We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Telluride "home"”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2010

As a first-time visitor to Telluride I couldn't have a chosen a better place to base my stay. Steps from the ski locker to the gondola, the convenience and charm of this hotel made it the perfect choice.
The room was large and well-appointed, with a sitting area, king bed, kitchenette and luxurious bathroom. You can watch the gondola climb up the hill from your bay window in room 30 and glimpse the mountains from the back balcony off the bathroom.
The staff is friendly and professional and never tired of my endless questions. Rhea and Scott helped with emails before my arrival and everyone made you feel at home.
The Cosmo restaurant deserves the accolades. Best meal and service (thanks Marnie!) of my trip. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akolea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

Conveniently located across the street from the gondola, the Hotel Columbia offers all of the amenities in an intimate, low-key environment. The rooms provide amazing views of the mountain, and are beautifully decorated and comfortable as well. The suites are spacious and luxurious- complete with a private hot tub on the balcony that is especially spectacular on a snowy night. The complimentary breakfast offers a lot of variety and is very tasty- the perfect send-off for a day of skiing. Lastly, the locker room on the ground level, with its heated boot-warmers, is indicative of the unique and exceptional care given to guests of the Hotel Columbia.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rikijo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia for 1 night during a very stormy weekend in Telluride. We brought our 45 lb black lab with us. This hotel "gets it". It's beautifuly decorated, they are very accomodating, they love pets, I mean - they even offered to watch our dog while we skied all day....How many hotels would do that? Our room was great. I will say that there were some doors slamming and some noise in the hallway at 6:00 a.m. Not sure what it was - maybe other guests leaving for the airport, but I was awaken by the noise. The thin walls were in the bathroom for sure. i could hear the toiliet next door flush and the guy peeing...but that did not bother me because obviously - you don't sleep in the bathroom. The tub was awesome! the shower was awesome! and our room was just great. We parked right there, and we were literally 20 steps from the gondola. Food and drinks were great. I recommend this hotel highly!!! worth every penny if you have a pet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goreranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

great hotel, great breakfast. pet friendly. outstanding staff. would reccomend

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigbypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Just returned from a ski trip to Telluride, where we stayed at the Hotel Columbia. The location is the best - only a few steps from the gondola. We stayed in a roomy, well decorated suite with a living room, kitchenette and 1 1/2 baths overlooking the slopes. The service was terrific - the staff went out of their way to be accomodating. I much prefer staying in town to Mountain Village, where we stayed on our last trip, as most of the good restaurants and activities are in Telluride. Their Cosmopolitan Restaurant is one of the best in town. An added bonus was free lift tickets as part of the package. We will make this hotel our base in Telluride from now on.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed at a gorgeous 1 Bedroom Suite the week of January 18th. Room overlooked the river, the gondola, and had an amazing view up the mountain. The Cosmo restaurant served an amazing sushi appetizer and the staff was phenomenal. Every morning we had fresh fruit, bagels, pastries and a different quiche to keep us on our toes.

The rooms were perfect, the staff was great, and the location has to be the best spot in town. Would stay here every chance I get.

Love Telluride and Love the Hotel Columbia!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbstevegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We had a comfortable room with a nice view at Hotel Columbia - great bed. The breakfast was delicious and the restaurant in the hotel had a nice menu too. The hotel is nicely located in the town of Telluride; conveniently located next to the Gondola. The best part of the Hotel was the friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to a friend visiting Telluride.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
937 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range: £171 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing