We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 6 with a hairdryer!”
Review of The Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victorian Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
A TripAdvisor Member
963
Reviewed 7 October 2005

This was the least expensive accommodation I could find in Telluride and it showed. The best thing I can say about it is the location is ideal, steps from the free gondola ride and a five minute walk from the restaurants of downtown.

Budget travelers who have stayed at Motel 6 will feel right at home. No soap (a liquid body wash container was installed in the shower), come to think of it, Motel 6 gives you soap! No shampoo, no air conditioning but you do get a hair dryer. Worst of all is the noise of traffic outside on the street and foot traffic on the property walking the wooden platforem that circumnavigates the Inn. Top it off with 3 tables in the breakfast area for 33 units and it doesn't open until 8:00AM.

Do stay here if you are a budget traveler and heavy sleeper. Don't stay here if you're looking for some amenities and need a good night's sleep or want coffee before 8:00 AM.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2005

As far as hotel rates in Telluride, yes it is affordable. However at the rate of $109/night - not that great of a deal. Our room was a corner room facing the hot tub. The room was under the outdoor stairs leading to the top floor - oh my, it is very loud at all times of the day and night. If you end up staying here make sure your room is not under the stairs. We also found the room to be very dark. The lighting in the room is poor. While the breakfast is nice, the room it's served in is very small and makes it a chore to even grab a cup of coffee. The positives: the staff was very friendly, the room was clean, and tasty morning cinnamon rolls. Earlier in the month we stayed in a studio condo in the Telluride Mountain Lodge for around $150/night: Nice sized newer room, nice furnishings, fireplace, kitchen, our own deck, swimming pool - a much better value.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveling George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2005

Having read the other reviews, I booked the Inn with a little trepidation, but being President's Day weekend all other accommodation was much more expensive anywhere else in Telluride.

Well it was a very pleasant surprise, location was excellent (one block from the FREE gondola, one block from Main Street, lots of shopping and restaurants nearby). There are only a limited number of parking spaces behind the Inn but if you find a space on the street then the Inn will provide you a free street parking pass.

The breakfast was good - yoghurt, hot rolls, oatmeal, juice, coffee, hot chocolate etc. There are microwaves in the breakfast area that the staff let us use at other times of the day to heat water or food.

The room was fairly tight but ample for two people. It wouldn't be so good if you had young children as the flex from wiring was loosely tacked around the walls, right down to floor level in some cases. The room had a small fridge and the washbasin was in the main living area, separate from the small bathroom.

Yes the wooden boards running around the inn are noisy with ski boots but that's only for the time people are leaving in the morning and returning in the late afternoon. We didn't use the spa or sauna but they looked in good condition. The tax on the room was 16% but having not stayed in Telluride before we didn't know if this differs from elsewhere, but it does add a reasonable amount to the advertised rate.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2005

If you like having rooms so hot at night (even with the thermostat turned all the way down) you wake up sweating, and loud walking all day and night on the wooden walkways outside, then you'll love this place! We had to sleep at night with the windows open to make the room bearable (now remember, this is in January)! We were told it must be the heat from the rooms underneath us making it so uncomfortable (we were on the 2nd floor). We talked to other guests and they complained their room were too hot also.
The walkways encircling the rooms are wooden planks and every step anyone took on them, you could hear all over the hotel. Especially when they were walking with ski boots on, it was extremely loud. We didn't have 1 nights sleep that was we weren't woken up several times during the night by this disturbance.
The rooms were so-so. I expected a little nicer room for the price we were charged. Just 2 beds, a little bathroom area, and small bathroom. The refrigerator in the room is extrememly small. When trying to dry my hair, the blowdryer worked for 2 minutes before going out.
The "free" breakfast was sparse in selection and volume for the amount of people staying there. They only have 2 to 3 tables in a very small lobby that everyone tries to fit into. Most people just took back whatever they could get back to their rooms since there wasn't anywhere to sit.
The night clerk was extremely nice and I am sorry I didn't get his name. He was the only bright spot during our stay there. Needless to say we were very disappointed with our stay there.

4  Thank Karshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
423
Reviewed 3 September 2003

We stayed at the Victorian Inn in late August. Although the $89 per night rate was probably fair for the town, the inn is too noisy. It's located at an intersection, with one of the streets a hill. Much of the night was spent listening to vehicles accelerate as they went up the hill or brake as they descended. There was also construction in the next lot, and the workers started much earlier than anyone at the inn would have liked. The wooden "boardwalk" also produces noise when people walk on it with hard-soled shoes.If you should choose to stay at the inn, be sure to ask for a quiet room. There must be at least one!Breakfast is provided, but the selection is limited --cookies and sweet roles plus coffee and juice.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel Eduardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountainside Inn
Mountainside Inn
#6 of 11 in Telluride
218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Telluride
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#3 of 11 in Telluride
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range: £91 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn's charming style blends beautifully w/Telluride's turn of the century architecture - Adjacent to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Telluride
Victorian Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing