We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Ice House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ice House Lodge
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I just stayed at the Ice House Lodge with my fiance while on a short summer trip to Telluride. The location and accommodations were excellent. Our 3rd floor suite was spacious and very well appointed. Be sure to have a drink at Rico's bar inside the hotel - it's a true hidden gem. The proprietor Rico is the salt of the earth, the heart and soul of Telluride. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    26
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
38
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Centerton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This hotel is in a perfect spot for parking your car and walking to explore Telluride. It's close to main street and the gondola and has a cute little bar on the 3rd floor and what looked like a special restaurant outside. The lobby/seating area is done well- very Telluride!

The rooms are spacious- very much have a lodge/campy feel and there is a nice deck where you can open the door and feel the cool breezes in the summer. The bed was comfy- robes were supplied to go use the pool which was in the building next door.

The bathrooms have been modernized- really don't match the room decor- and I must say that when designers do "modern upscale" they should have to use the facilities before they commit to them. The sink was a high big bowl- hard and awkward to use. The tub/shower was high which would be nice for a long soaking but difficult to get in and out of. Even my husband who is 6" said it was not a user-friendly bathroom- but it does look good!

The breakfast had some yummy bagels but otherwise just and OK continental breakfast. Overall a good place for exploring Telluride- one plus was free parking!

Room Tip: We were in the front which was noisy still after 11:00 pm due to the restaurant outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeraldaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We enjoy the Telluride Bluegrass Festival every June. This is our 15th festival and we've stayed at the Ice House for the past 12. We'll be making our reservations for next year when we check out--as we do every year. The Ice House is conveniently located for us, an easy walk to the Festival grounds. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Our room (yes, the same one every year) is large with a nice balcony, comfy bed, and a spacious bathroom. Don't miss saying hello to Belle the Bulldog who helps affable Rico run his third-floor bar, "Rico's". The adjacent restaurant, La Marmotte, is very good for lunch or dinner. (And, don't be surprised if you run into one of the festival musicians at Rico's.)

Room Tip: We prefer the third-floor balcony rooms on the southeast side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked this hotel through a Living social deal and were so surprised by what we got! We upgraded to a suite when we checked for a great rate. The hotel is so conveniently located....a block from the gondola, ski rental place, restaurants and grocery store. The pool is small but sufficient is half indoor and half outdoor, large jacuzzi and steam room. The people were super friendly. Telluride is soooo beautiful! Worth every penny and we will go back and stay at the Ice House again! Especially if they run another great deal next year on Living Social...hint hint*

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This hotel was a last minute decision for me and a few friends. If you are interested in going to Telluride definitly give them a call to see what they have for you. The rooms are large and some of the best in the town of Telluride. This is not a Mountain Village hotel it is located in the town proper close to all the best restaurants, bars and right down the street from the ski slopes. This is slightly more expensive than other B&B style hotels, but you will be very happy with the space, modern feel and free covered parking (this is hard to find in telluride)

Have dinner at La Marmonte, enjoy some sake at Hongas, shop at the locally owned stores, shoot pool in the back of the New Sheridan. This town is a blast for skiers and non skiers.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCadventure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I took a trip to Telluride for his birthday and stayed at the Ice House Lodge. We had a terrific time - we even got fresh powder. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The location was ideal - right next to the free Gondola and very close to the ski rental, food market, restaurants and the main street of town. We had a balcony, with a great view of the mountain. The hotel offers parking in an underground garage and features a free ski equipment storage locker. The front staff were very friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the free continental breakfast with fresh bagels, donuts, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, juices and milk. It was the perfect amount of food to start the day and was clean and well stocked. Nico at Nico's bar was very friendly and generous in his pours, but get there early if you want to get a seat as the bar is tiny. The owners have another hotel next door and Ice House guests can enjoy spa amenities at Atmosphere. We didn't use the hot tub, but one was available for our use. Our only complaint was that the walls were really thin - but we were in the first room off of the lobby and under the staircase and could hear people stomping up the stairs all night and chatting in the lobby. I would recommend asking for a room farther back in the hotel, which I think would have been ideal. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again on our next trip to Telluride.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the stairs and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momuvami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our suite was two huge rooms & 1 1/2 baths, beautiful, comfortable & relaxing & tastefully furnished without the glitz. Quiet and central location, 2 minutes walk to the free gondola & skiing. Beautiful views, great hot tub & steam room with indoor-outdoor heated pool where the kids had a snowball fight in their swimsuits, fantastic. Really cool bar w free snacks, too. Will stay at the Ice House Lodge again, can't think of a better place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loquiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice House Lodge

Property: Ice House Lodge
Address: 310 S Fir St, Telluride, CO 81435
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#5 Family Hotel in Telluride
#5 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ice House Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 4-story Hotel located in high alpine valley, 2 blocks from town center & 100 yards from Oak Street Ski Lift (1 gondola). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ice House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice House Hotel Telluride
Ice Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing