We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Telluride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Telluride”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My son's were traveling to Telluride to paraglide off the mountain and had to be at the gondola at 7:00 A.M. Camels Garden Hotel was right at the gondola entrance. The hotel had underground parking, was clean, and had a fantastic continental breakfast. I've read were other reviews that mentioned that the "breakfast" was average. It's not meant to be a breakfast meal. As far as a continental breakfast, the coffee was 5 star, pastries were delicious, and the cold options were all they needed to be. The servers were attentive and quite nice. My two queen suite was extremely large and the shower was the best part. My son's loved the pressure! Everyone that worked for the hotel was very cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: Only two floors, we stayed on the first with easy access to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldretdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    49
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
132
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently - great location (convenient to Telluride restaurants and to the Gondola to go to Mountain Village). Great parking underneath the hotel - felt very secure. The room was large and very clean and nicely updated. The bathroom was spacious and the room felt comfortable and of high-quality. The staff was friendly (I never saw the same person twice). There was not a pool or gym that I could tell (though there is a large spa). They had a nice large common area. Price was a bit high but stayed during a major festival event in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Camel's Garden for two nights in June 2014. The location is outstanding for both summer and winter activities. You are right in town at the bottom of the Gondola and are very close to shopping, dining, etc. The staff was very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was average with typical continental fare. There is underground parking but it's somewhat limited in space. Not a problem during the summer but with the increased crowds in winter it could be an issue. We enjoyed our stay and would return to the Camel's Garden if we find ourselves in Telluride again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent our anniversary at Camel's Garden Hotel. We enjoyed the extra large outdoor hot tub and the double-wide soaking tub in the room. There were always plenty of fresh towels around. The sound of the river right by our patio was a real treat. Simple check in and out. Very friendly staff and overall vibe was peaceful. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern plains
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are budget conscious travelers and this was an online booking, so I had no idea what to expect. We were VERY pleasantly surprised with this hotel for the price. The room is huge, very clean, and as nice as any of the average 'big-city chain' hotels. Ski lifts are just outside our window, though they're closed now for the summer season. I'd definitely return here. The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 - minor cosmetic stuff that doesn't really matter to us, but might to some. The check-in clerk was pleasant and accommodating. Bottom line though; the beds are comfortable and we slept well! Great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila_at_Lucys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was the BEST Groupon deal I ever bought! Telluride was on our bucket lists-so it was a perfect pick! We went during the 'in-between' season--after the summer festivals & before ski season. October in the Rockies is beautiful & not crowded. I'd love to return for either of those peak seasons, tho. The staff was personable & helpful for anything & everything. They allow 1 pet, so we brought our older kitty. The bed was very comfy & we enjoyed the fireplace on the crisp autumn nights. The huge tub was relaxing, as was the outdoor hot tub. Breakfast had good choices & was more than enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The Camel's Garden is possibly the most convenient place to stay in the main part of town. It is right next to the ski lift and a couple of really good restaurants. Our condo was excellent and the kitchen was pretty well stocked so we could have big skier's breakfasts instead of the minimal fare offered as the morning free breakfast. The staff was friendly but quite aloof for the most part and the daily maid service was a bit minimal, but we would stay here again, particularly rather than be in Mountain Village which has a very touristy feel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 11 in Telluride
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#2 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing