We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Skiing and Stay at Camel's Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I took my 9 year old son for a father/son ski weekend over MLK holiday 2009. Took the shuttle from Montrose Airport to Telluride. It takes about 90 minutes to travel 65 miles. Here are my thoughts:

1. Location: You cannot beat this location. The hotel is 20 steps from the main gondola and lift 8. It is also 1-2 blocks from the main shopping/eating street. I highly recommend staying in town and avoiding the "Mountain Village." Mountain Village is a purpose built resort above town. The Town of Telluride is beautiful, with great restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. No need for a car.

2. Convenience: This goes with location, but the hotel, in addtion to being convenient in terms of location, also houses the lift ticket sales office, the ski rental shop, the spa, and a nice breakfast/lunch/happy hour spot.

3. Amenities: The hotel has a nice outdoor hot tub and a bar area where they serve free wine/cheese/snacks every day from 4:00 pm to 6:00 p.m.

4. Room: We opted for a large suite on the second floor, just outside of the happy hour/snack area. The room had a beautiful bathroom with large tub and nice shower. The bedroom was large and had a great bed. The living room had a nice pullout couch and wet bar/refrigerator. The view of the mountain was spectacular.

5. Staff: The staff at the Camel's Garden was awesome. Very friendly, helpful, and fun.

This hotel is a great place to stay in Telluride. This is a great ski town with great views.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank raftingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Camels Garden. You can't get a better location in Telluride, right next to lift 8 and the gondola and 2 blocks from the center ot town. Our room was large with a nice balcony and gas fireplace. The bathroom had a very large tub which was great post skiing. Our room showed a little wear (chipped furniture) but it is too be expected considering it is a ski hotel and you can put your ski boots on in your room. The room was very clean.
The hotel has a nice outdoor large hot tub (we rarely saw people in it). A continental breakfast is included (cereal, toast, bagels, etc). They also provide apres ski refreshments (beer, wine, cheese, etc). Rooms around this food area are loud.
Overall - a great place ski in/ski out hotel w/ nice amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon - and everything was wonderful: location, service, staff, parking, and room. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank psychmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Staying at the Camel's Gardent is all about location. Located right across from the Gondola, this is the best situated hotel in town.

We had a One Bedroom Suite. The room had a small balcony overlooking the square by the gondola. Nicely appointed bathroom, good size tub, candles, bath salts, Aveda bath products.

The pull-ou couch was a bit rough, bar protuding in the middle, but more or less what you'd expect from a pull-out.

BREAKFAST
Decent cold buffet. Your basic coffee, tea, juices, fruit, yoghurt, etc. Nothing fancy, but did the trick.

APRES SKI
Had little Corona's, wine, and assorted cheese, crackers, pretezels. Nice touch, and good to wind, before hitting the hot tub. Great hot tub, with wonderful views.

Hongas in town is one of the best places to eat, especially if you like Asian Food/Sushi.

SKI STORAGE & PARKING
One of the best features of the Camel's Garden is the parking under the hotel, and the ski storage right next to where lift tickets are sold.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank Colorobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2006

Not only was the hotel perfectly located in town but also next to the Gondola, which provides easy access to the Mountain Village. The spacious rooms were very clean, well decorated with a modern flair with venetian plaster walls. The bathrooms had stone tile floors & walls with large tubs for two & great powerful shower heads. The mattresses in the rooms were a little firm and the sheets needed to be upgraded. The Hotel staff was very personable. All in all, the photos on the website didn't do it justice. It was much better in person.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Compasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Palo Alto, CA
630
Reviewed 16 September 2005

We went in late August (just before the film festival) and paid $225 for one-room suite with kitchenette, large soaking tub, high (too high) king sized bed, high-speed Internet access (not wireless; be sure to bring Ethernet cord), and Aveda bathroom amenities. Very clean, spacious, and tastefully decorated. There was also had a small a gas-burning fireplace, which we didn’t use because it was summer. A continental breakfast was provided, including cold cereals, muffins, and pastries but selection was very limited. Bagels were cold and stale (yesterday’s?), but there were bowls of red and green apples scattered around the public spaces of the hotel all day long for the taking. Very conveniently located right next to the gondolas to the Mountain Village and a bike shop where we rented mountain bikes. Staff (breakfast and housekeeping) was not as friendly as you'd expect from a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2005

This is a very nice property. I have stayed at their sister property The Ice House. This is much nicer. Good view of the mountain and nice to hear the stream out back.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ice House Lodge
Ice House Lodge
#7 of 11 in Telluride
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#2 Family Hotel in Telluride
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
Price Range: £133 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing