We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trailhead Inn(Winter Park)
US$155
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge(Winter Park)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Hi Motel(Winter Park)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestview Place(Winter Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
496
98
45
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
98
45
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgecross country skiingcoffee shopcontinental dividesleigh ridemovie theatersteam roomfire pitdevil's thumb ranch resorthorseback ridingair hockeyhot tubnordic skiingbeautiful propertyski trailszip liningnatural beauty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Devil's Thumb Ranch is very close (10 minutes) to the Winter Park ski area and about 1.5 hours from Denver. We have stayed here a couple of times and like the cabins. (there is the main lodge and also individual cabins a short distance from the main lodge) This ranch is incredible. The scenery is breathtaking. The main lodge is rustic and relaxing. Recommend a hike up the trails, or snow shoeing, horse ride, cross country ski, etc. Really a great place to get away. And very family friendly - the main lodge has a movie theater, game room with a small bowling alley, pool tables and other games. My kids really enjoyed the game room. The food and restaurants are excellent and there is good variety - you never have to leave the ranch. For lunch or more casual dining there is Heck's and for dinner the Ranch House Restaurant is perfect. Both have many organic and local items on the menu.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We recently attended a wedding at Devils Thumb Ranch. It is a beautiful venue....perfect Colorado! I have traveled extensively, lived abroad and stayed in many types of lodging around the world. I have never had to spend an entire day trying to reconcile my AmEx bill due to their arcane accounting practices. They create a mess with credits and debits .....which is totally unnecessary. They charge your card for a nights lodging at the time of reservation, then charge your balance a few weeks before your stay. They're reasoning is because someone could get away without paying. They really need to pass that along to the millions of independently owned lodging facilities throughout the world. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariann5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Was attending our nephew's wedding and we got in on Wed night. The place was quite empty as it is between seasons. Although we planned on dinner in the bar restaurant, we ended up at the higher end restaurant. What a great experience... We start at the bar, enjoyed 1/2 price bottle of wine. The dinner including Wagyu beef appetizer was fantastic. The bartender provided a great service experience.
The hotel itself is roomy, western and very comfortable. Our room was big and had great views. It's a bit of a trek from the Denver airport, but well worth the hair pin turns to get there. Would definitely consider this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToggyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at this property recently for a work function (small business gathering). It is a PERFECT place for a sales meeting or work retreat, etc... The property is stunning. Nature, horses, a beautiful pool & spa. Good music in the restaurant. Old timey mixed with new/eco.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was spacious and had two bathrooms. It was comfortable and warm (though the floor heat takes a long while to heat up -but space heaters are provided while you wait for the room to heat).

Positives: The setting, friendly service, nice pool & hot tub. Love the log cabins. Love the eco friendly approach to the Ranch.

Could be improved:
*Lighting outside the cabin up the walkway/path to the cabins. DARK. If your visions not so good, it is very hard to see your way from the driveway to the front door.
*Food in the restaurant- could be better. The fish tacos just didn't taste entirely fresh. Other dishes were just "so so".
*Coffee shop - nice and good light food/lunches.
*BUT...because this place is so remote, they should have a better selection of snacks to go (for sale) available 24/7 in the Lobby.
*Hangers! - only 2 hangers were available in the bedroom. No closet. Hangers hanging on a series of about 4 coat hooks. Not an easy way to hang up clothes without hangers - unless you want a hook dent in all your clothes....

Overall, a really really really nice place to visit and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lives4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Beauty doesn't begin to describe how amazing Devil's Thumb Ranch is! The setting is absolutely breathtaking against the snow dusted mountains. The chilly wind frosts patterns in the long fall grass. Layers of earth, plant, stone, cloud, and sky create soft stacks of every color as far as the eye can see. Inside the lodge you are greeted by friendly and eager staff that are accommodating and attentive. The decor is warm and inviting. At every turn, there is a comfy nook beckoning for you to sit for a spell and relax. The bed is soft and comforting. There are so many things to do at the Ranch that there's no need to plan for anything else. Or, you can just sit by one of the many fires and enjoy a good book while sinking into a cozy weathered couch.

Room Tip: Ask for a continental divide view room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyJoyEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews