We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACEFUL HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed over only one night on our trip of Colorado. The parking costs extra but worth it especially as Telluride was extra busy due to a festival about to take place. Hotel Columbia is directly across the road from the free gondolas which take you up to one station then down again to the mountain village. Our room and bathroom was very spacious, bright and clean. It overlooked the side of the hotel and had a small balcony. Hotel is situated in a quiet part of the town so a peaceful night was had in a very large comfy bed in a superior king room. Breakfast was a little bit of a let down for a hotel of that standard, even though it was complimentary, maybe that's the American way. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I think there is a fitness room and roof top hot tub but we didn't have time to check this out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrab58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks so much for joining us at the Hotel Columbia, and for providing your feedback on the overall experience. We are always striving to improve our guests experience. If you have any suggestions on what would have made the breakfast a little better for you, please email me at rachel@columbiatelluride.com. Come back and join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a really nice, quiet hotel - my room was very comfortable and the bathroom very spacious. It is centrally located, but nevertheless it is very quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escaliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much to your warm response to all that we strive for here at our hotel in the heart of Telluride. We truly enjoyed having you here and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Columbia in the near future!

I will pass on your kind comments about our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights May 25-27th. We had room 40 which was a superior king room. It was very nice indeed. The heated floors in the bathroom were nice and the shower was nice and big. We had a small balcony with a view of the gondola. Service was great and they were quick to a large load of laundry done in about 3 hours. The breakfast was good, European style with cold cuts and bread and fruit and eggs. Nice location and would stay there again next time go to telluride!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mldotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are so glad you decided to stay in town at the Hotel Columbia and enjoyed your visit. our entire staff prides themselves on service and making guests feel right at home. Thank you for your kind words, Rachel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wow. What a great place!! Lodging in Telluride is challenging at best, and while there are a number of boutique or historic options available in town, if you look for honest and practical comfort, a smiling and proactive staff, and perfect location (literally, it could not be any better for a savvy and intelligent traveler) there is nothing better than the Columbia Hotel.

Seriously, from General Manager Rachel Loomis-Lee down to the housekeeping staff and window washers, every member of the Hotel Columbia troupe is top notch, and down-to-earth. Friendly, helpful, and engaging - these people are simply wonderful.

The hotel is beautiful, and the rooms are extremely comfortable and elegant. If this is what you are seeking, you only have one place to look.

Room Tip: Rooms are great - views of Telluride are everywhere. Pretty much can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinjin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Hotel Columbia! We truly enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wonderful hotel with charming views of the Gondola, hill and residences. This hotel is practically in front of the Gondola which takes you to the hill as well as the Village. It is also approximately only 2-3 blocks from the main street, and 1 block to a ski rental store. The beds are comfortable, nice chairs and small desk, and the kitchenette more than adequate. The bathrooms are my favorite. They provide soap and shampoo and the walls and floors are a type of material which retains heat. This combined with a tall shower glass, the shower becomes a steam bath practically, and my favorite is the heated flooring which you can regulate on your own with a switch on the bathroom wall. A heated towel rack, nice toiletries including chapstick are a nice addition and the staff is great! This was my second visit to this hotel, which has an excellent restaurant downstairs, and I will stay here on our next visit too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Hotel Columbia. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. Try the summer, its an amazing time of year to be in Telluride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have been meaning to write a review since I stayed at this hotel last September!

I love everything about this hotel. It is a wonderful family run, Boutique Hotel at the base of the mountain. I actually found them through Craigs List or VRBO, or one of those. I never expected to get such a fantastic, large room for such a reasonable price. Our room had a King bed and sitting area, a back balcony through the bathroom, an awesome, hug claw foot tub, and a refrigerator and kitchenette. It was also very modern, clean, and up to date.

It also had a wonderful buffet breakfast every morning and a delicious Happy Hour in the Cosmopolitan. As a business owner, I know what it means to take pride in what you do. There is an extra element of service added because it is family owned and run. They really go the extra mile to accommodate you.

I recommend this hotel to everyone passing through Telluride.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Hotel Columbia. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. Try the summer, its an amazing time of year to be in Telluride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! We got the room with a hot tub on the balcony and a seperate 1 bdrm. This room was perfect for us and our two kids. There were so many extra amenities thought of. Down to a very good chapstick in the room.

Needless to say the star gazing in the hot tub was extremely relaxing. The hotel is across the street from the gondola. The breakfast was the most enjoyable free hotel breakfast I've ever had. It had smoked salmon even.

Pay a lil extra and indulge at the Columbia!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank EColclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
997 reviews
2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range: £273 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing