We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The previews reviews are dead on.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Brew Pub

Smugglers Brew Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Smugglers Brew Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh Hand Crafted Beer Genuine Food Good Times
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The previews reviews are dead on.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Here's the thing, if you read reviews that tell you that the service is terrible and the food not much better, you should expect to get just that. Despite that fact, our group wanted local brews, so we gave it a shot. It took a ridiculous amount of time to get drinks (each round). The food took a long time as well. The chili is simply tasteless. I would go anywhere else in town, quite frankly. It's simply not worth the wait when you finally get your food and drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Missmarymacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Brew Pub, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It is always difficult to respond to such an unhappy customer. We apologize that you didn't care for your Smugglers experience. Although we would like to, it is impossible to please everyone all of the time. TripAdvisor is a blessing and a curse. A consumer can anonymously criticize a restaurant in an attempt to turn away prospective diners. I wish you had allowed us the opportunity to remedy the situation while you were at the restaurant. The previous 14 reviews before yours are all very positive and give us 4 and 5 stars. Having said that, we aim to please and deeply apologize for your poor experience. If you still have your receipt, please email it to me at anvenne@gmail.com. I will personally investigate the details and see how and where we can improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    190
    74
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great spot. We had a group of 6 and there was a long wait, but it was worth it. The mac and cheese was delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edimiceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Burger Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We decided to have a burger and all recommendations lead us to Smugglers. We actually sat at the bar which was our choice and the bartender took very good care of us for beers and the house burgers. Really good. This place is great for couples or larger groups and the price is right if you want to take a break from the more expensive restaurants for a night. Lots of TV's to view sports.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paniolo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, but service slow & charged to taste a beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This place was packed everytime we passed and I read good reviews so we went. The food and beer was great but I have a couple of criticisms otherwsie my rating would have been better:
1. slow service - there are few staff so it takes time to be served, we waited ages for our drinks
2. they charge you if you want to try a beer. My husband asked if we could taste one of the beers, this is the only place I've been where they charged us for a sampler

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Brew Pub, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Carline,

We are glad that you liked your food and beer - once it arrived. You are 100% correct that our service has been less than you deserve. Our kitchen is small and we have struggled to keep up with a very busy season. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We plan on expanding our kitchen this April to keep up with your expectations. RE: paying for a taste of beer. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding. If a guest would like to taste a beer to help decide which to order, of course, there is no charge. However, we offer 4 oz taster flight for guests who wish to taste 4 or 5 different brews. These tasters cost $2.00/each. Sorry for the confusion.
I hope you will think of us next time you are in Telluride.

Nancy Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Good, but where's the beef?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I and a group of friends have been coming to Telluride every year for the last 12 years or so. We have always looked forward to a Saturday night meal at Smugglers, usually the ribs or steak or prime rib, along with their very good beers. However, I've been disappointed with the new menu, because these basic choices are gone. A slice of prime rib, a baked potato and a salad hit the spot after a hard day skiing. The new menu is otherwise fine, but I really miss my steak and potato. Smugglers, can you find a way to slip a couple items back on the menu?
The staff have always been friendly and efficient, and the prices/value for what you get have always been good. But my friends and I will be looking for other options next time we're in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Brew Pub, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Paul,

Thanks for the compliments. We are glad you enjoyed most of your experience at Smugglers. Although our menu has changed to include some healthier, fresh food choices, we still have a 12 oz NY Strip, a Top Sirloin "Baseball Cut" and a Grilled Rib-Eye Sandwich and numerous burgers as well as Baby Back Ribs and our local-favorite Chicken Wings. Sorry you missed those on the menu. Hopefully you will visit again and give our all Natural Meyer Ranch Beef a try.

Nancy Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smugglers Brew Pub also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing