We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Boutique Hotel...so close to five stars”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Boutique Hotel...so close to five stars”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia in late November soon after they opened for the winter season.
I wanted a location in downtown Telluride as I prefer the atmosphere over Mountain Village.
The hotel's location cannot be beat. It is central to everything Telluride. Parking is reasonable at 20.00 USD a night but it is very limited and you will need to leave your keys at the front desk which is a bit of a pain.
The manager Rachel Loomis was very helpful with pre check in information as we were arriving late in the evening. Most of the other staff was very friendly especially one of the front desk managers in the morning: I think his name was Ben (?). He had a big beard and was super nice and helpful. One of the other women at the front was pretty cold and it didn't seem like she liked her job or wanted to be there. She could barely say hi or good morning during breakfast.
The breakfast which is included is nice but wasn't quite what was described on the website. There was toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and a daily bread with milk, juice and coffee. I assumed this was because it was early season and the restaurant wasn't in full swing.
The only complaints I have were that we made the reservations online and I missed the part about it being a pet friendly hotel. We must have had a dog room because my fiance and I were sneezing the whole time. Not a big deal but kind of a pain. I also overheard the front desk saying they had to put a last minute dog reservation in a non pet room so I guess be careful when you are making the reservation if you are severely allergic. I am not sure how careful they are of keeping pet free rooms truly free.
Overall the rooms were very large for the price and I was very happy with the stay. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask or specify pet or no pet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Matthew,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with Hotel Columbia.

During the first part of the season we did have a scaled back version of complimentary breakfast. However, as of early December , we have expanded our deluxe breakfast. The pastry-chef of the Cosmopolitan restaurant makes home-made granola, bread, quiche, and a variety of baked goods and pastries that change daily. In addition, we offer a meat and cheese platter, smoked salmon, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, yogurt, oatmeal and a vast array of fresh fruit and so much more! You will be truly impressed the next time you return!

Although we are a pet friendly hotel, we do take great strides to thoroughly clean each room that has been occupied by a pet. There is quite a process that goes into it and we are confident you would never know a pet had even been in the room. When you arrived, we had just finished putting in all new carpeting throughout the hotel and had not had any dogs on property until that date.

Thank you once again for the valuable feedback. and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Columbia in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Rachel Loomis-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    36
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
156
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Before I even arrived received welcoming emails from the hotel Concierge and the hotel manager herself Rachel Loomis, who was amazingly helpful with just about any questions I had while staying there.

The room itself was great. Spent 4 nights in the King Hot Tub suite and with the gas fireplace and incredible hot tub - was in heaven. The last nite was moved to a superior King room (#31) and loved it as well. Lots of windows to open for fresh air and great views down the valley. Having an amazing restaurant in the hotel wasn't such a bad thing either. I usually started the evening with a glass of wine and an appetizer at the bar inside the restaurant, and the bartenders were just as awesome as the hotel staff.

Was also nice that every morning after the breakfast buffet was over, the hotel staff put out a pot of hot coffee and jug of iced lemon water for its guests.

Highly, highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: #31 faced west down the valley (opposite of Town Park end) - beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coppertopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia for 2 nights in early October 2013. We made our reservation on short notice because we had to change our itinerary due to the US government shutdown's effects on national parks. We had planned to visit Black Canyon of the Gunnisonational Park near Montrose, CO, but it closed as of Oct. 1, so we decided to go to Telluride instead. We're really glad we did -- we absolutely loved the small town atmosphere of Telluride and our stay the Hotel Columbia was absolutely perfect. The room had a small but nice balcony looking right out on the mountains with their fall foliage aflame, a nice gas fireplace, and very nice modern furnishings. The location right across the street from the gondola and in the thick of all the town's restaurants, shops, and walking paths was perfect. The free breakfast was served in the hotel's restaurant and it was a wonderful hot buffet -- best free hotel breakfast we've had in a long time! Free parking was provided off-street, but with an insufficient number of spaces they had to use tandem parking and we had to leave our car keys at the desk. But it was no problem at all and they quickly retrieved the car when we needed it. Front desk staff was really friendly and helpful to us. We loved our stay and highly recommend the Hotel Columbia!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great hotel, wodnerful location. Highly reccomend staying here. Location is key, close to gondola for easy access to Mtn Village, love being able to walk to town, easy access to Telluride restaurants.


Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank michele q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Terrific location next to the gondola with a wonderful view of the mountains. Our room was small but adequate. Furniture is chipped and stained. Bathroom door scraped loudly on tile floor and did not close properly. When we reported that to the front desk they said it was on their list to fix when the hotel closes for a month late in October. Huh! Walls very thin. Next door TV loud. Buffet breakfast included. Staff quite friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAHWilmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just spent 5 wonderful nights here. We've stayed here a few times before, but not since a major renovation several years ago. Our room was nicely updated and very bright, thanks to several windows that faced the gondola and the bottom of the ski hill. There is essentially no lobby, as the restaurant now extends into the lobby space; and they no longer have the beautiful library they used to have, which is unfortunate. Our room was a touch small, but excellently designed to make efficient use of the space. Although we had been camping/hiking and had lots of gear with us, we were able to completely unpack and organize our things. The kitchentte is fabulously convenient to have, too. There are 21 rooms, and dogs are allowed on the second and fourth floors. I really appreciate that they take dogs, but the fee of $25/day is high, especially for people who stay several nights. We were on the second floor, just over the bar/restaurant. It was a bit noisy at night with the gondola, the music from downstairs, and the people below our window on the sidewalk. But this is a small price to pay for the great location and lovely room. A very nice breakfast is included in the room rate: quiche, yogurt, granola, pastries, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and bagels. On site parking is $20/day if you can't get one of the few parking spots on the street. The staff are very efficient - our shower wasn't draining well, and it was fixed within an hour of when I reported it. Impressive! We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for a business trip - first time in Telluride. Dog friendly hotel, gives it a very friendly feel; all amenities were lovely. Breakfast was wonderful, high quality food. Friendly and helpful staff.
Stayed in a corner suite (lots of windows and 2 balconies!) facing the gondola (which is right across the street), with kitchen, living room, and bedroom and 1.5 baths. The living room was a nice place for company informal gatherings, which was a nice, occasional alternative to going out - comfortably accommodated 9 people with the addition of a few of the dining room chairs. (There's a great liquor store and also a market close by, which is quite convenient if you want to bring in food and wine.) Highly recommended ... but there's a few things to know:
1) make sure you know how to use the keypad on the door to get in after hours. Ask to be shown - this wasn't straightforward and I almost locked myself out at 5 a.m. (staff doesn't arrive until later);
2) if you stay in a room facing the gondola, you WILL wake up when it starts at 6 a.m., and sometimes hear noise from people approaching the gondola (it's a busy spot);
3) the coffee pots in 3 different rooms in our party didn't work properly and shut themselves off before brewing - the staff cheerfully replaced these with working units, but my recommendation would be to test yours right away when you get into the room -- make a cup of tea to make sure it works; it's not fun to be coffee-less at the time I get up in the morning! ... I suspect this is a transient problem.
And just one minor critique of that magnificent suite - it was oddly lacking in drawer space. I would recommend to the hotel that they add one more bureau to the bedroom. It's OK for an overnight stay, but a bit tight for the luggage that comes with a 2+-night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
900 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing