We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Columbia- Telluride, Colorado”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
“Hotel Columbia- Telluride, Colorado”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Rachel (Gen. Mgr.) runs a superb operation: Hotel Columbia is a one-minute walk in ski boots, to the gondola, in a great location in Telluride. Outstanding included breakfast, Cosmo's restaurant, friendly staff, super rooms. Just spent 7 nights on a ski trip. This is an all-time favorite!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    36
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
151
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We recently spent our 25th wedding anniversary in Telluride, Colorado staying at the Hotel Columbia for six nights. From the time we made our reservation until the time we checked out there was one common theme about this hotel .....customer service. They truly understand the definition of hospitality.....they being Rachel, Ben, Mindy and the entire staff. The hotel offers wonderful rooms with quality bathrooms, a terrific breakfast buffet, great ski lockers, is so close to the gondola it makes hitting the slopes just so easy. The restaurant, Cosmopolitan, which is independent from the hotel offers a fantastic apres ski and dinner (separate review). All in all if you want a very quiet, convenient and luxury boutique hotel in the town of Telluride, Hotel Columbia is the place to stay. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are a number of good rooms. I would suggest if you're picky about choice, call the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paniolo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Telluride and Hotel Columbia in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

4 of us drove into Telluride without a hotel reservation, after looking at a few places we found the Hotel Columbia. Everything about our stay was great! Location, rooms, amenities, views and breakfast were all top-notch. The hotel is located right next to the gondola that goes up to the Mountain Village and is also a stones throw away from all of the downtown bars and restaurants. The Hotel Columbia made our Telluride trip perfect and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHutton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We loved having you guys here! Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Telluride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am picky when it comes to hotels. I don't like to spend buckets of money. I love small, intimate, well-run, boutique hotels. The Hotel Columbia was an amazing hotel to stay in during my recent visit.

The entire staff including Mindy, Ben, and Rachel (the GM who's always there making sure guests are taken care of) go out of their way to make you feel at home.

The restaurant in the hotel is off-the-charts great. Happy hour rocks every night. The place is packed with people and the food is amazing. Great bar area.

Location. How can you beat it? You can't. Walk out of the hotel from their ski valet room and you're less than 100 yards to the Gondola or the face of Telluride mountain! Easy on. Easy off.

Walking distance to everything! Gondola gets you up to Mountain Village and all the amazing vertical plunges on this mountain.

My new home away from home.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms at the front are amazing. Some foot traffic at nights might awaken light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel has in all...SUPER location, beautiful updated decor, great restaurant (fabulous complimentary breakfast!!!) and tremendous staff. Ria, Rachel and Ben were wonderful hosts.
I highly recommend this hotel to all - a terrific experience!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheznous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Hotel Columbia. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. Try the summer, its an amazing time of year to be in Telluride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia in late November soon after they opened for the winter season.
I wanted a location in downtown Telluride as I prefer the atmosphere over Mountain Village.
The hotel's location cannot be beat. It is central to everything Telluride. Parking is reasonable at 20.00 USD a night but it is very limited and you will need to leave your keys at the front desk which is a bit of a pain.
The manager Rachel Loomis was very helpful with pre check in information as we were arriving late in the evening. Most of the other staff was very friendly especially one of the front desk managers in the morning: I think his name was Ben (?). He had a big beard and was super nice and helpful. One of the other women at the front was pretty cold and it didn't seem like she liked her job or wanted to be there. She could barely say hi or good morning during breakfast.
The breakfast which is included is nice but wasn't quite what was described on the website. There was toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and a daily bread with milk, juice and coffee. I assumed this was because it was early season and the restaurant wasn't in full swing.
The only complaints I have were that we made the reservations online and I missed the part about it being a pet friendly hotel. We must have had a dog room because my fiance and I were sneezing the whole time. Not a big deal but kind of a pain. I also overheard the front desk saying they had to put a last minute dog reservation in a non pet room so I guess be careful when you are making the reservation if you are severely allergic. I am not sure how careful they are of keeping pet free rooms truly free.
Overall the rooms were very large for the price and I was very happy with the stay. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask or specify pet or no pet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Matthew,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with Hotel Columbia.

During the first part of the season we did have a scaled back version of complimentary breakfast. However, as of early December , we have expanded our deluxe breakfast. The pastry-chef of the Cosmopolitan restaurant makes home-made granola, bread, quiche, and a variety of baked goods and pastries that change daily. In addition, we offer a meat and cheese platter, smoked salmon, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, yogurt, oatmeal and a vast array of fresh fruit and so much more! You will be truly impressed the next time you return!

Although we are a pet friendly hotel, we do take great strides to thoroughly clean each room that has been occupied by a pet. There is quite a process that goes into it and we are confident you would never know a pet had even been in the room. When you arrived, we had just finished putting in all new carpeting throughout the hotel and had not had any dogs on property until that date.

Thank you once again for the valuable feedback. and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Columbia in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Rachel Loomis-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Before I even arrived received welcoming emails from the hotel Concierge and the hotel manager herself Rachel Loomis, who was amazingly helpful with just about any questions I had while staying there.

The room itself was great. Spent 4 nights in the King Hot Tub suite and with the gas fireplace and incredible hot tub - was in heaven. The last nite was moved to a superior King room (#31) and loved it as well. Lots of windows to open for fresh air and great views down the valley. Having an amazing restaurant in the hotel wasn't such a bad thing either. I usually started the evening with a glass of wine and an appetizer at the bar inside the restaurant, and the bartenders were just as awesome as the hotel staff.

Was also nice that every morning after the breakfast buffet was over, the hotel staff put out a pot of hot coffee and jug of iced lemon water for its guests.

Highly, highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: #31 faced west down the valley (opposite of Town Park end) - beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coppertopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
863 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing