We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining experience for a very long time!”
Review of There

There
Ranked #17 of 65 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best dining experience for a very long time!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

If you are not interested in really speaking with the people at There and you don't want to chat with the other patrons, then There is not for you. For those of you interested in meeting people and getting to have a fulfilling dining experience with some adventure, then There is the place for you. There has it's own pace and process. Ask about it and embrace it. It's an adventurous ride that pays dividends.
We met the gentlemen who own the place and the chef, who spent sometime in one of Portland's award winning restaurants. These are fun people who are super creative and have developed a loyal following of locals.
It's difficult to categorize the food or the atmosphere, because they are completely unique. I can tell you the food was astonishingly good. The drinks were knock-your-socks-off amazing and just check the box for YES for dessert.
If you are going to Telluride or anywhere near it, go THERE. If you aren't planning a trip to Telluride, CHANGE YOUR PLANS and go THERE!
This is the best of the best of restaurants! Just let them show you the way.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank austria313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    36
    17
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Service was horrible. Bar tender was arrogant and rude. I would never go back, a lot better options with better and staff that cares.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Skibum122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Cool place, average food, average staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What we ate.
1.Various buns. They were all ok.
2.Various lettuce wraps. They were all ok.
3.Glazed eggplant. Good.
4.Ramen with pork. Their noodles are not homemade which really turned me off. The broth was ok.
5.Pork belly skewers which were good
6.Kobe beef skewers which were absolutely divine. If you go I suggest you get a few.

They have a great beer list as well.
Our server was great, but the guy with longer hair who I think works the bar was surly and arrogant. When we sat down I asked him what drinks were good, and his response was, "I mean I don't know, all our drinks are good". The way he said it was condescending to say the least. Also another one of the servers(with a long beard) took our menu while we were still eating. I asked him if we could keep it because we wanted to order more food, and his response was, "ask us for it later if you need it". He then proceeded to take the menu. Anyhow, the place has a nice vibe to it, aside from a couple of the people that work there. I would probably go back for the Kobe beef skewers, and just be prepared for possessive menu guy, and surly bartender guy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit crazy on the energy of the staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Make a reservation on the weekends. Really good food. Love the popcorn that is served when first you sit down. Got some attitude from the staff when we were 10 minutes EARLY. Better than 10 minutes late, right?! The staff likes to yell over the patrons and it must be there "schick" - but it makes for a frenzied eating environment. Delish cocktails. A bit confusing on the menu but the waiter will explain and hopefully not make you feel stupid for asking questions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiny_Bubbles007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent find in a fun town”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had dinner at There last night. Glad we went There. The vibe was terrific. Small and tight. The food was truly excellent, the staff were top notch. Interesting variety of small plates. We had a qual special that was awesome. I definitely recommend this place if you want to have a fun,no stuffy dinner with a great crowd, staff, and most importantly food! And yeah the cocktails were terrific as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fwv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed There also viewed

 

Been to There? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing