We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

I've reviewed the Hotel Columbia before, and have no new information regarding the hotel itself. It is a small gem in a fantastic location. My trip this year was remarkable because of the service of Scott and his staff. I won't bore readers with all the specifics, but due to some last minute scheduling changes revolving around a family illness, I needed to make a number of changes to my itinerary. The Hotel Columbia handled everything seamlessly, even though the changes I made were to its financial detriment. No questions asked, just a full helping of cheerful hospitality. Priceless! Scott, Mindy, Rhea and the entire staff know something about running a boutique hotel and making guests feel at home. It is somewhat hard to explain, but the feeling is inescable. It isn't about ostentatious luxury It is a relaxed vibe and flawless execution that will appeal to the discerning traveler. Thanks Hotel Columbia. See you next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    36
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
145
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Rooms are very nice, Just feet from the gondola and great food. Stayed here last year and coming back again later in March.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradbarr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We have visited Telluride for many years, but this was our first stay at the Columbia Hotel. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary. When we arrived we were pleased to find ourselves in a warm, lovingly decorated room with champagne on ice and anniversary greeting! Bed and bath were comfy and luxurious and the breakfast delectable. Of course the location can not be beat and the hotel personnel were the icing on the cake! Thank you Columbia Hotel! I almost believe you arranged the best skiing of the season just for us! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obgrnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

I know, I'm repeating what has already been said. If you like small, well appointed boutique hotels, with caring, professional & attentive service, and the very best location in Telluride, Hotel Columbia is the place to stay. The staff, led by assist mgr Rhea, could not have been more welcoming or attentive. We loved our 1 BR suite, just a short walk to/from the gondola and lift 8. We loved the view from our room and decks - beyond gorgeous! The included "continental" breakfast was so far superior to most that I could write 3 paragraphs just on that - in brief, daily wonderful fresh fruit, 2 hot items (a daily quiche and other meat/cheese savory, e.g. spinach & feta empanadas one morning), on-site baked bagels & bread, on-site smoked salmon, and a daily assortment of meats and cheeses which included thin slices of rare filet mignon. Oh, and did I mention great coffee too? Ok, so I gained 3 lbs on the breakfast alone! Nobody forced me and I truly enjoyed every bite, every morning! The hotel has a lovely lobby, convenient ski locker room, and a very pretty staircase with a 3 story water wall which was a nice touch (I try to take stairs whenever I can, so appreciated the light & open space). We had not been to Telluride in 25 years, and were thrilled with the accommodations & service @ Hotel Columbia - hope that we can return much sooner for another stay here. It was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB-likes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

This hotel is fantastic. Long story but we were unable to make it in 2010 and wow did we miss out. Small and personable w/ a fantastic location across from the gondola. We had our own private ski locker and access to a boot dryer. The restaurant is top notch as well. Rooms were well appointed and staff was terrific. We both stay at hotels for work all over the country (100+ night each/year), Hotel Columbia is right up there w/ Four Seasons and Ritz-Carlton (obviously different property types) but I would NEVER hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend or business associate. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Fellow Travellers
This Amazing hotel is perfectly situated at the base of the free Telluride Gondola . ( every skiers dream )
The friendliness and professional attitude of all the management and staff at Columbia were beyond my belief .
I have travelled well and stayed in many hotels , and this one is without a doubt the finest .
I have already taken great pride in expressing all the wonderful attributes of Hotel Columbia , to my friends and fellow skiers .
Kind Regards
Stephen
Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srsski88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

This was our second stay at Hotel Columbia. We loved it so much last year, we decided to return this year. The staff is so friendly that I felt like I was coming home. Love them all. The hotel is very clean and housekeeping does an excellent job. Dinner at The Cosmopolitan was delicious. Will definitely eat there again on our next stay at Hotel Columbia.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SulaHula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#2 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing