastic. The bartender provided a great service experience.
The hotel itself is roomy, western and very comfortable. Our room was big and had great views. It's a bit of a trek from the Denver airport, but well worth the hair pin turns to get there. Would definitely consider this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToggyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at this property recently for a work function (small business gathering). It is a PERFECT place for a sales meeting or work retreat, etc... The property is stunning. Nature, horses, a beautiful pool & spa. Good music in the restaurant. Old timey mixed with new/eco.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was spacious and had two bathrooms. It was comfortable and warm (though the floor heat takes a long while to heat up -but space heaters are provided while you wait for the room to heat).

Positives: The setting, friendly service, nice pool & hot tub. Love the log cabins. Love the eco friendly approach to the Ranch.

Could be improved:
*Lighting outside the cabin up the walkway/path to the cabins. DARK. If your visions not so good, it is very hard to see your way from the driveway to the front door.
*Food in the restaurant- could be better. The fish tacos just didn't taste entirely fresh. Other dishes were just "so so".
*Coffee shop - nice and good light food/lunches.
*BUT...because this place is so remote, they should have a better selection of snacks to go (for sale) available 24/7 in the Lobby.
*Hangers! - only 2 hangers were available in the bedroom. No closet. Hangers hanging on a series of about 4 coat hooks. Not an easy way to hang up clothes without hangers - unless you want a hook dent in all your clothes....

Overall, a really really really nice place to visit and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lives4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Beauty doesn't begin to describe how amazing Devil's Thumb Ranch is! The setting is absolutely breathtaking against the snow dusted mountains. The chilly wind frosts patterns in the long fall grass. Layers of earth, plant, stone, cloud, and sky create soft stacks of every color as far as the eye can see. Inside the lodge you are greeted by friendly and eager staff that are accommodating and attentive. The decor is warm and inviting. At every turn, there is a comfy nook beckoning for you to sit for a spell and relax. The bed is soft and comforting. There are so many things to do at the Ranch that there's no need to plan for anything else. Or, you can just sit by one of the many fires and enjoy a good book while sinking into a cozy weathered couch.

Room Tip: Ask for a continental divide view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyJoyEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perdido Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The most comfortable, warm bed ever. After an incredible meal at the Ranch House Restaurant (onsite) and romantic fire in the antique filled cabin, to fall into the down comforter bed was just the perfect end to a wonderful day. Remember to pack your bathing suit so you can enjoy the heated indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, too! I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This resort is an opulent retreat with true Western style, comfort, and atmosphere. The lodge is full of wood and feels like the old west, while at the same time being comfortable and offering the amenities found at many 4-star resorts. The lodge has a large two-story restaurant with table seating, a western-feel bar, and super comfortable weathered leather couches, all centered around a massive four-sided, two-story river rock fireplace.

The guest rooms in the lodge have beautiful wood paneling, vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, and authentic Western decor. The bed was superb, as were the linens. The bath featured a river rock shower, a separate soaking tub, and heated tile floors (a must for Colorado falls and winters).

The views of the mountains from the lodge, the pool, the hot tub, and throughout the resort are spectacular.

Although I'd gladly stay at this resort again and would recommend it to almost anyone, I have to do so with a few caveats. Although this is a casual Western resort, they do host many weddings, and I did have occasion to iron some clothes. To my disappointment, the ironing board was very subpar. It was small (maybe two feet long and 8-10 inches wide), and was tabletop. It was very difficult to iron my clothes. Fortunately, I didn't need to iron slacks nor did my ironing need to be perfect, but I have come to expect full-size ironing boards in places like this. Had I needed to do such ironing, I would have been really frustrated. Turndown service happened at about 4:00PM, which seemed quite early. Also, the food was quite expensive. Although overall the food was good, I found the $10-12 cold cut sandwiches at the coffee shop to be quite overpriced for a simple assembled sandwich. The pool, hot tub, steam room, and sauna are not accessible directly from the lodge; you need to go outside and in to a separate building to access them. Although they have locker rooms in that separate building, it is a bit of a hassle to have to take your warm clothes and other possessions and deal with a locker just to frequent the pool or hot tub.

One final comment only to provide information to others, since it didn't bother me. This is an outdoors-focused resort, and it is among the splendor and beauty of the Colorado high country. That said, the resort emphasizes the outdoors and the activities that it offers. The TV in the room is quite small for a resort this size (32" maybe?), and only has about 7 channels: the major networks, ESPN, CNN, and Disney. This didn't bother me one bit, as I spent most of my time outdoors, however, it could be a problem for others expecting the typical large cable/satellite TV selection found at most resorts.

Overall, this place is a luxurious retreat and a true Western experience 9000 feet up in the Colorado high country.

Room Tip: Request a west-facing room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZY1237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabernash
5.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 15 in Winter Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
5.8 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Property: Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing