We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Devil's Thumb is one of my favourite places to stay in Colorado. I grew up in Colorado but now live in London and make a point of trying to visit this resort whenever I visit home. It is the perfect balance between 5 star luxury and Colorado relaxation. The rooms, lobby, and general decor around the facilities are stunning. There is so much to do that you'll wish you had booked to stay longer. And to top it off, I felt 100% comfortable hanging out in Hex's restaurant in my favourite heels or in my ski-gear. The staff cater for everything you could wish for without feeling pretentious. This resort is truly a Colorado hidden gem that I plan to visit whenever I'm home.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the facilities of the resort, stay in the lodge. If you want seclusion, book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillbilly_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    87
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
225
210
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Definitely a first class resort.The lodge rooms are truly a wonderful experience, you won't want to leave, with down comforters and fireplaces and warmed bathroom floors for those cold mornings. The x country skiing is unbelievable, but they need to have a more flexible ski pass for their guests. To pay $20 for an hour of skiing is ridiculous. The Heck restaurant 's food is exceptional with a gorgeous setting, but beware when this place gets busy, it is a server's nightmare. The issue is one bar and a full restaurant and full bar seating equals disaster when busy. They need to have another bar or one upstairs for when this place gets packed. The hosts were pretty useless. Also beware of the coffee shop, check your drinks, they forgot to put chocolate in our hot chocolates 4 times.

Room Tip: Get a room not by hallway that goes to the game room if you want more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our children invited us to spend our 50th wedding anniversary at the Devil's Thumb Ranch. We have a place in the Winter Park area but to spend our anniversary in luxury was a real treat. There were 15 of us for dinner that night and Devil's Thumb went all out to make it an extra special dining experience and a very special weekend. We love this place... In the winter it is the best Xcountry skiing in Colorado and in the summer it is full of fun and mountain activities.

Room Tip: Room with a mountain view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a great long weekend at DTR. The place is really just a slice of heaven. Everything is perfect from the food to the service and the views. We cross country skied, spent time in the jacuzzi, sat by the fire, and even played a little pool. Fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamidah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at DTR two weeks ago and highly recommend this place! It's a beautiful resort outside of Fraser that is great for a weekend away.

The wine and cheese hour was a pleasant surprise at check-in and there are also great hh specials. There are two restaurants with a third place being constructed. Make sure to grab a Irish coffee or another spiked warm drink before taking advantage of the Xc-skiing.

The ski-shop is also top notch, I didn't bring the right jacket so I was glad they had a good selection of Patagonia and marmot to choose from and the staff was very knowledgeable.

*There is practically no AT&T/t-mobile service on the resort so you will need to rely on wi-fi during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My fiancé and I got to spend a couple of days here while visiting family for the Thanksgiving holiday. Being from California and now living in NY, it was exactly what I needed! This resort was just beautiful beyond words. The location views were like a dream, and the fresh snow on the mountains made everything so much cozier inside. The room was lovely and made me feel like I was in my very own little exotic cabin. (Restroom was beautiful!)

The breakfast down at Heck's was delicious - I had the French toast and my fiancé had a to-die-for Mexican scramble. I would recommend both. (YUM)

Another thing I'd recommend is taking advantage of the cross country skiing the resort offers. A great exercise and really fun when you get to go down those small hills. Perfect family activity, and if you don't have the right gear you can always purchase whatever you need down at the ski store. They have a great selection of coats, sweaters, gloves, etc.

There is also an amazing cafe across from the ski rental store. I had a really good breakfast bagel sandwich and ordered some pastries to go on my last morning. Planned on eating them on my flight but they were too good to resist - that strawberry cream puff was amazing!

Miss this place already and can't wait to visit again! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

DTR has long been a special treat for our family, but for the past few years we've made a point to visit in their "off-season" before holiday madness begins. We spent the kids' Thanksgiving break here this year and I'm committing to doing it every year now. They had special activities planned, live music, s'mores on the patio - it sure didn't feel like off-season to me, and it was so nice to just chill. We've stayed in cabins and lodge before but this year got to try their brand new lodge. It's a short walk from the main one, but the views more than make up for it! All the rooms had their own porch with rocking chairs that looked out across the property up to the Continental Divide. It felt like we had our own private mountain home. With a housekeeper! Fluffy bed, fireplace, and that awesome silence that comes with snow falling outside the window. Can't recommend it enough. The resort is growing, but it seems like thoughtful expansion.

Room Tip: Ask about their new "High Lonesome Lodge." Brand new rooms and the best views of the surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabernash
19.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
515 reviews
5.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
497 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
188 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 15 in Winter Park
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Property: Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing