We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really don't want to let everyone know”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This hotel is fantastic. Long story but we were unable to make it in 2010 and wow did we miss out. Small and personable w/ a fantastic location across from the gondola. We had our own private ski locker and access to a boot dryer. The restaurant is top notch as well. Rooms were well appointed and staff was terrific. We both stay at hotels for work all over the country (100+ night each/year), Hotel Columbia is right up there w/ Four Seasons and Ritz-Carlton (obviously different property types) but I would NEVER hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend or business associate. Well done!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pigeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

Fellow Travellers
This Amazing hotel is perfectly situated at the base of the free Telluride Gondola . ( every skiers dream )
The friendliness and professional attitude of all the management and staff at Columbia were beyond my belief .
I have travelled well and stayed in many hotels , and this one is without a doubt the finest .
I have already taken great pride in expressing all the wonderful attributes of Hotel Columbia , to my friends and fellow skiers .
Kind Regards
Stephen
Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srsski88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This was our second stay at Hotel Columbia. We loved it so much last year, we decided to return this year. The staff is so friendly that I felt like I was coming home. Love them all. The hotel is very clean and housekeeping does an excellent job. Dinner at The Cosmopolitan was delicious. Will definitely eat there again on our next stay at Hotel Columbia.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SulaHula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

My wife and I stayed for only one night as I had some business to take care of in Telluride. We came in from Cortez for me to do some work, and, to just see some snow. We are so glad that we stayed here. We had our two small dogs with us and they are very dog-friendly (they provided bowls, a mat and housemade dog treats). Also, they do not hold you up as many other places do when you bring your pets.
From beginning to end, the staff do everything in their power to truly make sure that all is well. The room was excellent! In their remodel, they made sure that fit and finish of the hotel was done to perfection. The rooms have upscale amenities (even lip balm), rainfall showerheads, wonderfully comfortable bedding, super plush robes, heated bathroom floors, free internet access, humidifiers, flat screens, and, even pod-style coffee makers with cocoa, GOOD coffee and a couple of different teas. The rooms also feature a stocked minibar (no alcohol) with prices that don't make you cringe.
The included continental breakfast is provided at Cosmopolitain, the in-house restaurant (they also have a restaurant in Durango that is a regular haunt for us). To state it as continental in an understatement. You truly could not buy a better breakfast in Telluride. Featured was a WIDE assortment of really good and fresh fruit, in-house baked pastries and breads (the quiche and sausage empanadas were stellar), juices, homemade granola, cold cereals...well, I could go on...
As far as location, you are right across the street from the gondola and just a few minute walk to downtown.
We WILL keep this place as our default for anytime we stay in Durango.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimFoster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Hotel Columbia is in the perfect location, close to the gondola as well as all of the shops/restaurants. The rooms offer more than expected with great views, heated bathroom floors, fireplace, kitchenette and very comfy beds. The complimentary breakfast is amazing, different pastries every morning. The staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Hotel Columbia is in a great location and all accommodations were excellant. We had a great visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Geez - is this place nice, or what? I recently completed a 10 day 2600 mile road trip through Arizona, Utah and Colorado. This was the best place I stayed on the entire trip. Usually, if location is top notch, something else disappoints - not here. Everything was beyond nice - staff, food, rooms. And who could ever complain about heated bathroom floors? What a treat on a cold morning. I stayed only 2 nights, but could have stayed a week. Room was perfect, albeit an odd placed large flat screen TV. I like to watch TV from bed, and this was not possible in room 20. TV is placed far away in another area of the room. Not all bad though - this area had 2 chairs and a great comfy sofa. I took the down comforter off the bed and made one heck of a nest of the sofa. Living at its finest. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Telluride
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
978 reviews
2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range: £228 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing