We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I reserved a King Suite for two nights, located on the first floor in the rear of the building, adjacent to the Telluride Trail and Bear Creek. The room was huge with contemporary furniture, big flat screen TV, nice size bathroom, door to the outside. The room was clean, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, plenty of local dining options, available off-street parking and onsite bar/restaurant. I have a lifted Jeep that I couldn’t get into the parking garage, so the manager provided a permit for on street parking. The parking permit seems to be the norm as there is not much available (same at the New Sheridan where I stayed a couple of nights earlier). The breakfast items were a bit lacking in variety, less than you would get at a Hampton Inn or Best Western, little selection of hot food, mostly carbs, but we managed. The hotel is located next to the free gondola to Mountain Village, separated by a courtyard that has a tram that was out-of-service for the summer season. There was a bit of noise from the courtyard and the onsite restaurant’s outdoor seating area that quickly died down after the dinner rush. No noise from the trail could be detected unless the window was open. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the main strip providing additional dining and shopping options. You can also take the gondola, as my wife and I did, to Mountain Village and increase your dining options. We had dinner at the Village Table – very good food, but a bit pricey. The overall experience was exceptionally good, and upon my next visit I will stay at the Camel’s Garden Hotel and Condo’s.

Room Tip: Try acquiring a room above the first floor and away from the courtyard if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrzj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    49
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
132
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at Camel's Garden Hotel for a single night during a week-long summer vacation in Southwest Colorado. The hotel is well-located, literally just steps from the gondola over to Mountain Village. It has a convenient underground garage that does not require the use of a valet and that is free.

Check-in and check-out were both totally smooth. Our room was well-decorated, quiet and comfortable. The free wireless internet was slow but sufficient.

The hotel has a large and pleasant hot-tub, although we (and another couple we observed) had some problems finding the door out to the tub. There is a decent free continental breakfast; my only recommendation would be to add some hard-boiled eggs to the offerings.

My only reservation about the hotel was that the gas fireplace had a pilot light that could not be shut off and that generated a surprising amount of heat. We slept with the windows open to offset the heat from the fireplace. Fortunately the hotel is in a very quiet location, so we were not disturbed having the windows open. We asked about this issue at checkout and were told that the pilot had to be on all the time for the fireplace to be available. Given that we were visiting in August, however, I'd recommend that the hotel just shut the fireplaces off during the warm summer months. It does get cool at night but it's still pretty silly to have a fire in the fireplace in the middle of August.

This minor reservation did not detract from an overall enjoyable stay. I'd stay at Camel's again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The hotel has an attached restaurant and bar but we'd recommend going out to a restaurant in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCTfromDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Once in a while, a hotel "hits it out of the park." This is one of those places. Pamper yourself and stay here. The rooms are spacious, quiet, modern, and clean. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. The views even better. The breakfast is outstanding, and so is the Starbucks that goes with it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyopoke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Camel's Garden in July 2014. We came through on a motorcycle trip. The room was very nice and clean. The service was exceptional. There is underground parking, which is a bonus. We had a balcony, but it was not private. Also the view was of the trees right in front of the balcony instead of the hill. There might be other rooms with a better view and private balcony. It is very near downtown and was a short walk to anywhere we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that has a view of the hillside if that's what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed five nights in July and loved the place. Right next to gondola and one block from main drag in Telluride. Rooms were huge, nice big bathrooms, good bed, balcony. Continental breakfast and a nice common area. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs and a spa. Only complaint we had was the multitude of delivery trucks and shuttle buses on the street below early in the morning as our room overlooked the street. We'd stay here again in a second. There is a hot tub on sight which we never used. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great with lots of light and breeze. You do get some street noise at night and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Rooms are specious, clean, and well maintained. Breakfast was good, coffee always available.
One thing I have to emphasize is hotel staff. They were very frendly, always smiling and always asking if they coud help.
Jacuzzi and sauna were nice addition.
Hotel is at very good location, right across from gondola.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed three nights in July of 2014, in a king suit. The room was very clean and spacious. Our family of four was very comfortable. The view from the large balcony was beautiful, it was a great place to wake-up with coffee in the morning and relax with a glass of wine in the evening. We had mountain views all around, but I guess that's to be expected in Telluride. We could not have asked for a better location! We were steps from the gondola, restaurants, the river, and sport rentals. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. This was our first trip to Telluride and we are looking forward to our next trip, and stay at Camel's Garden.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 11 in Telluride
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#2 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing