We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Heck's Tavern, not the Resort”

Heck's at Devil's Thumb Ranch
Reserve with OpenTable
Heck's at Devil's Thumb Ranch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Tabernash
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed 12 January 2012

it was my birthday so we ventured away from Winter Park to find a nice place to dine. What a disappointment! The place itself was beautiful, but where should I start with the rest..... First of all, we were greeted by a snooty hostess and although the place was more than half empty, she scoffed when we said we didn't have reservations. We like to sit at the bar so we asked to sit at a high top table in the bar. We waited for an unacceptable amount of time for a server. (the buss boy was great, promptly bringing water and bread and even fixing the wobbly table for us). My husband finally went to the bar to ask the bartender who was responsible for our table; turns out she was,and 1 person was sitting at the bar! We ordered what turned out to be the best thing about our entire meal, a nice bottle of locally produced wine. The carpaccio was sliced way too thick and was seared, albeit mostly rare in the middle, not raw the way it should be. Although the meat was mostly tender the sauce on it, I can't even remember what is was, was awful! The salad were ordered were ok, nothing spectacular, but both of our entrees were mediocre at best, over priced, and for the most part a rip off. The bartender turned out to be very nice, and they did comp a desert for my birthday. It was a very sad b-day dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank NoKidsNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfanch, Owner at Heck's at Devil's Thumb Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Oh, my what a terrible way to spend your birthday. While we feel Heck's is a wonderful spot for a casual dining experience, we sincerely regret that you had less than the dinner you had hoped for. Hopefully, you will give us another opportunity to "WOW" you the next time you are in Grand County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 296 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2016
Google Translation

Thank izabelle2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014
Google Translation

Thank Astyanax75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ammiratorediNapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heck's at Devil's Thumb Ranch also viewed

 
Winter Park, Grand County
Fraser, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
 

Been to Heck's at Devil's Thumb Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing